2/28 Ivy Amps 168,+3 104, +6 139,+9 171, Pmps Lo L/117 C,+3 Lo L,+6 Lo L,+9 54L Libre; Stop Mirataz?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
2/27/25
Amps 168 Libre

Good morning, well happy to report that Ivy seems to be feeling a lot better than earlier this week and last week from pancreatitis.
Yay for all that, a huge relief for this mama.

She’s been eating well for the past 2 1/2 days, eating her own lamb duet 6% food for the past two days while on the mirtazapine.
I spoke with the vet last night and he said that if she eats well through today, I could stop the mirtazapine tomorrow. The dose would be due late afternoon so as long as she eat her meal and snacks in the morning, I could eliminate that medication.

Does this seem like the right advice from what anyone else has done after a bout of pancreatitis?

He suggested leaving the Cerenia in place through the weekend (for anti-inflammatory properties) and we will talk early next week and then if everything looks OK, we could eliminate that as well.
At that point she would be on the Cerenia for about nine days or so, which he said is fine when I questioned him that I had read five days was the limit.
He said five days is what had been tested on Cerenia, but they use it for longer with no problem at all. Sure hope that’s correct advice.

Her stools look like they are starting to firm up a bit, much less mushy and definitely heading in the right direction.

She came up to find me in bed this morning around 4 AM for cuddles and purrs until around 5:30.
Maybe she was looking for food from the mirtazapine making her hungry?

4 AM is when I have her feeder rotate to an empty slot, because I give her a snack at 2:30 AM (which is +8.)

So it could be that she’s just awake and heard the feeder closing and then she comes looking for me.
Normally she doesn’t do that, but she’s done at the past two mornings while on the medication, so it’s probably related to that waking her up and feeder movement.

That’s all I can think of now, if I think of more, I’ll post later. Hope everyone has a very boring day.
:cat:
 
Such great news!!! I'm so happy for you both! It sounds like Ivy is feeling so much better. Love those early morning cuddles (even if they're partially food motivated, lol).
 
Morning my friend, this is such a great update . Coming up to find you for cuddles and purrs makes me so so happy :cat::cat:.
You are an amazing Mom Staci handling everything that has been going on :bighug::bighug:
Hopefully someone will stop by and answer your questions about the mirtazapine and the cerenia .
I'm glad her poops are starting to firm up a bit .
Nice start this morning , surf safely you cute little furball :p. I'll check back later on :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy to read this update. It’s strange though I thought one of your early vet visits they didn’t suspect pancreatitis? Either way, I’m glad you got it figured it out and she’s feeling better :bighug:
 
When my kitty seems to be coming out of a p'titis episode, I've done a taper. So half dose for a day to see if she's OK with that first, then cut it out. That's the good thing about Mirataz, easy to change doses! I'm so glad to hear you can start removing the supportive meds.

No problem with Cerenia/maropitant longer than 5 days. Kidney cats can be on it long term. I've seen reference to at least one study on longer term use for chronic issues in cats. The only issue is that dosing might be reduced for long term use. The SCL forum I belong to list Cerenia as one of the longer term support drugs too.
 
Hi Staci,
I am just so happy to hear Ivy's on the mend.
It has been such a stressful time for you and the poor baby.
She was a finicky eater and I spent a lot of time trying to feed her. So I can really appreciate how stressful it must have been to see Ivy not wanting to eat.

Today's my Mikan's birthday. She would have been 8 years old.
I'm feeling terribly sentimental :facepalm: . I'll stick a candle into a can of FF gravy lovers to celebrate tonight. :smuggrin:

I hope you will be able to relax over the weekend with good cudddoing sessions in the sun spot! ;)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
I am just so happy to hear Ivy's on the mend.
It has been such a stressful time for you and the poor baby.
She was a finicky eater and I spent a lot of time trying to feed her. So I can really appreciate how stressful it must have been to see Ivy not wanting to eat.

Today's my Mikan's birthday. She would have been 8 years old.
I'm feeling terribly sentimental :facepalm: . I'll stick a candle into a can of FF gravy lovers to celebrate tonight. :smuggrin:

I hope you will be able to relax over the weekend with good cudddoing sessions in the sun spot! ;)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Awww...happy birthday Mikan! I hope you know how fondly you are remembered.
 
I always cut the appetite stimulant first. The 5 days maximum for cerenia was when it first came out. I did that with my cancer kitty 27 years ago. That’s why I switched at the time to cyproheptadine and also because it made my cat hyper and vocal. I agree with Wendy.
 
Keep feeling better, Ivy!!! I'm so glad, Staci, that she came for cuddles! I know it makes you feel so much better to see her getting back to normal.
 
When my kitty seems to be coming out of a p'titis episode, I've done a taper. So half dose for a day to see if she's OK with that first, then cut it out. That's the good thing about Mirataz, easy to change doses! I'm so glad to hear you can start removing the supportive meds.

No problem with Cerenia/maropitant longer than 5 days. Kidney cats can be on it long term. I've seen reference to at least one study on longer term use for chronic issues in cats. The only issue is that dosing might be reduced for long term use. The SCL forum I belong to list Cerenia as one of the longer term support drugs too.
Thanks so much for letting me know that Wendy.
I’m glad to know it’s ok to continue using the Cerenia with no problem.
(The info in the Pancreatitis sticky discusses using Cerenia for a maximum of 5 days, so that concerned me
upload_2025-2-28_14-50-37.jpeg


I think I will try giving her a half a dose of Miritaz tonight and see if she eats OK tonight and tomorrow morning and if so, then I’ll hopefully be able to stop dosing by not giving tomorrow’s dose.
Paws crossed for good results.
:bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-28_14-50-37.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-28_14-50-37.jpeg
    54 KB · Views: 111
I always cut the appetite stimulant first. The 5 days maximum for cerenia was when it first came out. I did that with my cancer kitty 27 years ago. That’s why I switched at the time to cyproheptadine and also because it made my cat hyper and vocal. I agree with Wendy.
Thanks for the info, Elise. That’s so important to know. It seems the 5 day maximum info circulates a lot about Cerenia.

Ivy didn’t have any vocalization or anything like that at all. Just laid next to her feeder waiting for it to open sometimes. She never does that normally though so I feel like that’s the mirtazapine speaking.
:bighug:
 
Such great news!!! I'm so happy for you both! It sounds like Ivy is feeling so much better. Love those early morning cuddles (even if they're partially food motivated, lol).
Thank you, Brianna! I do you think she is feeling a lot better. I’ll take the early morning cuddles any day even if it’s food motivated I agree with you. I’ll take them whenever I can get them.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Morning my friend, this is such a great update . Coming up to find you for cuddles and purrs makes me so so happy :cat::cat:.
You are an amazing Mom Staci handling everything that has been going on :bighug::bighug:
Hopefully someone will stop by and answer your questions about the mirtazapine and the cerenia .
I'm glad her poops are starting to firm up a bit .
Nice start this morning , surf safely you cute little furball :p. I'll check back later on :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Diane, the little furball sends you lots of hugs and kisses. Thanks so much for checking on us today. We appreciate your sweet support always. I just hope she keeps moving in the right direction and we can get rid of all the medication and she’ll be back to her spunky self.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy to read this update. It’s strange though I thought one of your early vet visits they didn’t suspect pancreatitis? Either way, I’m glad you got it figured it out and she’s feeling better :bighug:
Hi Tim, I agree with you I thought it was strange that they didn’t think it was pancreatitis either and then it turned out to be just that.
I think part of the issue was that they used lab work drawn before she became sick which didn’t happen until after the vet visit last Tuesday. They ran blood that had been drawn on Tuesday morning. I think that was a mistake on their part and that put us Behind and trying to get a hold of the situation because they didn’t diagnose her properly so we weren’t treating it properly.
Unfortunately, I saw a different vet than my primary vet, Who didn’t know Ivy and didn’t really know anything other than having read my doc’s notes. She did examine Ivy, but I just don’t think it was proper how she handled things and I think they shouldn’t have even bothered using that blood that was sitting at the lab :spam:

And when we took her to the ER the next day on Saturday, they probably should have done lab work there, but they didn’t do it then either the lab work didn’t run until Monday and that’s where it showed up as positive and then they started to treat it with pain medication on Tuesday.

What a mess and what a long awful week
I’m trying to just be thankful that she’s feeling a lot better at this point, but I think I need to be more aware of certain things going forward.
Always something to learn, isn’t it? :cat::cat:
 
It is so great to read your news today!
Maybe she is getting used to the feeder and was worried you forgot to fill it for 4 am ;)
Hi Cecile, I have a feeling you’re exactly correct. I think she came looking for me looking for a 4 AM feeding she was like hey come get me some food. Wake up :rolleyes:
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Tim, I agree with you I thought it was strange that they didn’t think it was pancreatitis either and then it turned out to be just that.
I think part of the issue was that they used lab work drawn before she became sick which didn’t happen until after the vet visit last Tuesday. They ran blood that had been drawn on Tuesday morning. I think that was a mistake on their part and that put us Behind and trying to get a hold of the situation because they didn’t diagnose her properly so we weren’t treating it properly.
Unfortunately, I saw a different vet than my primary vet, Who didn’t know Ivy and didn’t really know anything other than having read my doc’s notes. She did examine Ivy, but I just don’t think it was proper how she handled things and I think they shouldn’t have even bothered using that blood that was sitting at the lab :spam:

And when we took her to the ER the next day on Saturday, they probably should have done lab work there, but they didn’t do it then either the lab work didn’t run until Monday and that’s where it showed up as positive and then they started to treat it with pain medication on Tuesday.

What a mess and what a long awful week
I’m trying to just be thankful that she’s feeling a lot better at this point, but I think I need to be more aware of certain things going forward.
Always something to learn, isn’t it? :cat::cat:
Oh wow, that makes sense. That’s a good experience to share for myself or others who might come across this in the future. It’s so hard to know in the moment though, so much going on.
 
Hi Staci,
I am just so happy to hear Ivy's on the mend.
It has been such a stressful time for you and the poor baby.
She was a finicky eater and I spent a lot of time trying to feed her. So I can really appreciate how stressful it must have been to see Ivy not wanting to eat.

Today's my Mikan's birthday. She would have been 8 years old.
I'm feeling terribly sentimental :facepalm: . I'll stick a candle into a can of FF gravy lovers to celebrate tonight. :smuggrin:

I hope you will be able to relax over the weekend with good cudddoing sessions in the sun spot! ;)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, thank you so much for your support and good wishes! It has been a really long and tough 10 days or so. I just hope we are coming out the other side of all of this! :blackeye:
I know you dealt with Mikan being fussy.
Ivy and I are sending lots of love and thinking of you and Mikan with so much love. ❤️
Ivy’s best girlfriend, for sure!
They were like twins, we always joked about that. :p
Wishing her a Happy Heavenly Birthday. :bighug::bighug:
I know today has to be very tough for you. I’m sending you huge hugs Of support. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
We miss your sweet Mikan every day and think of her always.❤️

I know she would love the candle In the gravy, lovers FF can. :cat:

Thanks, Kit for always being in our corner for us :kiss::kiss::kiss:
Oh wow, that makes sense. That’s a good experience to share for myself or others who might come across this in the future. It’s so hard to know in the moment though, so much going on.
Exactly, that’s why I mentioned it :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hello Staci and Ivy !!!
Such ameowzing news! :joyful::smuggrin::cat:
So happy to hear she's doing much better yay.
Hopefully you can relax a bit and enjoy the weekend that's upon us.
:bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
Hi Karolina, i’m ready to try to relax a little bit. It’s been such a long stretch of difficult days and nights. Thanks so much for the support and good wishes. We appreciate you. Sending lots of hugs and kisses back to you and your boys.
:kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Keep feeling better, Ivy!!! I'm so glad, Staci, that she came for cuddles! I know it makes you feel so much better to see her getting back to normal.
Thank you, Mary!! Yes, we need some normalcy and cuddles are a very good sign!!
Hugs to you and Jude ! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We had a lower Pmps of Lo Libre= 117 on Contour.
Gave a reduced dose of 2.75 units. I have a 1/2 dose of Mirtazipine tonight and hope she will continue to eat well.
:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Back
Top