2/3 Chyna PMPS 168 +2 156 +5.15 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good Morning, LL! I'm happy to be starting the day with a blue, after a blue overnight :-D Yesterday: Chyna 2/2

After the panic yesterday, I was relieved to get a ton of pee last night that tested negative ketones. I don't know if subqs helped or I just couldn't tell the darn colors apart...either way, yay! I'm not sure if these lower numbers are from the subqs, or Chyna settling into the dose? I wonder if I should up my subqs? I give 50ml every second day. If it helps her BG and that is a reason her BG stayed high or if that is just a nice side effect? I've seen her at the fountain a few times which she rarely did in remission with water in her fuds now and I worry about dehydration...just curious.

Either way, when I saw blue AMPS I held off on the dosecrease that I was going to do this morning. I probably should have increased...I'm now expecting a bounce :lol: Maybe a dosecrease tonight...Chyna was purring in her testing spot this morning when I got up, and all fuds were CPC overnight and for breffis :razz:

Also, if any of you were interested in my post the other day about the litter-lifter scoop, I found the original site for them and it has cheaper shipping (for me in Canada, anyways, maybe US is different), here: http://www.litter-lifter.com/purchase-direct/ . I have ordered from the cat connection in the past and had good service though, just figured I'd share :cool:

Have a good Monday, everyone! I'll bbl to visit, work just got busy! :o
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 increase subqs?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice or fluid advice from me, but it's nice to see chyna starting the day in blue! Hope she cruises right along .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 increase subqs?

Hi Rachel,


Whoo hoo Chyna, very nice AMPS! :-D You have made your mum very happy! So nice to hear how good she feels too~
I ended up ordering the LB scoop from Amazon, as I was ordering something else too. Can't wait for it to arrive!
I have no experience with the sub-qs. Cleo gets the water added to her food, plus she is a water bowl drinker. Last time we were at vets, they did not recommend starting her on fluids (fingers/paws crossed it stays the same).

Happy Monday Rachel :-D
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 increase subqs?

Yay for the nice blue start this morning. I hope Chyna surfs for you today.
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 increase subqs?

Woo Hoo!! Starting out in blue!!

That's much better Chyna! You look so wonderful in blue too!

Looks like the threat of a dosecrease worked it's magic once again. Would be wonderful to see a little green today too

Surf pretty for your mamabean!
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 increase subqs?

I would encourage you to discuss any change in sub-q fluids with your vet before you do anything. Too much fluid can cause all sorts of health risks.
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 increase subqs?

Hi again:)

Thanks Devon, I hope she stays in blue for a bit...or goes to the lagoon...:)
Hi Jane, thanks, I was happy to see the blue for however long it lasts :lol: I saw the scoop on Amazon too, but too much shipping cost for me :o Hopefully you can avoid having to do fluids for a long while and Cleo keeps on not needing them :smile:
Thanks Carla, heres hoping surfing instead of trampolines ;-)
Hi Chris, I hope the lagoon calls instead of the bouncing trampoline! Thanks.
Hi Sienne, thanks. I did mention it to the vet and got "just give her 250ml a week and it should be fine"...

I was wondering how others knew it was time to increase for CKD without bloodwork (I've seen people say they "knew" to) since the 100ml yesterday I gave in case she had ketones seemed to help BG and I thought oh no is she dehydrated and this is showing me so. I don't want to give her too much, for sure, I know it can cause health issues. I'll probably stick with the 50ml every second day, until the next bloodwork in March can tell me where her levels are. Unless I see ketones or signs of dehydration like fur not bouncing back :?

I hope everyones Monday is going good! :cool:
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 +6 109 BG/Subqs?

Ok, I'm home for lunch and I just have to say WOO HOO! :-D Our lowest blue yet since coming back, that I've caught! Almost green... (and of course, anti-jinx :lol: )
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 +6 109 BG/Subqs?

Well look at that! :cool: Doesn't it make you want to hang around for 1/2 hour and see if there's a lagoon visit happening. :-D Chyna looks like she's having a great 24 hours. That's a fabulous way to start the week.

No answer on the subq's, I've just heard have to be careful about too much fluids if kitty has any heart issues. So, it's probably a good idea to wait until next vetty appointment.
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 +6 109 BG/Subqs?

Woo Hoo, Chyna! Surf that blue. If you want to dip your tootsies into the lagoon, I don't think Mamabean would object... :-D

I know what you mean about the subqs. I don't think Cinco needs them every day, but trying to figure out when he does need them is hard. I'm just going by how he looks, how he behaves, how much he's peeing, etc. I don't want to overdo, even though the vet said 100ml every day was fine.

Hope Chyna gives you a repeat performance of that slide tonight!
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 +6 109 BG/Subqs?

I don't know anything about subQs other than what I've seen go by here....but what AWESOME numbers for Chyna today....wooohooooo dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat !!!

Now, keep surfing it, little one! Have a great night, Rachel!
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 +6 109 PMPS 168 :) BG/Subqs?

And another woo hoo! I held my breath tonight expecting a different color PS. Keep going Chyna, this is beautiful :-D ... (Ms L, please stay sleeping!). I held the dose again ;-) .

Wendy, yep too bad I couldn't get any other tests in! Maybe tonight as long as Ms. L ignores these. Chyna must have liked your pic with the pom poms and decided to try out :razz: . I hate Mondays, but this one looks pretty fabulous to me! I did have Chynas heart listened to before we started fluids and they said no murmur...I was just curious as to the correlation between BGs/subqs and whether it's my fault for not enough fluids that her BG stayed high or just a cat being a cat :roll: :lol:

Tricia, thanks! I would NOT object :lol: Despite the 4 hours of sleep I'm running on... :? I don't want to overdo fluids either. The vet that was there was very vague on this subject...mine wasn't in to talk to.

Hi Amy, we are dancing and are happy you popped in to join us :-D Thanks!

Oh, we are praying for a down and not an up tonight! Whatever will be will be ;-) .
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna AMPS 183 +6 109 PMPS 168 :) BG/Subqs?

Hi Rachel,
Nice blue day for Chyna today! WOOT!!!

Lucy's BG used to go down a few hours after a sub-q fluids, so I try to avoid that effect.
I try to do sub-q fluids right in the middle of a cycle, so that it's not too close to either the previous or the next shot.
And on a sub-q day, I shoot insulin close to the hind end, and fluids at the scruff.
I changed the schedule from 125ml twice a week to 100ml every 3rd day, and it's working much better.

Once when she was sick with pancreatitis flare, she got 150ml at the vet 2 hours before the shot, and she dived from 196 @preshot to 22 @+2 ( :o :shock: :o :shock: ).
I almost peed in my pants. (Lucy's SS, 11/11 PM cycle)
That's why I try to prevent the possibility of fluids affecting her BG.

I don't think you will have such a drastic effect with 50ml that you are giving Chyna, but just wanted to share my experience FYI. ;-)
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna PMPS 168 +2 156 BG/Subqs?

Wow, that is interesting, thanks for sharing, Mariko! That was some scary drop. I wonder how long it lasts if it does...maybe it's co-incidence that we've been blue/keep going down still since the 100ml, or maybe is just kick started everything and she needed some fluids. Ack, it's like talking about meter varience. There probably isn't a right answer with cats :lol: I've never seen her go down from them before, but we do little amounts usually, a few hours after PS since it's the only time I'm home to do them weekdays. I hope it's just *finally* the right dose to show us some nicer BGs! :-D (anti-jinx)

+2 slightly lower, still blue :cool:
 
Re: 2/3 Chyna PMPS 168 +2 156 BG/Subqs?

Hi Rachel,
I can't help you with the subQs, but just wanted to say what a great blue surf Chyna has today.
Thanks again for the scoop on the litter scoop. I'm going to order several this week. Now I see that there are 3 models and all those colors. Hard to choose!!!

Have a good evening.

Ella & Rusty
 
89c79b93a76899aeaa72bb1372098b04%3Fs%3D55%26d%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2F0.gravatar.com%2Favatar%2Fad516503a11cd5ca435acc9bb6523536%3Fs%3D55%26r%3DG
 
wow - a nice safe even blue day ofr Chyna. I just love those kinds of surfs: steady and even. I will hope Chyna can do that again today. Steady as she goes little one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top