2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278 +8.75 354 +10 322 PMPS 323

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Happy Monday!

Sandy, in answer to your question in yesterday's condo. The closest vet school that I know of is in Athens, which is about 90 miles in the wrong direction. We're still not sure if Matt can even get off work yet so this may all a moot point. I'm just trying to figure out what my options are. I think we've pretty much decided that Matt will stay here so he doesn't have to miss a day of work anyway.

Regarding what's going on today... Cobb was not a PITA about his food last night. I actually didn't leave any out, but fed him at shot time, then again when I went to sleep, and when I got up to test him in the middle of the night. Then Matt gave a bit when he left for work. So he ate fairly often, but he wasn't hitting the feeder to get it to advance. We'll try that again tonight and see what his response is. We also moved his food out of our bathroom so its a little further away. (That happened when I banished him Saturday overnight.)

Here's hoping to some nice blues soon!!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267

Hi guys .. nice yellow cobb! Maybe the frequent feedings kept him from hitting the feeder? At least he wasn't a PITA! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278

Hi Suzanne!

Pretty yellow start today! Sure hope he'll come on down and give you a pretty blue nadir too! (and we'll say the little increase at +2.5 is just a food spike)

Sure wish I had another idea for what to do with Cobb while you're gone, but if Matt can test/shoot, I think what I might do is just have him test/shoot and depending on his pre-shot number, either give the usual dose, or even a smaller one...just to keep from draining the depot any more than necessary.

No matter what you end up doing, when you get home you should be able to get him back on track
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278

Chris & China said:
Hi Suzanne!

Pretty yellow start today! Sure hope he'll come on down and give you a pretty blue nadir too! (and we'll say the little increase at +2.5 is just a food spike)

Sure wish I had another idea for what to do with Cobb while you're gone, but if Matt can test/shoot, I think what I might do is just have him test/shoot and depending on his pre-shot number, either give the usual dose, or even a smaller one...just to keep from draining the depot any more than necessary.

No matter what you end up doing, when you get home you should be able to get him back on track

Thanks. It's frustrating because I feel like we are stuck here at home unless we either board him or pack him up. Cobb doesn't travel well - I know. I've moved with him several times.

Matt is concerned about how long it would take to get him back on track. After that one missed shot, I had him back where he is now within 2 cycles.

I'm in a bit of a mood today...feeling a bit like is this even worth it. :cry:
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278

If Matt stays home due to work, can't he give Cobb his shots? Decide on a pre-shot number you're comfortable with...if it's at or above that number, shoot the 12.5 and if it's below, shoot a "light" dose...like maybe 10u...or even just give light shots while you're gone

Did you see this from Wendy yesterday?
The one benefit to cats with large depots is that they handle skips better than those with smaller depots

I was just thinking that if Matt can stay and give the shots, even if he can't get mid-cycle tests in, that would keep Cobb from losing much ground.
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278

Suzanne, I can relate to your dilemma. Every time an opportunity for us to go somewhere comes along, we do the same dance - who is going to take care of Cinco? Do we board him (which he HATES)? I hope you get it figured out so you can both be comfortable with the solution.

Cobb, you mustn't hit the feeder. It won't make it turn, but it might make it stop turning, and then where would you be? :o Play nice now!
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278

Time to turn it around Cobb - beautiful blues await you.

If you can find someone to give a shot, then perhaps you could have them give slightly reduced shots, maybe down .5 or 1U. With Cobb's larger depot, a couple of reduced shots shouldn't harm him as much as a missed shot. I find that there's usually someone working at a vets office who is willing to do a bit of extra (including the feeding/scooping). The trick will be making sure they can do it at the time frame you need. Finding a good petsitter will give you a lot more freedom.

Spreading out meals a bit is a good idea for reducing the PITA factor. Once Neko figured out the routine for when food shows up, she stopped being a PITA at other times.
I'm in a bit of a mood today...feeling a bit like is this even worth it. :cry:
Scritches to Cobb and hugs to you Suzanne. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: We know that feeling.
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278 +8.75 354 dosecrease?

Hey, thanks all. Matt was going to try to take the day off, but we figured it's just best for him to stay. He's comfortable testing and shooting the full dose. I just won't increase it if it comes time for that. It just leaves me with a 4 hour drive by myself with Matty. Apparently, since Matty was born, I get frustrated more quickly than I did before. :roll: So when one thing bothers me, everything else snowballs. Definitely something I'm working on!

Well, Cobb is headed in the wrong direction today. This is the 4th cycle.

Would we all agree that this is not the right dose and an increase is in order for tonight?
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278 +8.75 354 dosecrease?

Hey!

Sending you the luv as you try to decide how to handle your niece's baptism. Alex and I haven't gotten away together in quite some time, but we each have gotten away with friends/family separately, which isn't as nice, but still really nice. It helps smooth out those "moods', you know what I'm talking about, and refreshes the spirit.

Hey Cobb, Ole wants you to meet him on the low end of the yellow floor and then wants to head to the cool blue rooms together!

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278 +8.75 354 dosecrease?

Yeah, I think you should go ahead and increase tonight...at least you have several days before you're leaving so you don't have to add that to your worry

I remember being a new mom...there's just no way you can really understand how much work it is, how it affects everything in your life, and how truly and desperately tired you are until you've been there....and then you added Cobb's diabetes to the mix.

You're trying to be superwoman, and every once in awhile, your shield is going to crack. Cry, scream, beat up a pillow and lean on us as much as you want. I'm sure if any of us could, we'd be happy to take Cobb for a few days and let you get away from it and get a break.

You do have things to celebrate too!!...Cobb hasn't seen a black or red number since 1/18 and that was probably stress induced, and he's been acting like he feels better too..as well as starting to make friends with babybean!

Remember to take care of yourself too Suzanne! Sometimes that's going to mean getting away for a little while to center yourself again, and come back with a renewed energy. Even a few hours out with friends or walking through the park or just anything you love to do will be good for you

:YMHUG: Hugs :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/3 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.5 278 +8.75 354 dosecrease?

I'm sending you blue vines! Come down from there please, Cobb :-D I hope the fuds experiment works for you guys. Have a nice evening!
 
Rebekah, Chris, and Rachel, thank you! I appreciate it. Matt knows I'm a little over stressed so he took over Matty this afternoon and I took a nice long, hot shower! Now that's it's warning up we will start walking around the neighborhood again, so that will be a stress reliever as well. It's amazing how you feel with little sleep! But it will pass...I do treasure those early morning moments when it's just me and Matty awake in the house. It's only a matter of time because he'll think he's too big for his mama!

Cobb has been a little lazy today. I don't think he likes those pink numbers anymore. I told him he can easily correct that by accepting this dose and then cooperate from there on out! :lol: but he's a cat. He pretty much just rolled his eyes at me. :roll:

Hope everyone's week is off to a good start!
 
You might consider a few R trials in the future to learn Cobbs reaction.
It can be very helpful when getting back on track after any derailment. :cool:

I was just looking at BKs ss after his first dental (12/08/2008), I skipped 2 shots and shot 1/2 dose at +35.5.
I then resumed 13u.
Using R helped to keep BGs from getting way out of hand during the period of depot reconstruction.
R came in handy after a fur-shot or back to back fur-shots too.
 
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
You might consider a few R trials in the future to learn Cobbs reaction.
It can be very helpful when getting back on track after any derailment. :cool:

I was just looking at BKs ss after his first dental (12/08/2008), I skipped 2 shots and shot 1/2 dose at +35.5.
I then resumed 13u.
Using R helped to keep BGs from getting way out of hand during the period of depot reconstruction.
R came in handy after a fur-shot or back to back fur-shots too.

That's a great suggestion Sandy! I may have to run to Walmart to get some new strips and I can pick up some R while I'm there since it isn't incredibly expensive. Does R have to be refrigerated?

Matt and I were talking about a dental for Cobb today actually, especially since we know he's missing a tooth anyway. The anesthesia is the only thing that concerns me about a dental, so we'll discuss that in depth with the vet. I wonder if Cobb's teeth are playing a role in his BGs as well.
 
Yes, R does need refrigeration, however it's not at all fussy about being jostled like Lantus.
And it does not go bad for a long time (I can't remember the expiration for an opened vial but it's generous)

As far as dental health affecting BGs - for BK, his mouth was his Achilles heel.
The graph below illustrates the effects taking care of dental problems had on BKs BGs.

Fragments of a rotten tooth were removed while under anesthesia for a lump removal the end of 10/2008.
He had his first dental 12/2008 and his second 05/2009


ECID, however inflammation and infection caused by bad gums and teeth should be addressed for all sugar-kitties.
The results can sometimes be dramatic :cool:

February is Dental Health month for animals and many vets offer 20% off for the month.
(I took BK for blood work today and the above message was all over the waiting room )
 

Attachments

  • BK insulin graph (600x337).jpg
    BK insulin graph (600x337).jpg
    67.3 KB · Views: 168
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top