2/28 Junior AMPS 226 w/freedom meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64814

Good morning, to all who answered me!

I am so sorry to, my poor little guy, it is like starting all over again...

DH did this AM test with the Freedom, he wasn't home last night to find out what I was trying to do. on his S.S. today you will see the numbers for the comparison testing between the 2 meters, Relion showed much higher numbers.

should I increase his insulin right away, or do some more evening tests first?

I am at work, and will keeep my page on for the day..
Thnaks for any and all help..Junior says purr too!
 
Hi guys .. you and junior will be alright :-D I don't have any insulin advice but others will be by soon and can hopefully answer that .. have a great day guys!
 
Hi Kay,

I just read yesterday's condo. We got caught up in that whole meter mess too. It's a heart breaker! :evil: I don't give dosing advice, but I'm sure someone with more experience will be checking in on you. :YMHUG:
 
Thanks Linda & Peter,

I hope it is not to much of a setback, it will be a year in June he was diagnosed.

His vet never mentioned meter checks, she wants to increase his insulin and put him on something called Gymnema & Corn Silk Liquid...I looked it up, not impressed, but there is alot of info on it...

We will be testing using the Relion, and the numbers will be high, or higher than before, but more true.

So we here we go again!

Junior says hello to all!
 
wish we had better news for you.

i switched on 1/22 - you can look at punkin's ss the week before and then on 1/22 see the sudden HORRIBLE numbers. i simply ditched the freestyle lite, went with the other meter, and didn't look back.

mark it on junior's ss. then begin following the protocol. look at the nadirs and increase as it recommends according to how high the nadirs are. you can post and ask for dose advice if you want, of course, especially if you think you're seeing a bounce but aren't sure. add a ? to your post icon and put "dose advice?" or something like that in your subject line.

but basically, you're simply going to increase according to the protocol until you're having better numbers.

Tight Regulation Protocol

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

edited to add (we cross-posted) - kay i would be reluctant to add things into the mix. junior is really not on much insulin. 1.0 isn't much.

But one thing is critical: you don't know how low the dose is taking him. in order to change the dose, you've got to know that - and it means mid-cycle checks. in order to follow the tight regulation protocol, you have to get a mid-cycle every day and every evening. if you can't get the mid-day ones because of work, the evening ones become even more critical. a lot of cats go lower at night than during the day. without knowing how low he's going you really can't follow the protocol because it would be putting junior in danger.

at this point, he's still a newly diagnosed cat and is a great candidate for the TR protocol - but you would be sick if he were hurt by giving him insulin. the mid-cycle tests are your only way to protect your little guy.

if you are following the SLGS protocol, that's different - but it still requires monitoring. the dose increases i quote above assume you are testing mid-cycles.

let us know what you're wanting to do so we can give you the correct advice for your situation. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Kay,

Sorry the meter is off, but at least now you know and can move forward!

I saw that you were only able to get a +2 last night, I was hoping for a test closer to mid cycle to see how much he's dropping but I saw the note about vertigo....yikes, not fun! My gut feeling is that Junior has room for a dose increase, but I'm not comfortable suggesting it without the data to support it. Can you try again tonight?
 
Hello, Kay & Junior!!

Binks and I love our Relion Micro...
and hoping that Junior gets back on track right away. :-D

It's good to see you...
I've been a little scarce on the forum lately, so haven't had a chance to visit over on Relaxed Lantus. :sad:

celi
 
Hi Celi,

We have been scarce also, we had been visiting on relaxed lantus due to to many things to go into!

Hope we do get back on track as soon as possible , and hope we love our relion as much as you and Binks!

Junior says Hi!

and to Laurie, only got the 2+ last night, came to work today for meds and computer, will defintely do more tonite, his 6pm, a 2+, and a 4+, see how the med goes and try for a 6+ also, otherwise mid cycle might have to wait til the weekend, which this weekend will be difficult, DH's fathers Anniversary Mass is this Sunday in mass, trying to figure out feedings and shots so I can go with him.

and anyone else I missed, Thanks for all your help, will stay open til 4.00pm today.

thankyou, thankyou, thankyou!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top