2.28 Rufus AMPS 80 (NS), PMPS 136, +3 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
AMPS 80. Had to feed him, as he actually was actively looking to be fed for the first time in a couple days. Ate about 3/4 can of fancy feast. I'm not sure if it's worth a retest now that he ate, and I have to leave in 3 hours and will be gone for 4 hours.

And also, now earned yet another reduction?? How many reductions can you have? 1 a day? Is that ok?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...107-3-74-5-81-9-5-116-pmps-120-3-5-95.191805/
 
Boy, Rufus is really keeping everyone here on their toes :D!

Gosh...tough call on the shot once again. Since he is eating, but also since he's below 90 and you're SLGS, and you have to go out later.....I might be inclined to do a BCS (Big Chicken Shot - one-time reduced dose) of maybe 2U - of course with close monitoring until you leave. But, if you're more comfortable skipping or shooting less than 2U, that would be fine as well. Rufus has shown us that he has no problem getting back on track, that's for sure.

We usually don't like to take such rapid reductions; however, Rufus's circumstances are unique and of course his safety comes about all else. With that said....I'm not sure if you should permanently reduce again yet or not.

Hopefully others will weigh in in all counts.
 
Boy, Rufus is really keeping everyone here on their toes :D!

Gosh...tough call on the shot once again. Since he is eating, but also since he's below 90 and you're SLGS, and you have to go out later.....I might be inclined to do a BCS (Big Chicken Shot - one-time reduced dose) of maybe 2U - of course with close monitoring until you leave. But, if you're more comfortable skipping or shooting less than 2U, that would be fine as well. Rufus has shown us that he has no problem getting back on track, that's for sure.

We usually don't like to take such rapid reductions; however, Rufus's circumstances are unique and of course his safety comes about all else. With that said....I'm not sure if you should permanently reduce again yet or not.

Hopefully others will weigh in in all counts.
I did give him a pepcid and a cernia. Hopefully that gets him eating better today. I'll go retest now if above 100 I'll shoot a reduced. If below, think I'll skip.
 
I would skip because that is the lowest preshot you’ve had and you won’t be around to monitor. The cycle could still play out because of the depot. He will get back on track.

Is this the first time you’ve given the cerenia this go round or did you give it yesterday too? You think it’s working out?
 
I would skip because that is the lowest preshot you’ve had and you won’t be around to monitor. The cycle could still play out because of the depot. He will get back on track.

Is this the first time you’ve given the cerenia this go round or did you give it yesterday too? You think it’s working out?
Today id the 1st cerenia. He wasn't lip smacking this AM so I think the pepcid did the trick and is finally back in his system. I know wiyth him it takes a while to get back on track. Does Asia take a pepcid? I know on Tonya's site they give pepcid with CKD. Rufus has KD, but not sure how bad it is. The ultrasound says he does, but his numbers are generally pretty normal. Sooo not sure if he's needing the pepcid for the IBD or the CKD. I swear he's a puzzle.
 
Trix got Pepcid twice daily because of her tendency towards p-titis flares coupled with her advanced CKD. In perfect world, daily Pepcid isn't ideal, but when it comes to some of these conditions, it really is so helpful. I'm happy to hear Rufus isn't lip-smacking today.
 
Today id the 1st cerenia. He wasn't lip smacking this AM so I think the pepcid did the trick and is finally back in his system. I know wiyth him it takes a while to get back on track. Does Asia take a pepcid? I know on Tonya's site they give pepcid with CKD. Rufus has KD, but not sure how bad it is. The ultrasound says he does, but his numbers are generally pretty normal. Sooo not sure if he's needing the pepcid for the IBD or the CKD. I swear he's a puzzle.

I hope the cerenia works better this time, or at least works better with onda and Pepcid or whatever and no more lip smacking! No Pepcid for Asia. I don’t know which lab your vets use, but IDEXX has a test called SDMA that is more sensitive to early detection of kidney issues than creatinine, off the top of my head, something like creatinine goes up when 75% of function is gone and SDMA detects much sooner than that. They use it in conjunction with a urinalysis to see if specific gravity and protenuria support the finding. Cats sure are complicated! I hope your vet gives you some answers about the IBD findings. :bighug:
 
Trix got Pepcid twice daily because of her tendency towards p-titis flares coupled with her advanced CKD. In perfect world, daily Pepcid isn't ideal, but when it comes to some of these conditions, it really is so helpful. I'm happy to hear Rufus isn't lip-smacking today.
another thing bothering me about ultrasound. It says Pancreas - not noted. What does that mean? They weren't looking at it? Why wouldn't they. I was told before he had pancreatitus so why not look at it? I gave Rufus some deli turkey more then I should have last week, I wonder if that is causing the need for the pepcid. It's so strange the onda worked great up until dental and now it doesn't.
 
And also, now earned yet another reduction?? How many reductions can you have? 1 a day? Is that ok?
We don't typically do back to back reductions, because the depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. Having said that, something major shifted in Rufus after the dental and safety is number 1. I'd rather you go to a lower dose and see if you can hold it for a while without having to skip. Otherwise it'd just to hard to see what a good dose would be. In shorter words, I'd reduce to 3.0 units and see how he handles it. It's much easier to go back up if the dose is too low.
 
We don't typically do back to back reductions, because the depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. Having said that, something major shifted in Rufus after the dental and safety is number 1. I'd rather you go to a lower dose and see if you can hold it for a while without having to skip. Otherwise it'd just to hard to see what a good dose would be. In shorter words, I'd reduce to 3.0 units and see how he handles it. It's much easier to go back up if the dose is too low.
Sounds good. He's eating a bit better today so I'm curious if him not eating well lowered the dosage needs.
 
Well, vet tech for internist called me back tonight. Said that the Dr. did see thinkening of the walls of the intestines, but is not overly concerned herself right now seeing as Rufus has some food intolerance/allergies and we are not giving him a novel protein right now. I have a follow up visit on Monday so hopefully we can figure out exactly why is so nasuesous and how in the heck to get back to eating his novel proteins. So that was some good news for tonight. :) Oh, and he's only at 136 tonight after no am dose. He has been sleeping pretty much all day, so hopefully whatever is going on with him subsides soon.
 
Sigh. :banghead::banghead: 2.5 it is tomorrow. That might be too aggressive a reduction, but I'd really like you to not have to keep skipping shots. Rufus is breaking all the rules.:cat:
 
Sigh. :banghead::banghead: 2.5 it is tomorrow. That might be too aggressive a reduction, but I'd really like you to not have to keep skipping shots. Rufus is breaking all the rules.:cat:
And this is after (an hour earlier) having 5 treats and a couple good licks of some ice cream, because he was such a good boy today and hasn't had ice cream in a long time!
Im thinking I better get some late night early morning tests in.
 
Wow Sean, I just looked at Rufus's chart, what an incredible improvement, whew! I think the world of everyone here as they are more than willing to share their wisdom. I learn from reading posts when I am able to have the time to be on this forum-your chart is amazing! Keep on keeping on!
 
Thanks it is quite amazing! Its exciting and scary at the same time! I keep saying if only Rufus could have had his dental done earlier!
 
Hah, Amen to that! It is only through the people here that I have been able to shoot <100 and not be scared stiffless! Yes, I think I have made up that word after dealing with Dante's diabetes and heart failure, so I hear ya'!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top