2/3 Phoenix AMPS 271, PMPS 167, +2 99, +3 69 Dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bri4937

Member Since 2014
I had Phoenix on a heavy .5 dose, but her numbers seemed to be too high. I increased her to a .75 dose, but now she is dropping low. I don't know quite how low as I cannot be home between her morning and evening shots and have to go to bed at +4 if I push it. I would like to follow TR protocol as closely as possible, but when she has numbers that are dropping quickly at +3 I get nervous and give her food so she won't crash while i'm sleeping. I really appreciate any advice anyone could offer. Thank you!
 
I think Phoenix looks really good on that .75U dose. It looks like you can get a +2 on some of the mornings but not others. Would it be possible to get a PM +10.5 or so? Just wondering when shot time is relative to when you head out the door in the morning. Is Phoenix a grazer or hoover? Autofeeders are great for hoovers. If the +2 is lower than the preshot, or she's still coming down from the +10.5 (or whatever you can get) to preshot, or the preshot is lower than you'd like, you can always load the autofeeder with high carb foods. Maybe for a +2, +3, +4 and +5 snack. Or if she's a grazer then leave plates of the appropriate foods around.

You can always use the autofeeder or plates of food at night too. If she's low and still going down before bed time, leave out high carb food, either in a bowl or an autofeeder.
 
I leave the house at 6am most mornings, and she usually gets her shot on my way out the door. We have had a few delays as well as a flex day where I didn't go in until later. I am a teacher. Unfortunately I don't get home until 5pm most nights. She gets her shot at 6pm and then I pretty much always get a +8 because she eats again at that time. If I stretch it I can stay up and get a +4 at 10. I don't sleep well, so getting up in the middle of the night on a school night isn't an option as I won't go back to sleep for hours. She is a hoover. If there is food out she will eat all of it. I did get an autofeeder a couple weeks ago. At this point she gets food with her shot, food at +2, and food at +5. I gave her some medium carb food last night which made her bg number high this morning. Is that bad for her? I always feel guilty feeding MC food at a bg of 60 or 70 because it isn't a bad number, and I don't want to shoot her up, but I also don't want her to drop.
 
Don't worry about feeding MC food to keep her safe. The carbs from wet food doesn't last that long in their system. If I test Neko in the middle of the night and she's in the 70's or lower, I'll often give her some high carb food, cause I know that'll keep her safe for a couple of hours and I can get some sleep.

Phoenix's high this morning was not due to the MC, but rather she bounced from a fast drop. Last night she went from 149 to 60 in one hour. Drops of over 50-60 can cause a bounce.
 
Thank you Wendy! She was back up to around 240 this morning. Another bounce? Is there any way to prevent that, or does her body just need to adjust to the dose? I really appreciate the information. Still trying to wrap my head around all of it and do what is best for Phoenix!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top