2/3 Eddie AMPS 246, +5.5= 129, PMPS 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=113035

AMPS = 246 (2.4u)
+1 = 273
+5.5 = 129
+9.5 = 138
PMPS = 197 (2.0u)
+3 = 238
+4 = 245
+5 = 196
+6 = 188

AM cycle was decent yesterday, although it looks like the dose may need to go up for the 300-350 scale, but we shall see. Will wait to fiddle with it until I can monitor. PM cycle was a pretty flat yellow, although it stayed in the lower yellows, and then a nice yellow AMPS this AM. I hope we're not starting again where a dose works for a couple cycles, then stalls out in the yellows. Nonetheless, Eddie's pre-shots are slowly but surely going lower, so I hope that means his non-insulin BG is gradually going down overall, too.

We narrowed down the lineup of noms that we're feeding as well to just the FF classics (beef, chicken, turkey & giblets), mixed in equal parts with two of the Weruva Cats in the Kitchen poultry varieties, and one of the Tiki chicken varieties. All are 5% or less carbs. The Tiki cat food looks delicious! You could mix in some mayo and add a little salt and pepper, and put it on some bread for a yummy sandwich! :-D Two of our civies were on a partial hunger strike when we first nixed the last of the dry food. One of them (Slimey) still sticks his nose up at the food from time to time, including this morning with the *expensive* Tiki food! :roll: The other cats thought it was awesome.

Eddie was super snuggly this morning. When I left, he was stretched out on the floor asking for belly rubs. He has noticeably filled out since diagnosis, and his fur feels soft and fluffy like it used to. His hunger seems to be improving too. Over the weekend, we did fewer early cycle snacks than we have been since Eddie wasn't asking for food and wasn't acting hungry. Hopefully that means his body is processing food more efficiently.

Happy Monday everyone!
 
Re: 2/3 Eddie AMPS 246

Glad to hear he's felling and looking better! I know that's a comfort for his momma bean too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/3 Eddie AMPS 246

Very nice whole cat report. Eddie has always had his own unique patterns but you are learning to deal with them well.
 
Re: 2/3 Eddie AMPS 246

AM +5.5 = 129

Pretty good movement. Maybe he'll even see an upper green at nadir today, which I won't be home to catch. Better cycle than yesterday PM cycle anyway.

Eddie does like to keep us on our toes! ;-) We adopted him when he was about 6 months old or so. We went to an adoption event at a local pet store "just to look" as we were considering adding a second kitty to the family. We actually were looking for a female kitty...or so we thought. I saw Eddie huddled in the back of the cage and I knew he was the kitty that was coming home with us....immediately. That was about 7 years ago. :smile: He's such a happy-go-lucky silly little guy.

I still wonder if we're having random absorption issues from shooting in the scruff. Thinking about bringing Eddie in to have the vet tech demonstrate alternative shooting areas and also to possibly get a p-titis test. The vet was going to start heading down that road before we started home testing since his in-office numbers kept going up and up and up. His last in office test was 502. @-) But after we started home testing, they've been pretty much hands-off. Before diagnosis Eddie puked up his dry food a lot. We just thought he was scarfing and barfing and he was one of those cats that just barfed a lot. :cry: Now I wonder if some of the yucky stuff in the dry food was making him sick. To be safe, all the low carb foods we feed now are grain-free, free of gluten, and free of extra starches, and he's only scarfed and barfed once, and had two small bile pukes, in over a month, so it seems one of those ingredients may have been problematic for him. The alternative testing sites make me a little nervous. nailbite_smile I'm worried I'm going to hit something important or painful with the needle. I suppose anywhere you can grab enough skin to make a tent would work, so long as Eddie is cooperative. He sits more patiently for the ear testing than he does for the shooting.

Question: How long do you hold a good dose? Indefinitely? I think with Eddie, holding a dose for a few cycles and then increasing if he's not getting low blues or greens seems to be what will work for him in terms of increasing...how about decreasing? If he throws a number below 50 like with the lantus protocol?
 
Re: 2/3 Eddie AMPS 246

bunni9 said:
Question: How long do you hold a good dose? Indefinitely? I think with Eddie, holding a dose for a few cycles and then increasing if he's not getting low blues or greens seems to be what will work for him in terms of increasing...how about decreasing? If he throws a number below 50 like with the lantus protocol?

If you are getting greens midcycle and good numbers for preshot, I'd hold the dose, assuming that eventually you will get even lower numbers overall. (but remember I'm the conservative one). The standard is to raise after 3 cycles if you aren't seeing the numbers you want. And yes, if you get below 50 for a nadir, I'd lower the dose, if only by a little bit.
 
Re: 2/3 Eddie AMPS 246, +5.5 = 129

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
If you are getting greens midcycle and good numbers for preshot, I'd hold the dose, assuming that eventually you will get even lower numbers overall. (but remember I'm the conservative one). The standard is to raise after 3 cycles if you aren't seeing the numbers you want. And yes, if you get below 50 for a nadir, I'd lower the dose, if only by a little bit.

Thank you Sue!
 
If he throws a number below 50 like with the lantus protocol?
Any time you see a number under 50, it should definitely grab your attention. First thing I'd do is immediately retest to verify it, especially if it doesn't look like it "fits".
Then, if it happens when you'd expect it to happen, like around +6, you could consider shaving the dose the next time you see a similar preshot.
If you were to see a number under 50 earlier in the cycle, like at +4, then I think the decision to reduce is easier. And it would indicate a reduction bigger than a "shave".
FWIW, when we're talking doses in the 2u+, range, I look at an adjustment of .2u as a "shave".
 
Thanks Carl. That's exactly what I was looking for. It occurred to me that if we did get a low number, I'd know how to get him up, if need be, but I didn't know what to do with the next dose, other than generally, to reduce.

PMPS = 197 (2.0u)
+3 = 238

First (barely) under 200 pre-shot. Kind of winging it with the scale for the 200 range. I'm not sure 2.0 us is going to be enough, since he was still on the rise most likely. We will see!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top