2/28 Noodle AMPS 85 BCS +1 132 +5 382 +9 379 PMPS 434 +2 362 +5 287

Status
Not open for further replies.
Really Noodle you had to do that on an unmonitorable morning!

I really hate to suggest a skip but the times that you have shot Noodle when she's been sliding down like that she's gone pretty low and a BCS can't be relied on to offset that. If you do go the BCS I would definitely leave out HC. Does she normally free feed or is she likely to scoff it down all at once, if she does free feed have you noticed that she does start feeding herself when she gets low?
 
So I just gave .25U, didn't want to stall to terribly long and I really didn't want to risk more pinks that take weeks to break. :banghead:

She normally eats meals/snacks in one sitting, but hasn't been eating as fast lately. She eats very well when she's low and I offer. I'm thinking I'll leave HC in a few places when I have to go, or just bail on my planned run if it comes down to it. (Though, 18 miles alone tomorrow sounds like torture.)

(Just had her most normal poo in days, too! Greens, poo, she must have read "vet" in her condo yesterday!)
 
I'm guessing you don't have a timed feeder or foodsicles ready?

I love it when they read their condo! Yay for normal poo!
 
I'm guessing you don't have a timed feeder or foodsicles ready?
Nope :banghead: I tried foodsicles for the first time yesterday actually, didn't make more than one because it was just an experiment.

There are a few places she's used to getting food in the past and I know she goes looking in those spots when she's hungry and it's not time for a meal. It should work to show her where the extra plates are and let her do the rest.
 
if she's not going to run around scarfing it all at once that should do the job just leave plenty
Do you think HC or a mix? I've always brought her up with a MC mix. I don't think she'll do it all at once, she doesn't seem too famished this morning, eating breakfast slowly.

Instead of BOS for shooting green, do we get aluminum foil balls for a BCS?
TinBalls_600.jpg
 
A HC mix then, because you're not there to watch it's better to have more carbs than less, the carbs will wash out soon enough.

Ha ha ha, they're some pretty manky balls!!! Such a shame she did this when you can't be there to monitor so shoot for the balls of steel - typical cat!
 
A HC mix then, because you're not there to watch it's better to have more carbs than less, the carbs will wash out soon enough.
Gotcha! Thanks for the advice. :bighug:

Seems like her breakfast brought her up nicely. She's currently pouting that she can't eat all the Fortiflora at once: stares at her food dish, stares at the box, stares at me, repeat. :rolleyes:
 
Back up for +5 as expected with the BCS and HC I left out. It's ok, gives me the leeway to step out to restock strips and grocery shop for myself today. (What, mom? You need human fud? I thought all the fuds were for me! -Noodle) I have all evening and both cycles tomorrow to really monitor and help her surf this dose!
 
Do you mean she ate the HC you left out?

How AWESOME to see Noodle have a green preshot! Even if the timing sucked and you couldn't take advantage of it - still - it's great progress!

You would stick with this dose since she didn't go below 50 - and it's great to see her responding to it. Can you tell I'm excited for you? Finally some better numbers!

To prepare yourself for shooting low, which means shooting the full dose into normal numbers, I've got a little reading for you. :) Shooting low can be a huge game-changer for the better.

Take a look at the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky, especially the "becoming Data Ready" part.
On the "Where Can I Find?" post, look at the bottom "interesting past posts" section for 2 posts:
...."Shooting Low" and
...."Tight Regulation Protocol: Myths Debunked" look for the part on shooting a dropping number.
 
Thanks, @julie & punkin (ga) ! I'm thrilled, too! I was disappointed I couldn't shoot and monitor today, but I'm glad I at least tried the BCS dose and at least gave her some insulin rather than being a bigger chicken and skipping. I really didn't want her to go totally without insulin this morning.

She did eat the HC, I mixed 3oz HC + 1.5oz LC and split it between 4 bowls in a few spots she likes then showed her each before I left. She ate roughly one and a half bowls while I was gone. I'm going to make foodsicles today with LC + a few with HC mixed in for the future since she did eat the one I left out yesterday. I'll experiment with a timed feeder soon, but I want to try that while I'm here so I can see if she actually eats as it goes off!

I plan on rereading most of that, thanks for pointing out the "Shooting Low" post, too. I've read the other two several times, but missed that one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top