2/28 Maggie: AMPS 277 + 2 300 + 4 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyMaggie

Member Since 2014
So we started out in the average range we have been seeing over the last couple days but her next reading 2 hours later was higher? Now I am doubting if I got the 1 unit in properly this morning?

She hardly ate this morning, eating 1/4 of a can of Friskies Chicken Pate.

However, we had a rough day at the vets this morning getting her fluids. I think she has had enough of being poked, stuffed into her crate and bothered by people pinning her down to examine her (even though people are only trying to help, if only I could explain that to her). I could hear her crying in the back room of the vets office today and she did BITE someone :( I am not sure if it was Dr. Gill or one of the nurses.

Maybe the higher number at +2 could be stress induced?

My son is very entertaining today and requires every ounce of my attention so I am working on the spreadsheet! Hoping to have it up soon!

I am going to give Maggie some time to rest and check her at + 4
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie: AMPS 277 + 2 300

Hi and welcome to FDMB. :YMHUG: It is very normal for the +2 test to be higher than the preshot. Maggie ate after the preshot test and the last dose of insulin is wearing off, the new one hasn't kicked in yet. Also meters are only accurate to +/- 20% and there is less than 10% difference in the two tests.

Are the fluids a regular thing for Maggie? It isn't that hard to learn how to do it yourself and it's a lot cheaper and less stressful for the cat.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie: AMPS 277 + 2 300

Maggie was just diagnosed this week, and she was dehydrated. Our vet had me bring her in the past 4 days for fluids but we are done after today.

Well that makes me feel better that this is common, and I will continue to monitor her through today. I still have a lot to learn so thanks so much for the help!!

*** These numbers are moving VERY slowly today!*** But she is NOT in a good mood today and seems very agitated!!
 
I am really wondering if I did not get her insulin in properly this morning? these numbers are not changing much!

Maybe she needs the PM shot even if it is lower?
 
Aw, poor Maggie probably is feeling pretty stressed. She'll be happy to realize that she is done with the vetty visits, but in the future if she needs fluids, it would definitely be a good idea to try doing them at home...it'll keep her stress levels down.

When you ask if she needs a PM shot...have you not been shooting in the evenings? If that's the case, Lantus does work best when it is shot on a 12/12 twice a day dosing schedule, and if you haven't been doing evening shots, that could be part of why her numbers aren't budging.

Sometimes kitties just do have flat days, too. One thing about feline diabetes...it's not uncommon for things to be inconsistent, even if what you feed her and what you dose her IS consistent.

I know your hands are full with the baby, but it will be easier to see what's going on with Maggie once you do get her spreadsheet up.
 
Poor Maggie, some kitties do get a lot stressed at the vet. One time my civie had to be seen by a male vet :shock: instead of the usual lady and his blood sugar was almost 200. I tested him at home the next day in the 50's.

I agree with Amy, Lantus works best given every 12 hours. Sometimes cats just have flat cycles which is what this is within meter variance. The meter manufacturers are allowed by law to be up to 20% off. I'd give insulin as normal tonight unless something changes a lot between now and then.
 
We really need to get a SS set up for Maggie. It's very difficult for us to give dosing suggestions if we can't see the cycles because we look at the waves of action. We don't just look at the current numbers.

We're happy to help and I can do one for you in no time at all if you will private message me :-D
 
I agree with Marje. I don't feel comfortable offering any input regarding dosing without having a spreadsheet. It's too easy to give misinformation or make a recommendation that could ultimately harm Maggie without having a means of seeing what the effect of the insulin is.
 
Hi Amber :-D
Yay for Maggie that the stressful vetty visits are over nailbite_smile
And great work on getting those tests done for her bg's (please do pm Marje to get the spreadsheet up and running, she's very quick at it :-D ). I believe you skipped a night shot before due to low numbers and with Maggie being new to insulin..not knowing how she would react. Once the members can see how she reacted to the skip, and other times of the day, they will be able to help you with dosing. Rule #1-Keep kitty safe!
Hope you're having a great Friday and getting lots of quality time with your little man :cool:
 
just wanted to add my welcome! you've gotten lots of good information already. sometimes when a lot of info comes at you (and this learning curve is very steep at the beginning) it helps to go back and reread posts at the end of the day.

Maggie will get more stable. As you learn more and there is more data for us to look at, you'll get to a good dose and then you'll see improvement. be encouraged - this takes a bit to learn!
 
Amber, here is the link to yesterday's condo. We like to include a link back so people can follow what was suggested before. Just go to you old condo, select and copy the URL address, then select the URL button when you are composing, and paste the link in there.

I'd like to chime in with the others to let Marje help you put together the spreadsheet, She really is very quick at it. Just go to her posting, and below Gracie's picture is a little PM icon. Click on that and you'll be get to the page where you can send PMs (private messages).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top