Linda for Weezer
Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.
Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.
Yesterday’s Condo
Recap of yesterday
AMPS 357 (16u Lantus + .5 u R)
+5 290
+6 309 (.5 u R)
+8 298
+10 280
PMPS 315 (16 u Lantus +.5 u R)
+3 252
+5 281
+11 109!
Look at that +11! I retested, it’s no hokey pokey. I wonder what she did between +5 and +11? We thought she was rising at +5 and called off the R watch. Anyway, I gathered up my stockpile of courage and shot her full dose this morning. I will be here for a +1 check and then DH takes over for a +2 check and beyond.
We were planning to switch to Levemir last night but there was a miscommunication with the order. It was shipped yesterday, so Wednesday will probably be switch day. The plan is to start with ½ our current dose. That may be a little drastic but here’s my reasoning. Everything about Weezer’s reaction to Lantus has been atypical. She hasn’t shown improvement on Lantus. That could be the IAA resistance. But also, when we have made larger increases, her BGs go up, and can stay up from one increase to another. That doesn’t seem typical of IAA. We think she may be having a reaction to the chemical makeup of the Lantus. If that is the case, it is possible that a much lower dose of Levemir may be appropriate for her. That’s one reason we would like to know how long the Lantus will still be in her system, so we can tell when she is working only with Levemir. During that period we can keep her down with R. We are ready to quickly go up the dosing ladder, once we know the numbers we are getting are from her Levemir dose, and not influenced by remnants of the Lantus shed. Does anyone see a problem with this line of reasoning?
Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.
Yesterday’s Condo
Recap of yesterday
AMPS 357 (16u Lantus + .5 u R)
+5 290
+6 309 (.5 u R)
+8 298
+10 280
PMPS 315 (16 u Lantus +.5 u R)
+3 252
+5 281
+11 109!
Look at that +11! I retested, it’s no hokey pokey. I wonder what she did between +5 and +11? We thought she was rising at +5 and called off the R watch. Anyway, I gathered up my stockpile of courage and shot her full dose this morning. I will be here for a +1 check and then DH takes over for a +2 check and beyond.
We were planning to switch to Levemir last night but there was a miscommunication with the order. It was shipped yesterday, so Wednesday will probably be switch day. The plan is to start with ½ our current dose. That may be a little drastic but here’s my reasoning. Everything about Weezer’s reaction to Lantus has been atypical. She hasn’t shown improvement on Lantus. That could be the IAA resistance. But also, when we have made larger increases, her BGs go up, and can stay up from one increase to another. That doesn’t seem typical of IAA. We think she may be having a reaction to the chemical makeup of the Lantus. If that is the case, it is possible that a much lower dose of Levemir may be appropriate for her. That’s one reason we would like to know how long the Lantus will still be in her system, so we can tell when she is working only with Levemir. During that period we can keep her down with R. We are ready to quickly go up the dosing ladder, once we know the numbers we are getting are from her Levemir dose, and not influenced by remnants of the Lantus shed. Does anyone see a problem with this line of reasoning?
Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.