2/28 - Sammy (formerly known as Sami) - PMPS 209; +2 112; +3 96 - Back to GREEN

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

We had a great night last night. Sammy did get close to 50, but I easily managed the low with 8% and 11% food., and he didn't spike too high. He has been surfing between 70-90 since 10:30 pm last night. And NO reduction earned.


Hi Tina, Several months ago one of the cats on the board and her 2 civvie companions were taken ill suddenly (renal failure?) and the vet determined that the only thing that all 3 had in common was a meal of Wellness. The civvies recovered, but the diabetic cat died. I don't recall at the moment her name, but Marje may be able to fill you in (Marje has stopped feeding Wellness to Gracie). Apparently there have been many anecdotal cases of cats getting sick on Wellness. I decided to find other foods for Rusty because of the upsetting news. Some of the discussion on the board took place at the end of December. Here is a link to one of Marje's condos: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-27-gracie-amps-320-3-298-6-121.130493/#post-1342321
You might also check out some of the letters on this website: http://petfoodtalk.com/catfoodreviews/wellness-cat-food/
Apparently the formulas were changed without comment and cats were refusing to eat, having intestinal problems, etc.


The member who first brought the WN issue up was Melinda with Talbot and siblings.

Gracie had been eating WN chicken, turkey, and beef and chicken for years. We never had an issue. But after the issue above and then Billie had some issues, and then Gracie had a weird poo and some blood in her vomit, I just decided to not take a chance. I've also been concerned about carregeenan in food and feel it had a lot to do with Tobey's intestinal issues. I got Tobey onto raw and have been searching for canned foods without carregeenan with the ultimate goal of feeding Gracie raw.

I hope that helps.

Thanks for all that information, I will definitely read through all of it.

It might also explain why awhile back my cats completely turned their noses up at that food. I am feeding Sammy Wellness Turkey and so far it seems to be okay, but I will definitely keep an eye on it.
 
Well, it looks like maybe another bounce. The only thing I can think of is that Sammy might have dropped quickly after +4 and went too low. That is the only thing that I can think of, but maybe it is the 1.5 dose is not enough juice. We will see how the rest of the day goes. His + 6 number is the highest it has been this time of day for quite some time. If we see him trending up for the rest of the day, should I go ahead and go back to the 1.75 dose tonight, or should I give it another day of collecting data to see where things go?

He did eat a MM at +10.
 
The last few days are looking great.... ( looks a lot like Shadow's surfing days)

I would stay at this dose unless he earns a reduction... or his numbers start rising much more than they are.....
 
The last few days are looking great.... ( looks a lot like Shadow's surfing days)

I would stay at this dose unless he earns a reduction... or his numbers start rising much more than they are.....

When you say much more than they are now, what number should I be looking for? I am really hoping that Sammy will pretty much surf until PMPS today and we won't have to make a decision about going back to 1.75 units, but yesterday's PMPS was 132, and I think the main reason we were able to get back to the green was because fluids were given last night. Fluids won't be due again until tomorrow evening at the soonest.
 
Hard to say - I think it's definitely possible that the 2 cycles you had at 1.75 that both had a number in the upper 40's, could have been caused by the previous 2.0u dose. A larger dose can influence as many as 4-6 cycles, depending on the cat and the size of the dose. So you may have reduced a little too quickly, but . . .

His numbers aren't bad today - and they kinda look like a mini-bounce to me. If they keep rising to pmps, i might call it a little bounce and stick with the 1.5u until i could see the bounce has definitely cleared. Then I'd make my decision on whether or not to increase back to 1.75u based upon how low he got when the bounce cleared.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) Okay, I will just see where it goes today. I just remembered that the AM shot might have been a little skinny. I think I took out one drop too many when I was adjusting the dose and because the numbers have been much better I figured it probably wouldn't make too much difference, so maybe it really has made a difference. Maybe I should just stick with 1.5 units tonight, and make sure the dose is VERY accurate and if we don't see improvements again by tomorrow morning then maybe I can increase tomorrow.

It is funny how last weekend I was so happy to see blue and now when I see it I don't like it. LOL!

I just gave Sammy 2 tsp of 0% because he was hungry and the next MM wasn't due until +9 (1 hour from now), and I am wondering if that will have any affect on the BG.
 
Now we are at 212 at +10, I imagine we will be even higher at PMPS. Should I go ahead and increase back to 1.75 or stick with the 1.5 for another day to see if this is in fact a bounce.

This is the first YELLOW we have seen in a WEEK what is up with that.
 
I would stick with the 1.5 tonight

I think this may be a bounce from the fast drop last night as much as anything. He dropped from 132 to 65 in only 2 hours...that's a pretty fast drop
 
i agree with Chris. I'd hold and let the bounce clear - when you see if he can get back into greens again or not, that will tell you what to do with the dose.
 
I would stick with the 1.5 tonight

I think this may be a bounce from the fast drop last night as much as anything. He dropped from 132 to 65 in only 2 hours...that's a pretty fast drop

Thank you for pointed that out. I seem to be able to spot the mini-bounces due to the lows, but I didn't think about a bounce from dropping rapidly.

I will stick with the. 1.5 units tonight and hopefully we will make it back to GREEN by tomorrow. I won't expect much tonight, but will be extremely happy if we do make it back to GREEN tonight too.
 
Thank you for pointed that out. I seem to be able to spot the mini-bounces due to the lows, but I didn't think about a bounce from dropping rapidly.

That's one of the best things about this message board! Lots of people to look at spreadsheets and maybe catch something we didn't!

OK Sammy...you have your orders...Mama wants more green tonight...just don't drop all at once!! Spread it out a little!
 
@Chris & China I think I might have found another possible reason for the increase in BG today. At PMPS I fed Sammy the same food I had been feeding this morning, and at first he didn't want to eat it. But then he ate it and threw it up 30 minutes later. The can had probably been open for 3 maybe 4 days and I don't think it stays fresh that long. I threw the balance of the can out and opened some fresh food and he gobbled it down. I also marked the cans with the date and time I opened them, so I can be sure to throw out the left over after 48 hours. I always keep the food in the refrigerator, but I have heard that it only lasts a couple of days after being opened. Does anyone know what the shelf life is in the refrigerator, and does it improve if you store in a glass container? Whenever I store food in glass containers the leftovers seem to last forever.

Hopefully we will see some better numbers show up again tonight. But like you said we want the numbers to come down slowly.
 
I'm not sure about how long it will last but I'd be concerned about leaving it in a can for more than a day or two, refrigerator or not. I think you're right that stuff lasts longer and seems to stay better in glass than it does in metal or plastic

YEAH for GREEN!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top