2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +6 94, PMPS 240, +1 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Good Morning Relaxed Lantus Land,

I thought we would post over here today and see what this group is like. We've been following the tight protocol since dx (Kismet was dx in September and went OTJ in October, but now, we're back). I am not really sure what the difference is between the lantus groups... I know how TR works, but I was hoping one of you would be kind enough to explain how RR works.

Yesterday's Condo
AMPS 177
+1--- 227
+2--- 202
+3--- 191
+5.5--211
+11--- 172
PMPS- 162
+2--- 213

Today, 2/28
AMPS 178
+2--- 166
+4--- 110
+5--- 104
+6--- 94
+7--- 101
+10-- Asthma Attack 1 puff albuterol
PMPS 240
+1--- 309
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178

Well I will try..

Basically RL is SLGS (Start Low and Go Slow) as far as insulin goes. We tend to hold a dose longer than the TR group, we don't test as many times a day or have all the rules about posting. Otherwise we still follow the same guidelines as to when to lower or raise a dose number wise. Just instead of testing a ton of times of day, most of us tend to test on preshots, a nadir on a cycle and a before bed "lights out" test.

As far as posting goes, since we are fairly small we don't really care if you start a new post everyday, or even post everyday. If you need help post, if everything is going fine, no problem if we don't hear from you for a couple of days.

Alot of the time if everything is going fine with the kitties we are just chatting over here.. Everyone has an equal voice, regardless of how long you have been around if you have tips, tricks or suggestions chime in. In other words there are no "experts" just a bunch of folks helping each other to help their sugarcats...some just have more dosing experience than others, but we all have a wealth of cat knowledge from years and years of loving the little fur balls...lol

I guess the easiest way to sum it all up, is we are what happens if Health, TR Lantus and Community had a child...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178

BTW beautiful amps this morning! Hopefully Kismet will come down nice and easy for you today...I did learn the hard way sometimes paint fumes will make their BGs rise slightly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178

Hi, Mel! Thanks so much for that explanation... it's more or less what I thought. I think RR might be right for us, since both DH and I have very busy work schedules. I've been trying to get lot of spot checks (still working out the right dose... right now we are still in micro-doses) and we don't get a lot of PM numbers because it is in the dead of the night for us. Kismet is on a 10am/10 pm schedule. I am a graduate student / teaching assistant; I teach two classes and am taking four, so I am out of the house most days for 12 hours. I've been coming home on lunch breaks, and in between classes breaks, but it's not something that I will be able to continue doing for long. I've missed several of my classes, and cancelled one of the ones I teach just so I could stay home and monitor him. :?
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178

Ahh, yes. He is a dual diagnosis, too. He also has asthma, and there seems to be a correlation between his asthma flares and high bg numbers. I've been keeping him upstairs and away from the fumes, so hopefully we won't have any problems.
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178

If you look at Autumn's spreadsheet I have very few pm numbers because my schedule is just too tight to stick them in. Morning starts here at 6:20 am on a good day...lol And at nearly 50 with 14 cats, 1 dog and a DH that is a roofer and both needing to get sleep I just can't justify driving us crazy with a ton of tests all night long unless I'm looking at a hypo situation.

Plus if you know it is a bounce or they are just plain running high for the day, testing every 3 hours isn't going to tell you anything you don't already know, so save the strips for when you really need them.

Basically we test enough to make sure they are safe and run a curve when time allows like a day off or on a weekend etc. But yep we are for those of us that have lives that make TR difficult.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178

Sounds good! Wow, 14 cats! Kismet is an only child, and even keeping up with him is challenging enough so I can't imagine... My DH is a professor at the same university, so he has a weird schedule, too. We've tried to work it out so that at least one of us will be home sometime between +4 and +7 to get a mid spot check. Kismet has been doing very well so far, and we've only had to do serious curves when we first started him back on the insulin (if you look at my ss, you will see we started with .25u and it was too much) but now we are slowly working our way back up to the .25u. It's so weird... .25u is too much, but 1 drop is too little ohmygod_smile Not that I am complaining, I hope this means we will get OTJ eventually.

Thanks again for the warm welcome! I look forward to getting to know everyone in RL :)
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +2 166, +4 110, +5 104

woohoo! We made the green lagoon. I guess the dosecrease is exactly what he needed :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +2 166, +4 110, +5 104, +6 94

Go Kismet Go

I so love his name, and well that he is a big fluffy black boy...swoon. I miss my black guy so much we lost him to cancer in November.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +2 166, +4 110, +5 104, +6 94

Wow! great numbers there Kismet! dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +2 166, +4 110, +5 104, +6 94

Well, Kismet had an asthma attack this evening and DH was home and able to give him a puff of his rescue inhaler. We had workmen over this morning painting the downstairs bathroom, and he was a little wheexy this morning, so this is not entirely unexpected. Up until today, we had gone 11 days without an asthma incident. I am going to test him in 15 minutes for his PMPS, and I am hoping that his bg won't be high due to the stress. He is acting totally normal now, poor baby.
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +2 166, +4 110, +5 104, +6 94

Poor baby glad daddy was around with the inhaler. That is one thing I haven't had to deal with is asthma but I know paint fumes will send my allergies into fits. Lord knows I've done my share of other things with cats...lol I've tube fed, given fluids, shots, pills, liquid meds, and well tested BGs..but asthma is not one of them <knock wood>.

Crossing fingers and toes he gives you good numbers tonight.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +6 94, PMPS 240

Yeah, it stinks. We got the asthma dx just over a week before we got the diabetes dx. He went into remission with both at the same time, and both came back at the same time :sad: There is a correlation between the two, though I don't know which condition triggers the other.

His PMPS is 240, though this is not entirely surprising as he had just had an attack two hours prior. The asthma attacks can make his bg jump up as much as 200 points, so he may have been even higher.

Knock on wood that it is never something you have to deal with, too! It's scary, and just as serious a condition as diabetes. Poor Kis, and he is so young, too. Only 3 years old.
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +6 94, PMPS 240

I bet it is scary and so young too. Poor little guy. Maxwell has a mild case I think but his is more seasonal and it doesn't bother him alot but he will cough in the spring like he is trying to bring up a hairball, but not bring anything up. But usually goes away once we close up the windows and go to AC.

That's not a terrible pmps considering all he went through today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/28 Kismet AMPS 178, +6 94, PMPS 240

Some cats can take zyrtec or benadryl for seasonal allergies. That might be something you look into for Maxwell when he flares up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top