2/28 Purrdy AMPS 166 +3 133 +4.5 140 PMPS 130 increased +2 137 +4 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap
AMPS 149
+3 126
+5 130
PMPS 128
+4 103

Looks like Purrdy has reverted to blues AGAIN. My question is how long does it take the depot to fill? I have it in my head that it's only 6 cycles. If that is the case, and given that Purrdy is not a bouncer I wonder why, even though he's seeing greens, that I wait 10 cycles to increase. I'm wondering if there's any reason that I shouldn't increase say after 8 cycles this time (2 more cycles) to try and shake him out of this pattern. It seems to me that he's already showing that this isn't going to be 'the dose'. I note that he's due to fly back to Melbourne in two weeks so if we're going to try anything different like that probably best we do it now. Will also accept fresh deliveries of patience pants :rolleyes:

Vyktor's appy improved last night and this morning has been good - but mostly on fish :confused: I did take him for a weigh in yesterday and he hasn't lost any further weight from 6 weeks ago :) and he's just pooped which is on schedule for his every second day. Interestingly he always has a big drink right after he's pooped, don't know if that suggests anything of significance - ha ha ha always noting the patterns and looking for those things to mean something! I'm also wondering if he might be so into the fish (which he doesn't usually get much of) because he's now associating all his regular foods with digestive issues - that will be a problem as I don't have the big selection of LC that most of you guys do and there's really no where else for me to go :banghead:

Go Blackie go :D:D:D:D:D:D:D
 
Since Purrdy is getting into greens on this dose, we like to hold it for at least 8-10 cycles.

If the depot "gets ahead of you", it can lead to Purrdy going way too low and you having to work pretty hard to keep him above 50, so it's best to give it a little more time before increasing.

If he's still not where you want him to be after 8 cycles, you could increase then
 
The patterns that purrdy has with dose increases suggest to me that he's got some insulin resistance going on. When you have that circumstance, it can be helpful to be more aggressive with dosing. If he were mine, that's what I'd do. I would increase at 6 cycles this time.

That's my 2 cents worth. Perhaps there will be some other opinions, too.
 
The TR protocol states:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
To my eye, the issue is whether you consider Purrdy as "...new to numbers under 200." Purrdy has been in blues since December. I think you could increase the dose in 3 days if you thought it was reasonable to do so.
 
I agree with Julie - it looks like something is preventing Purrdy from holding onto those greens. He first starting seeing them at 1.5U and doesn't look much different at this dose. Might be time to be a bit more aggressive - given how much you test. How are his eyes looking?

Are there raw food options for Vyktor? I know you'd find that a bit hard to handle, but sometimes a complete change is good.
 
Thank you ladies, I've been wondering about some sort of insulin resistance thing going on with him myself and my gut has been telling me for a while that I need to be more aggressive with him so now that I have the blessings it's on!

His eyes have been good, except yesterday there was a slight discharge from the right eye (that I've just realised I forgot to note on his spreadsheet - will fix that up) so I gave both eyes a light saline wash. It was so slight it's not something I would have noticed particularly except that I have been keeping a close eye on his eyes. Again this morning looks like there's been maybe half a tear or something so I will repeat the saline wash today and also give his floor a wash as it's probably getting a little dusty in there with him kicking the litter around so much. No pusiness, extra blinking, squinting, sensitivity to light or anything like that.

I definitely couldn't cope with making Vyktor raw from scratch and none of the ones on the market here claim to be complete foods, except one and that one contains fruit and vegetables and is the same mix for dogs and cats so that doesn't seem right. I was thinking of trying him on eggs but bless his little socks this morning he has eaten (upon home delivery and making quite the mess on the carpet with it :rolleyes:) about a quarter tin of ZiwiPeak that doesn't contain fish. So far this morning we are on track for what he should eat in a day anti-jinx!
 
Gosh I just thought he would start to likr a dose and start pumping out the greens but it does look like he's kind of spinning his wheels. I hope a little more aggressive dosing will help.

So throw away those patience pants!! Good luck with the Increase.
 
I am much better at throwing them away than putting them on - guess I'm just a naturalist at heart ;)

Here's hoping for a bit of traction in the green zone, and that I might get to wear the special pjs that I bought in preparation for Purrdy pyjama parties before he goes home, work that juice Purrdy!
 
So throw away those patience pants!! Good luck with the Increase.

*rubbing my eyes with closed fists* Did I really just read that? Serryn, you get to toss those pants? Go for it!!!!

And Mr. Purrdy. You better go for it, too. Green, ya' hear. Green.

Nice job with with morning food today, Vyktor. See, it's easy. Open mouth. Grab food. Chew, a bit. Swallow. Keep it up now.

Marilyn and Polly
 
So throw away those patience pants!! Good luck with the Increase.

Whoo! Hoo!!! Patience pants throwing party!!!!! If Eddie ever goes OTJ, I think I may just burn a pair of pants in celebration. ;)

It's always been my understanding that the hold for 8-10 cycles was more or less to allow time for a kitty that's newish to those lower numbers to finish up any bouncing before moving on to the next dose, so that makes sense to me to be able to move forward with increases a little faster for flat, non-bouncy Purrdy.

Good luck with the dosecrease Serryn! Purrdy....time to work that extra juice. Flat is nice, but you're aiming for flat GREEN, not flat blue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top