2/28 Gobbles PMPS 284 +6 122 +8.5 77 +10 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89847&p=962788#p962788

Looks like Gobbles is still bouncing. He was in the best mood I have ever seen him in yesterday. I checked on him late morning and he was plopped down in my bed, purring like a madman & literally gave me at least 400 kisses! Then later in the afternoon, I decided to plop down in the bed and take a much-needed nap, however, Gobbles said "no, I don't think so", and proceeded again with all the purring and kissing! I guess he was showing just how "super sweet" he can be!

PM shot yesterday was moved up by 15 minutes to 4:15 & AM shot today was also moved up 15 minutes, to 4:30 and his PM shot will be at 4:45 PM. I am, in 15 minute intervals, moving his shots up to 6:00...

BTW, Gobbles will be officially on the TRP for 8 weeks this Sunday.

UPCOMING RAFFLE:

I am going to have an awesome raffle in a few weeks. I have several beautiful products ordered (from myself as I'm an Independent Consultant) Thirty-One Gifts totaling $176 retail value, including a prize that sugar daddies would love (and I am going to try to get donations of different type of prizes from friends and family. I should have everything within 1-2 weeks and will start the raffle at that time. If anyone would like to donate something, let me know! I haven't done a raffle yet and would love to hear from someone who has (please PM me if you'd like to donate and/or give me some guidance). Rebecca said they are usually run from 2-4 weeks and paypal is used for ticket sales (I do have a paypal account); I would be willing to accept a money order as well for those who want to buy tickets but don't have a paypal account. I am wondering how the winning tickets are drawn? All raffle ticket proceeds will be donated to FDMB. I will post pictures of each product when the raffle posting is posted and I believe there's a furry little somebody here who may like to strike a pose with the products!!!
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ?

Sorry Gobbles is so high.
That's Great that you got all that sweet kitty loving yesterday :-D .

Deb and Spot did the last raffle, and has done a couple of them, so you might want to PM her. Deb is super nice, and she lives in Pittsburgh, so you might meet her if you come to the Pittsburgh Reunion in August. That is very generous of you to do a raffle to help out the FDMB. However, once you get started, you might want to keep most of The Raffle chit chat stuff on the Community Board, and do a link to it daily in your LL condo with a little info about the status, dates, and what's going on in this board.

I hope Gobbles bounce is a short one.

Have a good day :smile:
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ?

Dyana said:
Deb is super nice, and she lives in Pittsburgh, so you might meet her if you come to the Pittsburgh Reunion in August.
I did read somewhere about a reunion in Pittsburgh. I'm only about an hour from there :smile: I would love to stop in if I can; is it for LL or all FDMB? Has a date been set? Where in Pittsburgh is it held and do I bring a covered dish? Details!!!!
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ? vet report!

Gobby's vet called yesterday. I missed the call but he left me a voicemail with blood/urine results and said they are "really good". They use Antech Diagnostics Lab and he said that at that lab, Gobby's BG was 151 and that my glucometer is "right on" as I took Gobby's BG at the office using my ReliOn Prime(which registered 140). Gobby's CBC was normal and he said there was a trace of glucose in his urine, which is normal. I am going to call him today and ask for a copy of the test results, which I am sure he will be more than happy to give me. I also am going to ask him if he'd like access to Gobby's SS.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ?

That's great about the bloodwork results. :thumbup You can add a tab to your ss with them if you like (that's where I keep them, so they are easily viewed).
I sent a PM to Deb asking her to help you with suggestions for the raffle,
and I sent a PM to Dian asking her if it was okay to mention the reunion.

I hope you have a good day, and once again, I hope both our boys come down nice and easy, today.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ?

I'm happy with the results as well! I also sent a PM to Deb and will await her reply. I didn't know if anyone was invited to the Reunion and thought maybe it was just for CG who have been around for a while.

Gosh I hope the boys come down as well. It seems Gobby is feeling better.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ?

What a wonderful Gobby Report, despite this morning's bouncey bounce, and how awesome that you're going to put together a raffle! Can't wait to see the details and the furry little model!

Have a great day, Kat!!
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ?

Morning Kat,

Great BW report :smile: sorry about the bounces though. Hope Gobby clears it soon and gets back to blues and greens. Have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 ? raffle help ?

Thanks ladies! He was acting awful cute this morning, so I'm confident that his numbers are dropping. I'm going to test him here in a bit at +6.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

I just spoke with the vet re: lab results (the info I posted earlier was from a voicemail I received from him). He said the only irregularity on Gobby's blood work was an ALT level of 127. He did, however, say he doesn't feel there are any other liver issues though that number shouldn't be over 100, and here are previous ALT numbers:

9/2012 (pre-dx) 45
1/21/2013 185
1/26/2012 127

Can someone explain to me what an ALT level and does BG levels affect it?
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Hi Kat :smile:

This is from Tanya's CRF site, a valuable resource!
"normal" can be from 10-130 apparently, making 127 ok ;-)
ALT (Alanine Aminotransferase)
This is an enzyme which is largely found in muscle, the liver and the brain. It often leaks out of damaged liver cells, so is an indicator of liver disease, although it is sometimes elevated in hyperthyroidism. Cats on methimazole for hyperthyroidism may also have elevated liver enzymes and low white blood cells.

Approximate normal levels (precise ranges vary from laboratory to laboratory) for cats are in this table. Mild elevations are not normally cause for concern - one of my cats has mildly elevated ALT for years without problems.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Nice slide this morning! Blue tonight, Gobbles? How wonderful on the raffle you are offering!

Ask if your vet can email the results. When mine sends then that way the printout is clearer and more compact. Several of us use a new tab on our SS and put in a new column for every set of tests. It's a good way to track changes. If you want to save yourself some typing you can copy the names of the tests from Tess's, the ranges will be different though because our vet uses Idexx not Antech.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Ann & Tess said:
Nice slide this morning! Blue tonight, Gobbles? How wonderful on the raffle you are offering!

Ask if your vet can email the results. When mine sends then that way the printout is clearer and more compact. Several of us use a new tab on our SS and put in a new column for every set of tests. It's a good way to track changes. If you want to save yourself some typing you can copy the names of the tests from Tess's, the ranges will be different though because our vet uses Idexx not Antech.
Hopefully he'll be blue--what a brat! I called and they are mailing me the report. Also, his cholesterol was 230. I made a "Gobbles' Labs" tab and will enter the results once I get them. Thanks :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Bruce & Simon said:
Hi Kat :smile:

This is from Tanya's CRF site, a valuable resource!
"normal" can be from 10-130 apparently, making 127 ok ;-)
ALT (Alanine Aminotransferase)
This is an enzyme which is largely found in muscle, the liver and the brain. It often leaks out of damaged liver cells, so is an indicator of liver disease, although it is sometimes elevated in hyperthyroidism. Cats on methimazole for hyperthyroidism may also have elevated liver enzymes and low white blood cells.

Approximate normal levels (precise ranges vary from laboratory to laboratory) for cats are in this table. Mild elevations are not normally cause for concern - one of my cats has mildly elevated ALT for years without problems.
Thanks Bruce...oh geez...CRF scares the shite out of me. His cholesterol was also elevated at 230. I feel better about the ALT. That is a good, informative in-depth website that I have added to my bookmarks. :-D
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Gobbles passed out with a full belly, his "iPad" and catnip mouse I made him:
 

Attachments

  • GOB02282012resize.jpg
    GOB02282012resize.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 430
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Actually, I've been dealing with an elevated ALT with Gracie for some time now. ALT should not be over 100 if your vet uses Antech or IDEXX. I'm not sure why Tanya's quotes up to 130 because I've not seen a US lab that has a reference range over 100 for ALT. And your vet's comment confirms that.

Elevated ALT typically indicates some kind of liver cell destruction and just because a cat is diabetic, does not mean their ALT will be elevated. Several members have their labs attached to SSs and you will see totally normal ALTs. Do you have more than just those three lab results? I have all the lab results for Gracie and when I look back on hers even from when she was 13 weeks old, she tends to run just under 100 and that is her norm. However, her ALT has been elevated above that off and on for the last 10 months. When it went up to 300, I had an U/S done and the IM specialist found a bile duct infection. She had not one symptom.

ALT can be elevated due to a variety of liver diseases such as hepatic lipidosis (fatty liver), toxoplasmosis, cholangitis, triaditis, pancreatitis, and other conditions.

So it would be interesting if you could look back for a longer period of time and see what his ALT is. Maybe he runs higher and the 45 was the abnormal test for him. Even so, with a number over 100, I'd be watching it. ALT is also one of those tests that a difference between 100 and 127 is not as significant as, for example, BUN where a difference of 27 would be substantial. I don't want to cause you any panic at all, but also don't want you to totally dismiss it.......I'd keep an eye on it.

You can also discuss with your vet giving him a liver support supplement such as denamarin. It's good stuff for liver support.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Marje and Gracie said:
Do you have more than just those three lab results?

No, just the 3 ALT numbers, taken within 7 months. I am a little concerned about his 230 cholesterol as well. The vet's office is mailing me the lab work. When should I have bloodwork run again? I had planned on making a one-month follow up appointment.

So it would be interesting if you could look back for a longer period of time and see what his ALT is.

How far back?

You can also discuss with your vet giving him a liver support supplement such as denamarin. It's good stuff for liver support.

Can I buy this without a rx?
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

If I remember, you switched vets? Or am I thinking of someone else? I'd try to get bloodwork back for a couple of years, if possible.

Many diabetic cats have higher cholesterol. I don't get too worried about that and Gobbles' does not seem to be that out of range. I would talk to your vet on when he wants to check the bloodwork again. I know Antech gives a reduced rate for a recheck blood panel provided you do it within 30 days. I don't think I'd go longer than 3 months but that is between you and your vet.

Yes..you can buy denamarin without a prescription. I just google it to find the best price so I rarely get it at the same place twice in a row. You have to give it on an empty stomach one hour before a meal.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles AMPS 478 +6 365 +8 234 ? ALT interp ?

Marje and Gracie said:
If I remember, you switched vets? Or am I thinking of someone else? I'd try to get bloodwork back for a couple of years, if possible.

Many diabetic cats have higher cholesterol. I don't get too worried about that and Gobbles' does not seem to be that out of range. I would talk to your vet on when he wants to check the bloodwork again. I know Antech gives a reduced rate for a recheck blood panel provided you do it within 30 days. I don't think I'd go longer than 3 months but that is between you and your vet.

Yes..you can buy denamarin without a prescription. I just google it to find the best price so I rarely get it at the same place twice in a row. You have to give it on an empty stomach one hour before a meal.

I should be able to round up records for a few years back:
I had the same vet from 2006-July 2012. Then I moved.
I had the next vet from September-November 2012. Then I fired him.
My current vet is from November 2012 to present.

If I make Gobbles' follow up appointment for 3 weeks, instead of one month, then I should get a reduced rate, but I'll ask the vet.

I googled Denamarin and found it for 30/$24.50 (small dogs & cats up to 12 pounds): http://www.idealpetx.com/Denamarin-Cats-Small-Dog-90mg-30ct_p_94.html
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles PMPS 284 ? dosing ? increase ???

Gobbles had earned a dose decrease on 2/25. He's had some high numbers since; bouncing a bit to be sure! I am not sure if his numbers from the past 7 cycles warrant an increase of .25. I gave him his PM shot earlier and would like dosing advice this evening, if possible, for his AM shot tomorrow (I would ask tomorrow AMBG but I doubt anyone will be on board when he gets his next shot at 5 a.m.!!!) :-D Dose increase?
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles PMPS 284 ? dose increase ?

As you mentioned, he is bouncing. I think you've got room to take him back up but you just want to be careful about increasing during a bounce. If he starts to clear on the cycle you increase, he could come down pretty fast.

See what he does tonight and be aware that he might give you a couple clues as to whether he is about to clear the bounce. If he is flat yellow tonight, I would anticipate that he might clear tomorrow. And/or if he pops up high after a flat yellow cycle, you might be seeing a high before a break.

If you look at Gracies SS, you'll see she was flat yellow yesterday and just when I was thinking of increasing her this morning, she went up to high yellow, i thought it might be the high before the break, so I held the dose and she's coming down tonight.

If he stays flat yellow tonight and you decide you want to take him up in the bounce, just be sure you watch him closely in case he clears on the same cycle as the increase. The other thing you can do is let him clear, see what he comes down to and if it isn't green, takes him up the next cycle.
 
Re: 2/28 Gobbles PMPS 284 ? dose increase ?

Middle of the night here...well, I think I scared him by suggesting an increase as his numbers are beautiful so far! Two hours until shot time at 5 a.m....77 at PM +8.5. and 92 @PM+10.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top