2.3 Bubba-AM-70, +2-132,+3.5-155, +6.25-157. PM-114+2-112, +6-126

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like Mandarin and Bubba were hanging out in the lagoon together and keeping their beans up all night. Now how about a nice cycle like that during the daytime, Bubba?
 
Gosh @Jill & Alex (GA) and @Andy & Pimp , you two keep some late hours!
Jill's always been around in the wee hours!
I used to keep very late hours, but not so much any more. My late nights are few and far between these days. I had much more energy and a whole lot less gray hair when I started here with Alex. Ha! That was almost 10 years ago! I think it's called "getting O-L-D"! LOL! :rolleyes:

@Jill & Alex (GA) , maybe it's good I didn't shave his dose this AM. Do you think this is a little bounce from yesterday since he hasn't had a 24 hours green stretch since 1/29?
Thoughts dancing through my mind...

If we are beginning to see bounces, increasing the dose will often put a stop to a bounce, but with all the feeding you're doing to keep him out of low numbers... there's no way we can increase the dose!

Bubba's like most diabetic cats. He often shows us lower numbers at night. Because he's a late nadir cat, he peaks in the wee hours of the morning. If this were happening during the day, testing every hour til the next shot time wouldn't be a problem. However, you've been sick and I may be wrong, but I'm sensing you're pretty much stretched to your limit. Who wouldn't be!

My question is... could we possibly be missing a low which could cause a bounce? I don't know the answer and I don't like that because for the most part we're running him low... without a whole lot of room for error. A lot can happen those last few hours of the cycle. The momentum from the insulin *could* overtake the effects of food. I've seen it happen, more than once.

In an effort to keep Bubba safe, I see 2 options:

  • When presented with a low number cycle at night, feed as usual, and test every hour to see if we're missing a low.
  • Take a reduction and be patient... hold it long enough to see if it tells us anything. We may be surprised. He may hold the reduction beautifully. Another possibility we can't discount is the numbers may tell us he needs yet another reduction. Worst case scenario is having to take the dose back up and holding him in the current pattern until he tells us otherwise.
I'm a firm believer in TR. I truly believe running a cat in normal numbers is best. Perhaps I'm being too cautious, but I just don't like not knowing what's happening those last few hours of the PM cycles when he's running low.



Just my thoughts.
I'll ask Libby to peek in here when she gets a chance. She may have other ideas.
 
Thanks for exploring the different scenarios with me. I can't help wondering if he's spiking again right before he goes down again like he did with the yellow cycle on Monday. I am leaning towards shaving the dose tonight because if I had not tested him and fed him all I did yesterday and evening, he surely would have dropped lower than the 53 @+2.75 yesterday daytime cycle. The only thing is this, if he were to still be in the Blues by PMPS, which I don't think he will be (anti-jinx) would I want to wait till tomorrow AM to shave the dose?
 

My question is... could we possibly be missing a low which could cause a bounce? I don't know the answer and I don't like that because for the most part we're running him low... without a whole lot of room for error. A lot can happen those last few hours of the cycle. The momentum from the insulin *could* overtake the effects of food. I've seen it happen, more than once.

In an effort to keep Bubba safe, I see 2 options:

  • When presented with a low number cycle at night, feed as usual, and test every hour to see if we're missing a low.
  • Take a reduction and be patient... hold it long enough to see if it tells us anything. We may be surprised. He may hold the reduction beautifully. Another possibility we can't discount is the numbers may tell us he needs yet another reduction. Worst case scenario is having to take the dose back up and holding him in the current pattern until he tells us otherwise.
I'm a firm believer in TR. I truly believe running a cat in normal numbers is best. Perhaps I'm being too cautious, but I just don't like not knowing what's happening those last few hours of the PM cycles when he's running low.

I think we're pretty much on the same page. Based on taking the patterns we see during the day and applying them to the night cycles, I believe there are lower numbers that we're not seeing. Normally I would try to pressure you to get those tests to be sure, but since we're talking about 3:00 and 4:00 in the morning that's a bit unreasonable to ask. I agree with Jill that the choices are to either pull some all-nighters or try a reduction to see if it sticks. If there really are lows that we're missing, then the blue and yellow could be bounces from those lows and they might go away when he stops going so low.

I would actually be tempted to try a full 0.25u reduction instead of a shave, or even down to 4.25u to make it even. That will give us a good idea whether the high numbers were due to bounces from low numbers or from too nlittle insulin. Just a thought. I know 0.25 reductions didn't work in the past but it might now.
 
I would actually be tempted to try a full 0.25u reduction instead of a shave, or even down to 4.25u to make it even.
The more I think about it, I like the idea of taking a full 0.25u reduction rather than just a shave. Taking the dose down just a bit more to 4.25u is just easier. I can't imagine trying to reduce by a quarter unit when the current dose is a fat 4.5 units! o_O

Thanks for weighing in, Libby!
 
Thanks Libby for your input. I am all for the reduction rather than pull an all- nighter as my reserve is really on low. When you say :

Would that be any number in the greens?

I would say green, though if he drops significantly before PMPS then you can definitely consider reducing then anyway. The main thing is to try to catch it when he already has something good happening rather than make him try to fight to pull down some higher numbers with a lower dose.
 
I would say green, though if he drops significantly before PMPS then you can definitely consider reducing then anyway. The main thing is to try to catch it when he already has something good happening rather than make him try to fight to pull down some higher numbers with a lower dose.
Sounds good!
 
Good luck with the reduction. I can totally sympathize with you. 3:30 AM and 4:30 AM are the two most commonly used alarms on my cell phone cause that's when Neko often nadirs at night. Many a time I've "taken a reduction so I can sleep". Surprising how many times that works. Your other option is to be crazy like me and start up a sport that gets you up at 4:30 AM 4 days a week anyway. :confused:
 
Good luck with the reduction. I can totally sympathize with you. 3:30 AM and 4:30 AM are the two most commonly used alarms on my cell phone cause that's when Neko often nadirs at night. Many a time I've "taken a reduction so I can sleep". Surprising how many times that works. Your other option is to be crazy like me and start up a sport that gets you up at 4:30 AM 4 days a week anyway. :confused:
That must be your rowing? That's a great way to make lemonade out of lemons, Wendy! :) I could just start my day earlier too and I could always get back to doing my T 25 tapes which I have sadly abandoned and am starting to get chubby again. :( And maybe even make DH a big eggs and bacon breakfast before he starts his day. ( that part is not going to happen, LOL) I think I will try the reduction and if that doesn't work I will just have to bite the bullet at 3:30 - 4:30 and see what he's up to. Waiting for the numbers to come down to try it out.
 
yep, but this is depot too so tonight would probably be busy either way. That's good though. We don't want him to lose momentum other than to stay a *little* bit higher when he drops. Ideally he won't even notice the dose reduction.
Sounds like a good plan and hopefully it works out like that. Just gave him an early snack at +2.25 to slow it down a bit. Going to hit the sack soon so I can get up around 11:30 (+6) to get a number and steer if need to.
 
+ 9.75 - 71 gave .75 oz LC went back to bed and in 15 mins. he barfed it up. I got back up and gave him another .75 oz divided to make him sloooooow down.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top