2/3 Joseph no AMPS, +2.25 74, +3.5 79, +5 85

Jordenne/Barb and Jospeh

Member Since 2020
Jospeh was having none it when it came to getting an AMPS. He has been very steady so we shot anyway with an increased testing once I got up. I was a little concerned with a low +2.25 and prepared for a ride however he brought himself up just fine without any food this morning.
 
It’s a dangerous thing to shoot without a test especially in lieu of the fact that he is really bringing his numbers down since the test haven’t been food influenced.

Nice cycle shaping up though. The cycles are nice and flat when they get into the greens.
 
So is it Joseph or Jospeh?

Ditto what Bobbie said, with no tests after that 72 last night, he could have been quite low at AMPS.
 
I'm an idiot and never realized the typo. It's Joseph.

I do not disagree with your sentiments regarding shooting without a AMPS. Having said that, it's not me doing so the AMPS/PMPS or the injections 95% of the time. My lot is to deal with what has been done and try to keep him safe.

While it may not be ideal... Joseph has been so stable and consistent with his numbers I don't really have a leg to stand on in forcing the issue. Every day that goes forward without negative numbers I have less and less of a case and as of this morning I also have the vet supporting Barb's opinions.

Just so everyone is on the same page I cannot control what happens when I am asleep or when I am at work. I can come home and do a PM +4 check fairly reliably. I wake up and can do +2 or +3 AM fairly reliably. I can actively guide Joseph during his AM cycle.

Beyond that I can either start a massive fight with my wife, having nothing more than "but on the internet they said x" or I can move forward and do what I can. I have suggested switching to a SLGS regime to give an additional layer of protection but the reality is there is no way Barb will do a no shoot on numbers less than 200. It is what it is.

I appreciate your advice and experience. If the reality of my situation is that you will not give me further advice I can understand that. But if you want me to continue coming to you for advice and feedback I need you to not give me a hard time for not doing something that is outside my control.

I'm a smart cookie and I know best practices keeps kitties safe for a reason. But the reality is outside of a hypo event occurring I can't point to Joseph's ravaged ears and his flat numbers and continue to cry the sky is falling. I hope you understand my situation and my reality
 
PMPS 101.

We are giving him a dose reduction to 0.25 He hasn't "quite" earned it; however it can be argued we should have dropped him when he hit 50 on Friday. And really there is a good chance he would find the 40's tonight anyway if we have him 0.5. In any case it will give us some breathing room at the very least
 
You can actually change your user name at any time.
Go to the top of the page. Over on the right handside of the screen is your Username (just to the left of your inbox)
Select "Personal Details"
On the left hand side of the screen, you'll see a list of "personal options"
Scroll down to the bottom of that list and you will see "Advanced Options"
Right under that you can select "Change username"
It shows you your current Username
Then you enter your new username, save and Voila! New name!
All your previous posts will be changed and show up with your new user name. Simple. (Magic behind the scenes software)

You'll need to update your signature slightly too, spelling Joseph correctly in the shortened name you have. Takes a few seconds. Save. And then Jospeh becomes Joseph.

The misspelling within your posts will not be corrected. "The magic" software isn't set up to do that.
 
The reduction point "below 50", was set based on what generally works. However, you can always try the reduction and see if it works. Good luck.
 
You can actually change your user name at any time.
Go to the top of the page. Over on the right handside of the screen is your Username (just to the left of your inbox)
Select "Personal Details"
On the left hand side of the screen, you'll see a list of "personal options"
Scroll down to the bottom of that list and you will see "Advanced Options"
Right under that you can select "Change username"
It shows you your current Username
Then you enter your new username, save and Voila! New name!
All your previous posts will be changed and show up with your new user name. Simple. (Magic behind the scenes software)

You'll need to update your signature slightly too, spelling Joseph correctly in the shortened name you have. Takes a few seconds. Save. And then Jospeh becomes Joseph.

The misspelling within your posts will not be corrected. "The magic" software isn't set up to do that.

Thanks for this. I think my phone is auto correcting it. I can't believe I haven't noticed this before it's kinda amazing that it took someone pointing it out I'm not finding the misspelling EVERYWHERE.
 
All your past posts with your user name attached, like the one above, will be changed to whatever you change your user name to.

The link to your signature is done "behind the scenes" through some software "magic". So anytime you update your signature, we see your posts with whatever information is currently in your signature.

Sorry, software is not smart enough to change what you have actually written in the text of your posts. Don't worry about it.

About the testing, you do what you can. Signature note is helpful to anyone that might be looking at your posts and has not been following along with you and Joseph. Useful little tidbit for someone that might be commenting on your posts sporadically, or someone commenting on your post for the first time.

Although I do understand that signatures do not show up on some/all smart phones.

If you have to go back up in dose, because the 0.25U is not enough, then you deal with that when and if it happens. No big deal. Personally, I thought you should have reduced when you got the 50 BG, even if it was against the written protocol for TR. Those are general guidelines that work for most cats. There is some variance in what people can do. There is NO variance in thinking you can allow Joseph to drop into the 40's without feeding him and testing him until he is back in safer numbers. We want to keep cats safe here. We never want to see a cat with a symptomatic hypo, convulsing and in a coma and you rushing to the 24 hour emergency vet to save your cat.

Heck no, don't stop posting here. There is always going to be a little bit of a difference in opinion expressed. You have to decide what will work best for you and your cat.

ECID Every Cat, Caregiver, Cycle is Different. We can't predict the future, as much as we think we are able to.

My 2 cents worth.;)
 
I too made a comment about not giving a shot without getting a test first - and although I feel very strongly about how dangerous that is - I'll try not to harp on you when I see it missing from your SS. Also in light of the fact that there's another caregiver involved who may or may not be reading our comments on the risks of doing that - you may want to note that on the SS - right there at the top - so that we can always see that there is in fact another caregiver involved who for various reasons doesn't get a pre-shot test.

Although not ideal, everyone has situations that are out of their control.

Please keep posting and best of luck getting Joseph's numbers down without too many surprises. Personally I think these cats are so tricky and love to pull the rug out from under us just when we least expect it...that'll be the day when you'll hear all our voices in the back of your mind...and you'll know what we were saying was valid...

But let's hope that day is a long way off and Joseph settles into being tested all the time, every time.

Have a great evening!
 
Back
Top