2/28 Ozzy AMPS 362, PMPS 287, +3 215 Hubby Double Dosed Again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Ozzy started high today which kind of made me disappointed, however, neither Hubby or I can monitor at all this cycle (not even +1). So I guess you shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth.

Plus, imagine how happy Ozzy will be that he won't have a single ear poke for 12 hours.

Hope all the beans and kitties are having a good day.

gifthorse.jpg
 
Running late tonight and stuck in awful LA traffic, on phone with Hubby and he says he is going to do Ozzy's shot but doesnt say when until he is already done. Again- no questions asked. So I ask him to describe how many lines on the syringe (he is using the correct ones this time) and he days 4! .25 for each line!!! :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::banghead::banghead: So he just gave Ozzy 1.5 units which is double his dose. And he is not even on a line measurement- he is inbetween the lines! :facepalm::facepalm:

Poor Hubby is trying to help but I am not sure I can trust him with the needle anymore. And I REALLY want the help! I really NEED the help.

Ozzy got low carb for his dinner before the shot. Should we just give him HC at next meal? Now? He has been nadiring later in cycles (around +8) and no way I can stay up that late tonight.

Frustrated....:(:blackeye: Hoping for another non event and skipping shot in am. Or maybe he will do fantastic on this dose. I don't know!
 
Okay. You know what to do. Breathe it will be okay. Maybe tomorrow or next day. Really spend time teaching hubby how to do it. Use colored water in an old syringe to practice drawing it up. When was the last time hubby had his eyes checked? Or maybe a magnifying glass would help.
 
Honestly- I have showed him multiple times and even had him spot check my .75u a couple times this week to make sure I was half way in between the lines. He has seen .75 many times. We have a magnifying head lamp with a light that we both use. He just slipped up this time. It was an accident but I don't want these accidents to keep happening. Will start having him do it while I watch ( which kind of defeats the purpose of the help when I am not here) but will continue to train him. He is trying and wanting to help so I appreciate it so much. I know others may not have any help even with live in family members. We will get there. Just venting.
 
Jo, Ozzy will be fine and this WILL be a non event. My prayer is for you and sweet Hubby's peace and Ozzy's non event response. You are deserving of all as u love and care for he and Figgie . Job very well done ,Jo ....holding u all close in heart and prayers :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Jo, just a thot but I literally would use a marker to mark my syringes , especially morning ones,...don't know if that might not help ....
 
Jo - sorry you are going through this again. :bighug: I really liked using calipers because once I had them set and locked into the dose, my DH just drew up what the calipers said was the right dose.

I wouldn't fill Ozzy up with HC just yet. Let's see what the next tests show.
 
Was at pet food store stalking up. Just got a +1.20 and he's at 280. Not much movement yet. Ozzy and Figgie were both hungry again so gave them a little more LC.
 
I read the posts awhile back on the calipers and wasn't too sure on how you actually measure out the insulin to determine the width on the calipers to get the correct dose. Sounded like you needed to test multiple syringes for variance or something. Need to re-read that again. The beginning of times is info overload.

Good suggestion on marking the syringes Beth.

Thanks ladies!
 
I read the posts awhile back on the calipers and wasn't too sure on how you actually measure out the insulin to determine the width on the calipers to get the correct dose. Sounded like you needed to test multiple syringes for variance or something. Need to re-read that again. The beginning of times is info overload.

Good suggestion on marking the syringes Beth.

Thanks ladies!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Joanna! Yikes on the overdose - just keep an eye on things. You know what to do. I think I would draw up the dose with colored water (coffee, tea, etc.) in a used syringe, label it and keep it. Do one for 0.5u and one for 0.75u - then if you have a different dose do one for that too. Tape it to the inside of your kitchen cupboard door so he can compare to it if he has to shoot again.

Regarding your comments last night about the ear - I wondered, are you using straight antibiotic ointment or one with a pain killer in it? We used Neosporin ointment with Pain Relief and after 2.5 years of daily poking - rarely as much as 20 times in a day - Punkin's ear never showed any evidence of damage. Every vet would look at his ear to check it and comment that it looked like it was untouched. We learned on his left ear and scarred it. After 6 months we switched to the right ear and never used his left ear again, so all the poking was done on his right ear for the next 2 years. We cut paper towels into small rectangles to stop the bleeding. We had a salad bowl that we kept all the supplies in by the sofa, and had a handful of those paper towel bits in it. After poking, wrapped it around his ear edge, applied pressure for at least 10 seconds - which was all punkin would tolerate before he was going for his chicken treat. Every night when we were done for the day, I put a generous amount of the Neosporin ointment on his ear for it to heal overnight. By morning it was like new again. I wiped off the excess ointment and started over again.

Remind yourself that the poking is what is keeping Ozzy safe. There isn't any other way to know what's going on in his little body except through these tests. A few years ago MIT grad students were working on a tattoo that would show blood sugar - wouldn't that be great!?!

He is still very early in the dance - there is still plenty of time for him to go OTJ, if it's possible for him. When the blood sugar is in normal range, that's when the opportunity exists for the pancreas to heal and begin putting out insulin again, if the damage isn't too great. The thing is that many cats have other issues going on and sometimes those prevent a kitty from going OTJ. We never know which cats can and which can't. I sure hoped for it, but Punkin had acromegaly and it wasn't to be. Still, we had 2.5 more years of life with him than we would have if we hadn't given him insulin, so it was well worth it. Every day is a gift, even if they don't go OTJ. I understand though - I've seen lots of kitties go OTJ since we got here and it's a bit bittersweet when it's not your kitty. Always glad for the cats who do, but wish all of them would.

Anyway, there's a few random thoughts from me. I hope tonight ends up being a non-event. Just keep monitoring - sometimes overdose effects show up with increased numbers later, so if he's high that may explain it.
 
+3 215. This overdosed cycle is different than last time. The last one he stayed high and flat in the pinks for the entire cycle. This time he is dropping but not fast. As mentioned above, he has been trending towards later nadirs (around +8). Maybe we should put some MC food in auto feeder for later in cycle. Both kitties have been pretty hungry tonight and have already eaten 3xs in 3 hours. About 9 oz of LC chicken between the two of them. They would normally have had 2 meals by now. Gotta lay off the feeding in case we need to feed Ozzy more later. I am going to stay up for another 90 mins and see how he does. He is known to cry or jump on my pillow and lick my face to wake me up if he is hungry in the middle of the night.

So should we skip the shot in the am? I am at work and won't be able to monitor.
 
Any chance you can set an alarm to test later in the pm cycle?

Not sure what to suggest about morning - you'll want to see how this cycle plays out. I think my rule of thumb in this case would be that if I had any doubt, I'd be conservative on the dosing, especially since no one would be able to monitor.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) Thanks for your comments, tips, and encouragement. I really appreciate it. We have been using the regular ointment not the one with pain relief. Is it bad for them to lick it off (using their paws)? This has always been my concern- him ingesting the ointment with the pain meds in it. We do put it on every night. Some days his ears look better than others. We also have a tendency to poke through the ear because its so thin at the tips. Any tips on ways to avoid this??

I am so sorry you lost your sweet Punkin. He looks like he was a big ball of love. The orange tabbys are so special aren't they!!? He is living on through his bean by helping other kitties and beans. Thank you both!!:bighug:
 
Yes- can set an alarm. Should make Hubby get up and test him since he is the one who put us in this situation. Might make him check, double check, and triple check the dose (like I do) before shooting next time.
 
Punkin didn't lick it off his ears, so I don't really know. I wouldn't want Ozzy to be eating it, but if he'll leave it alone, I don't think just being on his ears would be a problem. Not sure how to answer that, but it worked for us.

Punkin was the best cat ever. You know the one - the heart kitty that loves you like you're his mama. If you want to admire my sweetie (hahaha) you can look at pictures in his profile. When his thyroid went kaput following the SRT for his acromegaly tumor, his hair fell out in great gobs, but before that he looked very regal and lion-like. There's a few good pics in there. But you don't have to, lol.

Hope you can get enough sleep tonight.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) I have already checked out Punkin's profile. You can definately see his acro changes over the years in your pics. I like to look at most people's kitties that I follow. I love to see the photos and hear their stories. I really wish more people would post pics of their kitties that we read about every day and form a cyber bond with them and their beans.

Ozzy is crying and wanting food again. Decided to test him again (only 30 mins later) and he dropped another 45 points in 30 mins. +3.5= 170. I definately think this is going to be an active cycle (vs non event) :(

Probably will feed him some MC at his 10pm snack to try to prevent him from going too low later while we are sleeping.

On past cycles where he has dropped low, he was always hungry and wanted to eat a lot even before his numbers showed up low on the meter. Almost like he knows its coming. I am getting that feeling tonight.
 
Running late tonight and stuck in awful LA traffic, on phone with Hubby and he says he is going to do Ozzy's shot but doesnt say when until he is already done. Again- no questions asked. So I ask him to describe how many lines on the syringe (he is using the correct ones this time) and he days 4! .25 for each line!!! :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::banghead::banghead: So he just gave Ozzy 1.5 units which is double his dose. And he is not even on a line measurement- he is inbetween the lines! :facepalm::facepalm:

Poor Hubby is trying to help but I am not sure I can trust him with the needle anymore. And I REALLY want the help! I really NEED the help.

Ozzy got low carb for his dinner before the shot. Should we just give him HC at next meal? Now? He has been nadiring later in cycles (around +8) and no way I can stay up that late tonight.

Frustrated....:(:blackeye: Hoping for another non event and skipping shot in am. Or maybe he will do fantastic on this dose. I don't know!
Aw, poor hubby, trying to be helpful. MAAAYYYBEE this would work...keep a current close-up pic on the frig (or a bulletin board) of a syringe filled with the current dose. You could even use colored water? Just brain storming.

Hoping Ozzy slows down with some food help.
 
+4.5= 142. He is doing pretty good so far. Dropping steady but slow. Having another LC snack before bed now and one more defrosting in auto feeder for 1am.

Maybe he actually needs a higher dose??
 
Wouldn't you also see effects tomorrow of higher dose?
Jo, just reading your condo from yesterday. I have been absent, too, and I am feeling exactly as you describe. Deflated, and worried. Aside some a rare green, we have been mostly yellow for weeks. I worry so much about the effects of being in higher numbers for so long.

About the poking...what gauge of lancets are you using? I use 33 (micro fine) and there is no evidence of poking and I don't think Taffy feels a thing. I am usually pretty good at using a very light, fast poke (imagine being like the lancet device, try it on your self to see how light the poke is). Sometimes, I do have to poke more than once, but he doesn't seem to feel it.
 
Okay, now I'm questioning my recommendation to keep DH. :rolleyes: Just kidding. Bless his heart for trying so hard to help. :bighug:

It's possible he needed a dosecrease (although maybe not quite that much), so you might not see anything too alarming tonight. The fact that he's dropping so slowly is very encouraging.
 
I write down current dose on a sticky and keep it taped to the window sill right where I prepare the food/syringe.

Use calipers. Makes it a no brainer for hubby to know how much to give. Calipers are locked on current dose.

These men need no brainer solutions-lol. :bighug::banghead:

Watch the next couple of cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top