2/29 Morgaine AMPS 150

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Happy Leap Year LL! Hope you are all doing well.

Morgaine had a great night with a pee in the box, half on the mat in front of the box and a poo in the box. She is definitely favoring her old box so her message with the licking and rubbing of her whiskers is clear: "This is my box of choice mama so do not take it away too!" We have had a couple of other boxes over the last months.

She was out in the LR last night and did pee on the rug. She was immediately confined but I am going to accept that it will happen and not be harsh with her. There is some progress. When I went to clean her box last night I noticed that she had used it more than I thought.

I also let her into the bedroom last night to see if I could coax her to get on the bed. I just wanted to give her some cuddling. I took a large plastic drawer from a storage thingy and turned it upside down so she could have a good step up and brought the Pure Bites. She got up on the plastic drawer easily but could not jump from that onto the bed. I do think some steps will help but I am just not sure which ones to get and they are pretty pricey. i think I will wait until the gabapentin is in her system and see how she does but steps are on the horizon. If anyone knows of some reasonably priced, sturdy steps that a large cat could use, please post here.

All in all, we are doing okay. She was purring for her fuds and rubbing up against my leg....how I love that movement. Tomorrow we start the Gabapentin. Her Bupe shot should be wearing off today so i hope she continues to feel pretty good. I did increase her dose to a f4.25. She was pretty flat all day yesterday but a little higher than I want her to be.

Sending out healing vines and good thoughts to all in need.
 
Rosalie:

I would post about the steps on Community and Health. I'm hoping that someone may have some recommendations or may have a set they are no longer using.
 
Sounds like one pee that was officially out of the box (a half pee counts as a miss). That's improvement. It sounds like a good idea to wait for the gaba to be fully onboard before buying stairs. That way you'll have a better idea what her needs are. Weezer has trouble jumping onto the bed, but she can still make it onto the bedside table and from there to the bed.
 
It's good to hear that Morgaine is making some progress. We have all sorts of accommodations for Zener because of his cerebellar hypoplasia. He is pretty wobbly. We use plastic storage boxes and cover with a towel or small rug secured with a bungee cord so he can grip with his claws. We have one box next to two stacked boxes so he can get onto a bed.
Liz
 
Anne & Zener said:
It's good to hear that Morgaine is making some progress. We have all sorts of accommodations for Zener because of his cerebellar hypoplasia. He is pretty wobbly. We use plastic storage boxes and cover with a towel or small rug secured with a bungee cord so he can grip with his claws. We have one box next to two stacked boxes so he can get onto a bed.
Liz
Very interesting how you managed to create steps with boxes. My bed is about 24 inches high so she needs help. I would love to see a diagram of those boxes and how you secure them. Morgaine weighs close to 15 lbs. I did find some steps on Amazon but they cost $60 so if i can make something simple at home I would prefer that.
 
Here is a picture. You could put books or heavy stuff in the storage boxes to make them more stable. They are big enough to give Zener plenty of room. If your bed is 25" high, you could get boxes that are 8" high and that would give her 3 steps of 8" each.
Liz
 
Thank you Liz! That is very cool. I will see about getting some storage boxes. I am not sure I would save much but will do the math once i fine what i need.
 
Hi Rosalie,
We are very glad that Morgaine is doing better with her peeing and that she really likes her old litterbox. Kitties sure are creatures of habit and they don't like change! Our GA kitty Alice had trouble jumping up on the bed. We put a hassock next to the bed and that solved the problem.

Keep on truckin' and enjoy the evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
My poor baby seems to be feeling much pain tonight. The bupe is probably out of her system and the vet wanted me to wait until tomorrow to start the gabapentin. Meanwhile, she has been meowing pretty constantly for the past few hours. Just wishing i could help her but we have to get through the night.

Thanks for the suggestions on helping Morgaine get onto the bed. I will have to make a decision once I see how she responds to the new medication.
 
Glad for the good pee report! I'm sorry she was in more pain last night, but hopefully it'll subside soon today with the new med. She's in our thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top