? 2/3/21Marmy amps 288 eating and urinating a lot

tonimarmalade

Member Since 2015

tonimarmalade
Joined:
Jan 20, 2015
So Marmy Has been hungry nonstop for the past couple of months. Her urine amount has also increased. All her bloodwork and tests have shown no issues Related to the tummy kidneys etc. I am keeping her loosely speaking, on TR. I feed her now between one and a half tablespoons and 1 tablespoon about 8 to 12 times a day even through the night if she won’t leave me alone. I am keeping a record of these feedings. Her vet is satisfied with her recent numbers and she does have access to her chart. She is suggesting something called the monji effect . I have adjusted her insulin doses tweaking them up and down. And she seems fine otherwise. For a while she was up chucking a lot but no longer. She is long haired and I do brush her. She takes Certrizene for allergies, miralax, a probiotic, cosequin, and omega 3 liquid for her fur. She is 14 years old and maybe her constant appetite and increased urinating are just an effect of the diabetes. Please ANYONE on the Board with some ideas or suggestions, please let me know.
 
Nice to see a condo from you. Since everything else checked out I think she needs an increase. I think that’s the cause of the increased appetite and urination. If she were my cat I would increase. What have you got to lose?
 
I have gone up to 2 from 1.5 if you look at her chart. Doesn’t seem to do much. Her vet wants her at 1.5. Her numbers just puzzle me.no rhyme or reason. I do find that when I feed her smaller amts (1 tbs) more frequently she gets lower numbers. She foes love her Insyinct treats so today I am trying replacing them with only Origen original treats.
 
Hi Toni, I also see current dose as 1.5u, and she has been there for quite some time. I have a few thoughts.

There aren't a lot of night time tests. Usually when I am trying to assess how the dose is working, and particularly when considering a dose increase, I like to make sure I get some extra night time tests in, since I have found that sometimes Maverick gets some lower cycles at night, then goes back up to blues/yellows the next day. With only am cycle tests you are missing half of the picture. She probably does need an increase to 1.75u, but you may want to check a couple of night time tests to be sure.

She didn't really earn any reduction from 2.0u back in the first week of January, and being a long term diabetic, you may want to consider following TR a little more closely, when taking reductions. That would mean perhaps considering reducing only if Marmy drops 3 times under 50 on different days, or once under 40. The fat/skinny doses that you did usually work best when a kitty is getting close to the right dose, and increasing by 0.25u gets them dropping to earn a reduction, but dropping the dose by 0.25u doesn't get you the nadirs that you want and Marmy spending more time in healing numbers overall.

I'm not familiar with the Instinct cat treats but even if they are grain free, they may still have higher carbs than you expect. Check the ingredients, if you see peas, potatoes, lentils or other legumes, depending on how many Marmy gets, that might have some influence on her BG levels.
 
thank you very much for your thoughtful reply. I will do my best to get some nighters. The reduction to 1.5 back in January was at the request of our vet who really doesn't understand the TR protocol. And I do a horrible job of following it anyway. I have tried my best to get some information from the instinct people on carbs but they are not very forthcoming. Thank you again stay safe and well.
 
She is 14 years old and maybe her constant appetite and increased urinating are just an effect of the diabetes.
Given that Marmy's bloodwork came back fine, and kidneys working well. The most likely cause of increased Appy and urination is BG is running higher on this lower dose, and she's spending more time above the renal threshold.

I like Chrissies suggestion of getting some spot checks especially at night, I would go one step further and suggest for your peace of mind to get a couple of tests mid cycle in the am and the pm cycles, over the next couple of days, see what that shows.
I suspect, given the symptoms is that it will show she needs more insulin.

I looked back at the 2020 tab. I saw there are some occasions where you have not taken a reduction when she dropped below 40. Just a reminder A drop into the 30's or 20's is and immediate dose reduction, of 0.25u.

She is suggesting something called the monji effect .
I think you mean the somogyi effect. That idea was based on a trial of humans and it was later disproven. It's never proved in cats, and I think there's a study from Romp/Rand that showed that cats on long acting insulin didn't exhibit this. I need to search for it for you. But I'm just heading of to bed.
 
Back
Top