Re: 2/3 Lucian AMPS 490
He's still settling in right now and clearing a bounce...Give him a chance, cats hate change you know that, the freak out if you rearrange the furniture for a couple days. ohmygod_smile So all of a sudden Lucian finds himself on a new diet, mom's acting strange and sticking things under his butt while he pees, you're poking his ear, you're sticking him with needles, plus now his numbers are finally dipping 400 pts lower than his body has come to accept as normal. He's gonna stress out just a little bit, not as much as if he was at the vet's all day, but still this is all strange and new to him. So that stress is also going to contribute to how high he is going to bounce when he does for awhile. But slowly the Blacks will become Reds, then the Reds will become Pinks, then the Pinks become yellows, and so on.
One of the differences as I see it or in at least the way I apply SLGS with Autumn verse TR is while I still follow the guidelines of how much to raise or lower according to her numbers around her nadir but I don't count the cycles of when to actually look at raising or lowering. I let her settle until she is done settling. Or in other words as long as her numbers are getting better overall day to day unless she has clearly bounce off a longer run or lower than normal number then I hold the dose. Once she starts giving me a fairly predictable pattern without any real bounces to clear then I look at if I need to go up or down. Make sense?
Lucian may just be one of those cats that needs a longtime to settle on a dose. Because they can and will bounce until they stop, some that is in 3-5 cycles, some its 5-10 cycles and some its a couple of weeks or more. Autumn took much longer to settle now that she did in the beginning but then again she also had a lot more upheavel in her life when she first started getting treated and tested..New humans, 13 strange cats after being a only on a farm, living inside all the time, one large dog, and being transported and handed off to 6-7 people and being driven from MN to NE lol I can't blame her for being high for a good long time... :lol:
I know its hard but try not to obessess over a single number...try to look at them as a whole and see the overall pattern. This is actually one area that I have found having lousy vision is a plus...Take off the glasses, pull up the spreadsheet and look at it from far enough back that I can't read the numbers but I can see the colors. :lol: Rome wasn't built in a day and Lucian didn't become diabetic overnight either. You guys will get there, you are alreadys seeing a sprinkling of nice low blues. And if you allow for meter variences that 103 yesterday could have been an 82.4. Just remember he is the only one that hears the music to this dance, just let him get use to all the changes in his life and remember to watch him as a whole cat.
Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang