2/28 | Jude: AMPS 99; +1.5 103; +4 73; +6 87; +9 99; PMPS 123; +3 102

Yep! Crazy right?! Five days three reductions??!
Yay! Good luck on the reduction! Unrelated, I dislike shooting anything that's .25 because it's so inaccurate on the syringe. Now, that said, I will not mind shooting anything under 1u, including a drop, if I could have the great luck to get my boy back into remission.
 
Yay! Good luck on the reduction! Unrelated, I dislike shooting anything that's .25 because it's so inaccurate on the syringe. Now, that said, I will not mind shooting anything under 1u, including a drop, if I could have the great luck to get my boy back into remission.
Totally agree! I've been second guessing myself if I gave him too much a few days ago to start all this or a fat dose today or got him in the muscle?... these numbers with 2 reductions and a skipped dose?

Hoping for a remission party for us both (anti-jinx!)! :bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
 
Totally agree! I've been second guessing myself if I gave him too much a few days ago to start all this or a fat dose today or got him in the muscle?... these numbers with 2 reductions and a skipped dose?

Hoping for a remission party for us both (anti-jinx!)! :bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
ANTI-JINX!!!

We could always get calipers, I suppose. I've looked at others' conversations about using them, but it sounds like something I'd have to learn, and my toleration for learning one more thing about FD right now is low.
 
ANTI-JINX!!!

We could always get calipers, I suppose. I've looked at others' conversations about using them, but it sounds like something I'd have to learn, and my toleration for learning one more thing about FD right now is low.
Hahaha thank you for the relatable laugh! I'm wound so figgin FD tight right now it's crazy. It's like every day is a new day, and everything I thought I knew yesterday, is no good for today! Haha

I may ask for caliper advice eventually, that is a good idea, just not today. :bookworm::confused:
 
Hahaha thank you for the relatable laugh! I'm wound so figgin FD tight right now it's crazy. It's like every day is a new day, and everything I thought I knew yesterday, is no good for today! Haha

I may ask for caliper advice eventually, that is a good idea, just not today. :bookworm::confused:
I'm sure there's a sticky for that. I'll look.
 
I'm rooting for remission for Jude and more reductions for Petey!

Calipers look like a faff, altho I'm sure you will both figure it out if needed. I'm using the printed template to double-check my dose - works for me. Also an illuminated desktop magnifier!
 
Last edited:
where is that template???
I found the link that Wendy shared with me some time ago. It's called the insulin ruler, and I guess it's just for BD syringes, which are the ones I use.

Here is the link to the insulin ruler:
There is a description of how to use this ruler in this document: management of diabetic cats.pdf

As you see there is also a doc with instructions on how to use the ruler, which involves cutting the blocks out. I haven't done that - instead I lay the page flat, place syringe on top, with dose of insulin pulled, and check measurement closely from above with my illuminated magnifier. I do this every time I use a new syringe. I reckon the main aim is consistency.
 
Last edited:
I edit out so much South African slang, but sometimes the British slang slips through :D

Laurie, If you use BD syringes and want a decidedly more low-tech way to double-check doses see my post above on the insulin ruler. I find it useful.
:smuggrin: I'm not using BD at the moment but thank you for the info I'll keep it in mind.

I thought I heard you could dial up a precise dose on an insulin pen and draw that up with a syringe... is that a thing?
 
I edit out so much South African slang, but sometimes the British slang slips through :D

Laurie, If you use BD syringes and want a decidedly more low-tech way to double-check doses see my post above on the insulin ruler. I find it useful.
Okay. What's faff?
 
faff
/faf/
informal•British
verb
gerund or present participle: faffing
  1. spend time in ineffectual activity.
@Helen + Noogi is that how you use the word "faff"?
We use it in India too. We speak British English here too - former British colony :)
We do use it like that, but also as a descriptive noun meaning "a thing that is awkward or time-consuming to do" which is more-or-less what i meant here.
I enjoy words :)
 
Back
Top