? 2/29 amps 340 pmps 162

Marley1

Member Since 2024
Anyone know why his curve is working backwards? 2 1/2 hours ago he was at 210, now preshot he’s at 162. It should be going up not down. Is this unusual?
 
Your dose should be 2.0 units since Marley went below 90 yesterday.

He's breaking a bounce today. That can cause a "curve" to look more like a slide. It could be an active cycle tonight as a result.
 
Oh ok. I was worried that he was on a continual downward slide but I gave him his shot anyway. I gave him his full dose. I didn’t know. What do you mean by active cycle? Should I be worried?
 
I mean get a +2 test to start. A very active cycle could mean he goes low. A +2 test is usually a good indicator if that is going to happen.
 
Your next shot, please reduce the dose to 2.0 units. 2.25 units is too much insulin for him now. When following SLGS for dosing, you reduce the dose immediately by 0.25 units when they go below 90.
 
His +2 is 73.8. Ok I’ll reduce the dose again. I just reduced it a couple days ago so I didn’t think I should do it again so soon.
 
Can you test again tonight? That is a very steep drop. I'm worried about him going even lower tonight.
 
The glucose monitor’s not working again. It has brand new batteries in it. I swear it doesn’t work when ever he’s low. I gave him a bit of carbs.
 
That's not good. If you can't get it to work again, I suggest two things. First, leave him lots of carbs for tonight. Second, buy a backup meter tomorrow if you can.
 
I agree with Wendy. Always have 2 meters and plenty of test strips and correct batteries in the house for emergencies. I also keep a flashlight and headlamp with the testing supplies. I have lost power and need to have emergency supplies handy (hoping you never need it).
Congratulations on the reduction. I hope you had a safe surf and have a good Friday today! :bighug:
 
Back
Top