2/3 Rosa AMPS242 +7 73 +8 56 +9 66 +10 71 PMPS 129 +4 51 +4.75 39 +5.25 77 +6.25 122 +7.25 127

Status
Not open for further replies.
You have every right to be tired! It's been a busy couple of nights for you and Rosa!!

Just for "the next time", I'm really glad you decided to get another test in after +2 last night

When the +2 is lower than the PS, that's like an "early warning system" that kitty may very well be dropping quickly again later in the cycle. She sure cleared that bounce quickly!!

I'd try to get a +2 this morning too....and hope you get a break and can maybe take a nap this afternoon!!

Remember tonight to delay her PM shot since you were late this morning and then work your way back to your "chosen" schedule 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day

GO Rosa!!....but not too fast!! Mamabean needs a break!
 
Thank you. Didn't quite make a test at +2 but she's looking just fine at +3...maybe another little bounce going on there. ;)

I have to head out quickly to restock with extra hc food for the next time but I think today's going to be one for watching movies on the couch and napping between tests.

I'll make sure to only move her shot back gradually - it was only an hour so it won't take long to get back to her usual time. :)

I'm really pleased with her progress so far - she's doing really well. But yes, after expecting a break last night and not getting one, I hope she doesn't keep going quite so fast the next few days.
 
Hey! I was up with you last night...Napping has been one of my main focuses today too!!

China was "nice enough" to bounce really high this morning, so I did get some nice BTB time in
 
These kitties really know how to make us stay up all night don't they?

Napping as much as possible is definitely going to be the aim for today I think - re-stocked the hypo kit and testing supplies so I don't run low on anything. I did manage some BTB this morning, but of course all that disturbed sleep with waking up every hour or so doesn't do much for helping the next day go so well. I do wonder if Rosa's starting a bounce now after her last 2 tests, but I'm not leaving anything to chance after yesterday - going to get a +5 on her as that seems to be when she starts to drop low if she's going to - if not, no doubt she'll be saving it for tonight!!

I hope China clears the bounce soon - though not so soon that you don't get any sleep! :)
 
I think Rosa's forgotten how to bounce properly - 2 or 3 hours seems to be it at the moment. I'm starting to see today's pattern looking rather like yesterday's at this point - which could well mean another late night here!
 
C'mon Rosa - that's low enough for now. Especially if you're going to keep us up all night again later - and I really think you are :P Momma's tired right now - let me get a nap at least, please!!
 
Sleep now or forever hold your pillow.....LOL

Come on now Rosa....we're all really happy you're doing so well, but if you kill off your mamabean, then what are you going to do? Unfortunately, us beans need a few hours of sleep!

We're not cats who somehow figured out how to sleep/snooze/nap/relax/chill for 20 hours a day and still have a full belly and a nice place to live!....LOL
 
She has, yes - she's free fed anyway, but I put fresh lc food out and she ate about 1/4 of a 5.5oz can. Checking her again at +8 - this is so similar to her pattern yesterday so far that she might be just a touch higher again by then...I hope.
 
Or not - still dropping. It almost looks like the lc made her go lower instead of bringing her back up. Going to give her a little gravy now - see if I can keep her above 50. Not looking forward to tonight's shot if she carries on like this!!
 
OK, I'll test again at 8.5 and see where she is then. Just a little nervous - every time she's gone this low, she's dropped down to the low 40's really fast after that.

I hope she comes back up before her next shot - I really don't think I have the nerve to shoot under 100 if she doesn't.

If you see that trampoline salesman, can you tell him we need a replacement - I don't think Rosa's is working too well!! ;)
 
I think Rosa's forgotten how to bounce properly - 2 or 3 hours seems to be it at the moment.
:):):):)

Look back one week in Rosa's spreadsheet. She was on 1.75U. What a difference!! :D:D:D Rosa is doing great, and so are you April! At some point, kitties can forget how to bounce. Some are slower learners than others. :rolleyes:
 
She's going well, she really is. I think she must have forgotten how to bounce already - the highest we've had in 4 days is the upper 200's!! :) I do know she was definitely less than 6 months from becoming diabetic to being diagnosed - she'd had a full blood work done last August before her dental and that showed nothing amiss, so I think maybe she never had much of a chance to really get all that used to the higher numbers in the first place.
 
Ok Rosa - that really is enough. You need to start coming back up Right Now before your evening shot
 
And up to 129 before her evening shot...just in time to start this all over again :P I'm guessing it's going to be another long night at Rosa's house!!
 
Well you should be a pro at this by now!!

I'm getting a break tonight...China's going to let me get a little sleep! WOO HOO!!

If you run into trouble, don't forget the 911, but at this point, you're pretty good at knowing when to intervene with "the good stuff" ;)

I asked @Marje and Gracie to check in on you if she can. She's usually up later than I am (not always but usually!)
 
Yay for sleep! :D Enjoy :D

I think I should be OK - tagging @Vyktors Mum just in case I need a little reassurance/guidance later (if you're around of course). I think I should be OK with it, but never hurts to have extra eyes on her numbers. Hubby can't stay up with me this time as he has to be out of here at 8am tomorrow to take one of the cars in for repairs, so it'll be just me and Rosa tonight.
 
Hi April - Marje sent me a message from her pillow. I'll be up for a little bit, but not a lot longer. I think you can wait until a +2. You might want to nap until then. That's one thing about FD - you do learn how to nap!
 
True - I've never really been one for taking naps...until the last 3 days. Planning to catch up on the stuff I didn't get done today too - a quick shower, make sure I've got some food handy so I don't start fading just when she needs me to be awake. Then an hour's nap and I'll see where she is at +2. I'm thinking she should be OK until then too - at worst she'll be just starting to drop if she drops early tonight.

@Chris & China - yeah, it really helps to have people on here from all over the world. It doesn't seem to matter what time I have to be awake, there's someone around for help. I really appreciate all the help you've given me today and I hope China lets you get some good sleep tonight. :) I think the first night Rosa lets me sleep, I might actually die for 8 or 9 hours...she's gotta let me sleep sometime in the next month!! ;)
 
Now then Rosa, I hope you're not lulling me into a false sense of security here before you head back to 50 in another hour
 
Looking sooooooo good - Rosa that is, I'm willing to bet you've seen better days hahahaha!

I'm here if you need me, will be keeping an eye out :)
 
She is, isn't she? She's doing so well - she's sitting behind me on the computer chair, happy as can be :D But yes, I've had better days - the nap I planned for this afternoon didn't happen of course once she headed down into the 50's and 60's. By now I probably look more like I should be playing a zombie in a movie! ;)

I'm not sure I trust that 159 yet - it's still well before she usually seems to head low so I'm sticking around for at least another couple of hours yet. Thanks for looking in on us and being able to be here if I need help - I'll let you know how we're getting on at her next test :)
 
Yikes Rosa quite the dive! I thinks she's starting to enjoy her night time attention and gravy a bit too much!

Don't forget to update your subject line when you get a test, I've been keeping an eye on that so nearly missed this next result. Not that you really need help but company is always reassuring :)
 
Last edited:
Just a bit!! I was expecting it at around +4 after the last couple of nights though. Honey and hc were already on standby on the desk ;) I gave the hc even though she was just above 50 - I really don't want her going much lower tonight if I can help it.
 
Just getting the rabbit back in and will swap to computer from ipad will be back in time for next test
 
Last edited:
Yeah, I was planning to. She still seems fine - she's washing herself but I really don't like that number at all :P I'd like her to stop this now!
 
I'm thinking that she should get another reduction in the morning, tagging a few others to see what they think, it could still be depot action but I think that 39 - after a couple of tsps of HC and in the fourth cycle of a reduced dose is telling us she needs it [@Sienne and Gabby if no one has got back to you before shot time then I think it would be safest to take the reduction - to 1.5 units
 
Last edited:
OK, back up to 77 - I can only assume that's the honey. It kicked in fast, that's for sure. OK, more hc to try and keep that going?

I think I might have to - I know she should have one more day at this dose, but I'm not sure I can let it go another 2 full cycles after this. Of course I'll see what others think too if anyone can get back to me before shot time, but this dose is making me really nervous now - she seems to be dropping for longer each cycle.
 
I think you have a couple of options. The depot is clearly a bit too full. You could skip a shot and then take the reduction or simply reduce the dose. I think it may be a matter of where Rosa's numbers are at shot time.

One tidbit to consider. It looked like you were working really hard to keep the numbers up during the PM cycle on both Feb.1st (you took a reduction after) and 2nd (where you didn't reduce probably because people told you it was depot action). If you are working that hard to keep the numbers up, take the reduction. The worst that can happen is that you lose a little momentum and have to increase the dose back up.
 
77 is fine but it probably is all the syrup, with a different cat I'd say leave it and see, but with Rosa I say give her another couple of tsp of the HC and test in 30
 
Thank you both. I think if she's at a reasonable level to have her shot in the morning, I'll take the reduction - she had to fast track up to the 2 units, but it seems like once her body started responding it's responded very efficiently. I was told to hold the reduced dose for at least 6 cycles, but I am struggling to keep her high enough in the middle of every cycle now which makes me think she's still getting a little more insulin than she needs. I agree, it could be depot but right now I'm thinking it'd be safer for her to have the reduction - I can always increase back up if it's not working well after a few days.

I've given her some more hc - I'm fine with her at 77, but I think it was purely the sugar and I'm not sure she wouldn't just slide right back down without a bit more hc on board. I'll test again at the end of the 30 minutes.
 
I was told to hold the reduced dose for at least 6 cycles
This is definitely not a hard and fast rule - take a peek at the last few weeks on Vyktor's spreadsheet we often didn't and couldn't wait that long to take another reduction.
 
Oh, yes - I see what you mean. I do think I'm getting to the same point with Rosa now - if I wait longer to reduce I'm starting to feel I'm putting her at risk as she's going so low on her pm cycle every day since she earned her first reduction. I'm glad to hear it's not a completely hard and fast rule - I think I'd struggle with her even more tomorrow night if I tried to get her through the full 6 cycles without a reduction. And although I'm all over her testing, she dropped so fast tonight that it might only take her 20 minutes to go from OK to way too low - I could miss that by half an hour easily.
 
And up to 125. Is this still likely to be the honey now or is she coming back up and maybe starting a bounce? I'm guessing no more hc for now at least.
 
yes leave her for now food/syrup wise, I think the honey should have worn off by now (although I am going to go and check what 1.5ml looks like in a min) but the hc food is probably still doing it's thing so another test in 30
 
OK, I can do that. Oh, no - I just checked the syringe. It wasn't anything like 1.5 ml...it's only a 6ml syringe...more like 0.3 ml!!
 
teeheehee I just checked on a syringe and thought 1.5ml was a fair amount - but better to much than too little!

Another option to consider for tomorrow might be to shoot the reduced dose of 1.5 units in the morning if her numbers are higher but if she still has another run like she did today take a skip tomorrow night for some depot emptying sleep
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top