2/3 Asia PMPS 128, +3 109, +4 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-2-asia-pmps-125-3-62-5-87.190579/

Happy Asia today, very thankful for that. Probably overdid it a little with the Karo last night, but it was one and done as opposed to an every hour/every other hour thing, so that’s a welcome change. Looks like this in between dose is doing a good job so far, when she tries to go low, it’s easy to bring her up. It’s a weird balancing act when the daytime numbers aren’t what you want them to be but the night ones are almost too good. :rolleyes:

Skipped Cerenia shot yesterday, so far so good on the appy, going to keep it every other day and .5mL as long as it works. I’m hoping after this course of antibiotics to cease using it regularly and just use when needed. Besides not wanting her on unnecessary meds, eating little/no food is a good early warning sign that something is off and I wouldn’t want to miss that because I’m overriding the mechanism with drugs.

Toki didn’t eat her Toki truffle again. I wouldn’t say it’s getting any easier, but we are almost at the finish line!
 
It’s a weird balancing act when the daytime numbers aren’t what you want them to be but the night ones are almost too good.
Yes. This! I have this with Boomer....daytime numbers suck and he barely gets into green but during the night he's a lovely green by +3. Don't know whether to increase or not!
 
Yes. This! I have this with Boomer....daytime numbers suck and he barely gets into green but during the night he's a lovely green by +3. Don't know whether to increase or not!

It’s a mystery to me. With Asia, it seems like unless I have a green AMPS, the greens are slow to come and quick to leave in the am cycle. In the pm cycle, it almost doesn’t matter the preshot number, she wants to be green no later than +3/+4. More insulin means more green AMPS and better am cycles overall, but really wild rides at night (no thanks). It sure would be useful if this insulin worked in such a way they could have 2 different doses for am and pm, right? :facepalm:
 
It’s a mystery to me. With Asia, it seems like unless I have a green AMPS, the greens are slow to come and quick to leave in the am cycle. In the pm cycle, it almost doesn’t matter the preshot number, she wants to be green no later than +3/+4. More insulin means more green AMPS and better am cycles overall, but really wild rides at night (no thanks). It sure would be useful if this insulin worked in such a way they could have 2 different doses for am and pm, right? :facepalm:
Exactly the situation with Boomer! I need to increase to get the AM numbers into green but I'm afraid of the PM numbers since they're already green!
 
As someone once said, the only thing predictable about feline diabetes is that it is unpredictable.
Good luck with the dose!
Maybe Toki would like a different cheese?? A nice brie perhaps?
Hang in there, Stacy.
 
As someone once said, the only thing predictable about feline diabetes is that it is unpredictable.
Good luck with the dose!
Maybe Toki would like a different cheese?? A nice brie perhaps?
Hang in there, Stacy.

Predictably unpredictable, that is so true! Another cheese might be the ticket, I was thinking Gorgonzola or Limburger since cats seem to love pungent, stinky things. :p
 
Asia has been a piggy again today, eating food in one sitting and cleaning the bowl. Starting to think this is a symptom of something rather than she’s just decided to eat with gusto for the first time in her entire life. Would also explain why she’s eating her Toki truffles, I was shocked that she ate the first one and continue to be surprised she eats them each evening. I skipped cerenia shot again today in light of her not having one yesterday and eating so heartily today.

Does anyone know if T4 is something you have to ask for with IDEXX? Is it not part of a standard senior panel? My antech blood work seems to have it, but the IDEXX ones don’t.
 
Here T4 is something we usually ask for separately, fwiw. Worth testing if she is eating much.

Could the higher BG explain it? Not that her BG has been that high, but it has been higher than what it was. And appetite and BG, well, you know.
 
Here T4 is something we usually ask for separately, fwiw. Worth testing if she is eating much.

Could the higher BG explain it? Not that her BG has been that high, but it has been higher than what it was. And appetite and BG, well, you know.

I absolutely don't think it's diabetes related, even at the start when she had lost some weight and wanted to eat more than usual (quantity) she didn't clean her bowl and do it all in one sitting. In 21 years she hasn't eaten like this ever, that I can recall, and certainly not for a few days in a row.
 
Awe yay for happy Asia! It is odd how they tend to drop lower at night...I wonder if there is any science behind it.

It sounds like this dose is going pretty well though.

How many more Tiki truffles are left?
 
Awe yay for happy Asia! It is odd how they tend to drop lower at night...I wonder if there is any science behind it.

It sounds like this dose is going pretty well though.

How many more Tiki truffles are left?

I'm sure there is some reasoning behind it, but the answer so far is because: cat! :joyful:

For Toki, only 2 more pills! :woot:

For Asia, a bunch, but she's eating the Toki truffles and I'm not having to pill her, thankfully.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top