? 2/29 - Bandit - AMPS 265 +3 262 PMPS 271 - Flat yellows - more insulin needed?

Hi giving you support, but not advice. I understand that gut feeling when you "know" that you might need to adjust the dose, but the protocol doesn't give you the green light. Sometimes the wait feels excruciatingly slow. I hope you get the answer you need soon.
 
Hi giving you support, but not advice. I understand that gut feeling when you "know" that you might need to adjust the dose, but the protocol doesn't give you the green light. Sometimes the wait feels excruciatingly slow. I hope you get the answer you need soon.

Thanks! it is pretty frustrating. Especially when the numbers are high! Glad to see Zoot is doing so well. :bighug:
 
@Wendy&Neko I might be wrong, but it seems like Bandit gets days and days of flat yellow cycles with the occasional blue - almost like she needs a higher dose - and then these bursts of low greens like her depot is overfull. It happened on Jan 29, Feb 4, Feb 15, Feb 23. I don't know what to make of it. And for the last 6 weeks she is stuck in largely yellows - except for these bursts.

Am I reading her SS wrong? Are there any trends I am missing?
 
Last edited:
I do wonder if the dry food is the issue related to what you describe above. The only variable you didn't mention is the bouncing Bounces don't have to be into very high numbers. They can be modest. You're also seeing lower nadirs in the PM cycle which can be a pattern for many cats and can contribute to some bounciness.

As for increasing the dose, if you're following SLGS, you need to wait.
 
I'm just wondering if she's getting better at all or if we are stuck in a loop of increases and decreases :-(

I'm working with severe constraints here as far as food is concerned and I have to find a solution keeping those constraints in mind. I cannot change the problem to fit the solution!
 
I second Bellasmom on TR. I was trying SLGS last year and beginning this year and it was slow going. I switched to TR reluctantly, but mainly because it allowed dose changes more frequently. I started testing frequently (which Zoot! hates, but hey, I am trying to save a life here) and that has helped me manage his blood glucose with food more. It might be worth considering switching.
 
Oh darn, thanks for letting me know.
Yep, I went down that road earlier this week...it's easy to overlook...and I suggested the very same thing...TR...but alas with dry food it's not an option...I recommended researching raw diet as there are few canned cat foods available there - challenging indeed :(
 
I do wonder if the dry food is the issue related to what you describe above. The only variable you didn't mention is the bouncing Bounces don't have to be into very high numbers. They can be modest. You're also seeing lower nadirs in the PM cycle which can be a pattern for many cats and can contribute to some bounciness.

As for increasing the dose, if you're following SLGS, you need to wait.

Yes, I will wait for a week to increase. I'm not in a rush, even though I sound like I am :-)
Just trying to figure out what the heck is happening.

You are saying that Bandit is bouncing from low 200s also now? Because she hasn't seen any blues in 7 cycles. She probably would have gone to 190 or so at +4 on the last 2 nights after the 202 at +3, but not significantly lower.
 
I was speculating that Bandit may be bouncing off of blue numbers (or lower) and may bounce into 300s or above.

Yes, she does bounce off blue numbers too but I haven't seen any blues in the last 7 cycles. Which is why I am wondering if she is still bouncing or if its a matter of needing more insulin (at the end of the week).

I am hoping the threat of a future dose increase gets her lower! :-)
 
I think if i had tested at +4 or +5 on the nights she was at 202/205 at +3, I might have gotten high blues - 180-190. Still, higher than previous blues she has seen. AMPS this morning - 301! Can I just take out her liver for a few weeks? :p

Don't worry. I am not is a rush. I will hold this dose a week - longer if you think it is required.
Just frustrated at how reductions never seem to work for her. GRRRRRRRR.
 
Back
Top