2/3 Rae PM +11 207, dry heaving

Rae's Family

Member Since 2025
Good morning all,

We just switched to Lantus on Saturday and I'm still not used to lower numbers.

I woke up this morning to Rae trying to throw up, but nothing came out after about 15 seconds of dry heaving. She walked away and seemed fine. However, she does seem to be acting unusual this morning (calmer than normal, almost lethargic, and more cuddly/wanting me to pet her more). She's a tortie, she's not usually overly affectionate lol.

Last night we only gave .5u because her PMPS was hovering around 200.

It is a little bit early for her AM shot, so I wanted to post and see what you all thought.

Thx
 
When did she last get food?

She had food with her PM shot last night. We were going to get up and check on her at +6 but neither my husband nor I woke up :banghead:

She's not particularly prone to hairballs so I wouldn't know how that looks different from actual vomiting.

Was the switch from low carb dry to low carb wet?

We had been slowly switching from a mix of LC wet/HC dry to just the LC wet. When we switched to Lantus, we were already at 80/20 wet/dry in terms of total calorie content. (Practically, this meant less than a tablespoon of dry per meal) So since we were reducing the amount of insulin anyway, we cut the dry out entirely. She has never had ketones or DKA.
 
I noticed similar behavioral stuff like you described with my guy as he got into lower numbers. I think they feel better! We also have the occasional dry heave. It’s good that you’re watching her though and looking for trends.
 
Okay. She just heaved again, nothing but a couple drops of bile coming out. I would just hate to feed her just to have her throw it up because she's got a hairball...
 
She's up to 226 now though, so I'm gonna give her some food and see if she can keep it down.


I'm thinking I'll wait a few minutes to shoot, just to make sure it stays down... Though since Lantus takes 2 hours to onset, maybe I don't need to wait, as long as she eats in those 2 hours?
 
Well, she ate and was fine... Until just before +2. She actually threw up this time, it's all just wet food.
 
Last edited:
Update: +2.5 BG was still 210. She ate a little more after she threw up (what her brothers didn't eat of their breakfast).
 
Her +6 was 317 now?? Anybody have any ideas why she's going up so soon? She was able to keep the second round of food down...
 
I don't know; but I know my cat almost always had higher numbers after vomiting.
I hope she will feel better tonight!
 
Her +6 was 317 now?? Anybody have any ideas why she's going up so soon? She was able to keep the second round of food down...

Glad Rae kept the second round of food down. I'm learning cats BG is pretty sensitive, any stress, illness, inflammation can cause spikes and make it hard to manage.

I know how frustrating it is and seems like a set back, but Rae has come along way in short time, kudos to Mom and Dad :bighug:
 
Glad Rae kept the second round of food down. I'm learning cats BG is pretty sensitive, any stress, illness, inflammation can cause spikes and make it hard to manage.

I know how frustrating it is and seems like a set back, but Rae has come along way in short time, kudos to Mom and Dad :bighug:


Thanks Laurie :cat: I'm just anxious about vomiting as a symptom of DKA or a hypo event... But her numbers are smack in the middle, so it doesn't seem like either of those... My next thought was an allergic reaction to the Lantus, but from what I can tell, allergic reactions are usually itchiness, etc., not vomiting.

Maybe it was just a fluke :confused:
 
Anybody have any ideas why she's going up so soon?
Glad to hear she's eating some. You did a half dose last night. Any time you reduce the dose on purpose or a fur shot, the impact of that can be seen in later cycles. The depot can help the first cycle after the reduced dose, but they you see the results with higher numbers.

We don't see allergic reactions to Lantus. If it's just bile you are seeing, it could be the result of going too long without food. Are you feeding several small meals throughout the cycles?
 
Hi Lili! How's sweet Rae feeling?

Hi Laurie and @Diane Tyler's Mom GA ! Thanks for asking :) Rae's been doing great now that she's leveling out on the Lantus!! She's been in the blues for almost every PS test... It's been scary to shoot in the blues since I'm not used to her being so low, but after a couple days of her being okay it's gotten easier, and we saw a 125 one day, which was so exciting!!!!! Definitely more of a flat curve on Lantus and we're no longer playing basketball (constantly bouncing...) like we were on vetsulin :banghead:

I was able to do a 12-hour curve last week, and the spot testing I've been doing seems to be confirming... Her curve is upside down?? It's the strangest thing. Has anyone ever heard of this?? She goes up after breakfast, gets her highest numbers of the day around +6, then comes back down by dinner... And I have zero idea why she's reacting that way. (Although it definitely made me braver with the blues once I saw the pattern!)
 
Rae's been doing great

So glad to hear Rae is doing better! Congrats on the lower shooting :cool:. Certainly helps when they show some sort of pattern.

Petey tends to get low at the end of his cycle too... I think someone called it double dipping. Could the climb for Rae be food/snack related?
 
Back
Top