2/29-Cini Mini - PMPS 283,+2/369

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64890

Recap of yesterday's BGs:

AMPS - 270
+2 - 279
+4 - 185
+6 - 207
+9 - 278
PMPS - 309
+2 - 343

Gosh! Today was so busy! But Cini has been sitting with me upstairs the whole time. He even pushed my civvie cat Honey out of her favorite chair to sit there! I don't blame him, it's a recliner with a cushy, faux sheep's wool blanket on it.

Today's BG readings are in the subject line as well as Cini's SS.

Couple of questions --

1. Are you sure I'm not supposed to inject air in to the Lantus pen? I noticed this morning when I tried to draw out some insulin that it didn't come out very quickly. I pulled back the plunger almost all the way to the 3 unit mark before 1 drop came out. I was under the impression you had to inject as much air in to the pen as what you were taking out in order not to create a vacuum. This is what I did previously with the Lantus vial I was using.

2. Cini is feeling much better today but I did notice when he gets in to Cat Yoga position #12 - Raise your back leg over your head and lick your tail, he growled and limped a little after doing that. I am thinking I should be using something like Cosequin now? What's the recommended brand? Since Cini can't swallow pills is there a liquid formula? How much do I give? Is it ok for the civvie cats to use as well? (OK, that was a whole slew of questions there :oops: )

3. Can someone tell me if I should increase Cini's insulin? This will be the 15th and 16th cycle on 0.10 units and I know he's had a new insulin pen and the episode with the leg but gosh, his BGs are still high. Should I give it a little longer on the 0.10 units or increase to a fat 0.10 units?
 
Re: 2/29-Cini Mini - AMPS 392,+3/352,+6/297,+9/281 - Questio

The pens and vials are constructed differently. The pens work on a negative pressure system -- that's why that black plug moves down the cartridge as you remove insulin. It keeps a degree of pressure on the liquid. If you inject air, you risk cracking the glass.

Cosequin is a brand of glucosamine and chondroiten. It's a capsule. You can empty the capsule into food. I used it with my elderly civvie when he developed arthritis.

If Cini has cleared the bounce, I'd increase. Personally, I tend to think a fat 0.1u is pretty much 0.2u. I'd bring it up to there. You're home to test so you can keep an eye on Cini's numbers.
 
Re: 2/29-Cini Mini - AMPS 392,+3/352,+6/297,+9/281 - Questio

Sienne and Gabby said:
The pens and vials are constructed differently. The pens work on a negative pressure system -- that's why that black plug moves down the cartridge as you remove insulin. It keeps a degree of pressure on the liquid. If you inject air, you risk cracking the glass.

Ok, good to know. I guess it just takes practice to get the right amount of insulin in to the syringe without wasting too much.

Cosequin is a brand of glucosamine and chondroiten. It's a capsule. You can empty the capsule into food. I used it with my elderly civvie when he developed arthritis.

Where do I get it? Is there a better brand name or quality of glucosamine and chondroiten than others? Or is it all the same thing no matter what brand you buy?

If Cini has cleared the bounce, I'd increase. Personally, I tend to think a fat 0.1u is pretty much 0.2u. I'd bring it up to there. You're home to test so you can keep an eye on Cini's numbers.

Yeah, I'd have to say a fat 0.1u is the same as 0.2u, I just didn't want to confuse it with 0.25u which would be over a 50% increase in Insulin which I think would be too much. I'll start him on the fat 0.1u (or 0.2u) tomorrow morning.

Thanks Sienne! You're a superstar! :-D

Appreciate anyone else's input. Everyone here is always so helpful and Cini is better off for it!
 
Re: 2/29-Cini Mini - AMPS 392,+3/352,+6/297,+9/281 - Questio

I would agree that if it were me and I was going to be home to test, I would increase the dose a bit to see how Cini does. Jake (GA) was on that before he was dx with diabetes and it was prescribed to help reduce the inflammation in his bladder because he had recurrent blockages.
 
Re: 2/29-Cini Mini - AMPS 392,+3/352,+6/297,+9/281 - Questio

Cathy

The pens just take a little practice...you'll get it!

This is the cosequin I used: Cosequin for cats

This link is to amazon but I always just googled to find the best price.
 
Re: 2/29-Cini Mini - AMPS 392,+3/352,+6/297,+9/281 - Questio

Thanks Margie, the Amazon link says

Contains 125 milligrams FCHG49 glucosamine and 100 milligrams TRH122 chondroitin sulfate per capsule

Did you give 1 capsule a day?
 
Re: 2/29-Cini Mini - PMPS 283 - Questions

Hi Lydia,

Yes. I think I'll increase it tomorrow at AMPS. I'm staying home (I work from home) and Cini has been sitting in his spot in my office so I'll be able to keep an eye on him cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/29-Cini Mini - PMPS 283 - Questions

For Gus who was 11 lbs I gave one bid and later changed to a maintenance dose of 1 Sid. I would check the dosing on the box.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top