2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 +4.5=277 +8=265 PMPS=301 +2=275

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
I have had computer issues so I haven't been able to post.
He had the issue with vomiting when I posted 9 days ago.
I gave him pepcid for a few days last week and he's been eating well since and no more vomiting.
DC hasn't been feeling good since yesterday.
He's had liquipoo since yesterday and his numbers have been through the roof.
I'm leaving to take him to the vet in an hour.
He's still eating and drinking good.
All P's are in place.
I'm wondering if there's anything special I should ask the vet?
He was at the vet 2 weeks ago and everything was good except he wanted DC to put on a bit of weight.
He's put on 1/2 pound since then.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 Sick Kitty question

Gosh Noreen, I'm glad you are taking him in.

has he had a change in food? Does he go out at all (perhaps he ate something that didn't agree with him)?
Perhaps some sort of intestinal parasite?

I hope the vet determines the cause of the liquipoo and that it is something easy to address and resolve.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 Sick Kitty question

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Gosh Noreen, I'm glad you are taking him in.

has he had a change in food? Does he go out at all (perhaps he ate something that didn't agree with him)?
Perhaps some sort of intestinal parasite?

I hope the vet determines the cause of the liquipoo and that it is something easy to address and resolve.
No change in food except for Feb 21, I tried Triumph grain free chicken.
He ate a bit but wasn't crazy about. It also brought his numbers up a bit, so I didn't feed it again.
He also had some chicken breast that I baked for him last week when he was vomiting.
Other than that he's been eating the same food all the time.
He's an indoor cat unless I take him out on a leash, but he hasn't been outside in almost 2 months.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 Sick Kitty question

Cats can get a GI flu the same way that people do. I hope that's all that this is and it clears up quickly. You might want to get some FortiFlora or other probiotic.

Please let us know what the vet had to say.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 Sick Kitty question

I'm at the vet now. DC doesn't have a fever & physically
He looks good. They are running bloodwork now.
I should have those results within the hour since they do it right here.
I will update when I know more.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 Sick Kitty update

I'm back home with DC now.
All his blood work came back good.
His organs are good.
The vet thinks he just has a bug.
She gave me some antibiotics for him for 5 days.
She wants him to eat a bland diet for the next 48 hours.
She suggested boiled chicken and rice.
The only bland diet they sell at the vet is Hills Prescription I/D and she said to stay away from it because the carbs are too high.
Does anyone have any suggestions for what to feed for bland? Is rice ok?
The other thing she wants me to do is to increase is insulin to 1 unit tonight.
I'm leary since I just increased to 0.5 units last night.
Any advice would be appreciated.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 +4.5=277 advice & Kitty update

Rice is high carb.

When Gabby has gone through periods like this, I've fed baby food. If you can find a brand that's only a protein and broth, that's ideal. Do not get any brand that has onions. In the U.S., Gerber stage 2 or Beechnut are what's recommended. The Gerber contains cornstarch and is a bit higher in carbs, as a result. (It's about 7%.) Personally, I think the Gerber smalls better.

I would not raise his dose yet. I'd give the current dose a bit of time to work and evaluate after 6 cycles.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 +4.5=277 advice & Kitty update

Noreen

I'm so sorry to hear DC doesn't feel well but glad all is ok with his blood work. I'm like you...I would hesitate to increase him quite so soon again especially if ABs kick in within 24 hours.

Hopefully we'll get a couple other thoughts soon. Sending him healing vines...need those beyootiful green numbers back.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 +4.5=277 advice & Kitty update

Sienne and Gabby said:
Rice is high carb.

When Gabby has gone through periods like this, I've fed baby food. If you can find a brand that's only a protein and broth, that's ideal. Do not get any brand that has onions. In the U.S., Gerber stage 2 or Beechnut are what's recommended. The Gerber contains cornstarch and is a bit higher in carbs, as a result. (It's about 7%.) Personally, I think the Gerber smalls better.

I would not raise his dose yet. I'd give the current dose a bit of time to work and evaluate after 6 cycles.
I picked up some chicken & broth and also some beef & broth baby food.
The chicken is 0 carbs and the beef is 2 carbs.
But DC won't touch either of them.
I'm boiling some chicken to feed him. I'm not sure if I should give him the broth with it.
I agree about the dose. I'm going to stick to the 0.5 units for now.
Tonight will be the third shot at that dose.
Hopefully the antibiotics will kick in and lower the BG's quickly.
I don't know anything about the antibiotic, metronidazole. It's in liquid form.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 +4.5=277 +8=265 Kitty update

Have you syringe fed before? Do you think he'd be okay with it? You can supplement calories this way - antibiotics will probably cause some inappetance.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 +4.5=277 +8=265 Kitty update

I'm so sorry DC isn't well, last time I saw his condo his numbers were beautiful, I hope he gets back down there soon, sending bug off vines.
 
Re: 2/29 DC AMPS=338 +3.5=295 +4.5=277 +8=265 Kitty update

Karrie and Maverick said:
Have you syringe fed before? Do you think he'd be okay with it? You can supplement calories this way - antibiotics will probably cause some inappetance.
I have syringe fed before and he hates it.
Also his antibiotics are liquid form.
He is eating his Friskies again and I'm also giving him some boiled chicken breast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top