2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264,+6=104;+9=147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
No one was on the or this AM and Fred had been pawing me for food since 5:30. So when I saw the lower number, I decided to experiment to see if he could hold the blue numbers with just a tad less insulin. I did a "skinny 8" - somewhere around .78 - just under the 8 mark.

Since I'll be home today, I can test more often. We'll see.
 
Re: 2/8 FRED A:186(.78)

A skinny 8 sounds fine, Kathleen. Glad you can get some tests in to see how the insulin is really working.

It's exciting that every preshot is a little lower!
 
Re: 2/8 FRED A:186(.78)

Hadn't looked at it that way, but I guess the pre-shots are getting lower. :-D

Will try to test every 3hrs today.
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264

Well, doesn't look like the "skinny 8" did any good. Probably should stick with .8 for a while. No exercise outside today. Temps in teens!! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264

Hopefully Fred will come down for you. :smile: Sometimes when you catch a lower pre-shot number, they're still on the rise, so a higher +2 or +3 can be a combination of food spike, the last dose wearing off, and a delay before the next dose catches up.
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264

I would have waited to shoot -maybe 30 min. But he was so anxious to ear that I didn't 't think I could wait. Do you think I should have just stayed with .8?
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264

I think you were fine shooting on that 186. It's hard to say if the "skinny" 0.8 will be good until we see how he's looking closer to mid-cycle. :smile:
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264

I really want to get a better handle on how much and when he eats. Those feeding stations seem like a good idea. Where is the best place to look - on line or locally? About how much can I expect to pay?
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264

You can usually get the timed feeders cheaper on Amazon. Chances are, with the price, you should be able to get free shipping,too. Also, click the SHOP link, at the top of the page and go from FDMB and they get a % if you buy, because you came from here to Amazon. Check with PetsMart online too, or any other pet store you have in your area.

Cats are almost always higher 2-3 hrs after the shot. They should be on the rise when you shoot and it takes 2-3 hrs for onset. It'll be better by nadir. :-D That was a great AMPS! :thumbup
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264,+6=104

Do you think we're bouncing again, or just heading down from nadir?

thanks for feeder info.

would you check my post in Think Tank. Haven't heard anything and need to get to store in next hour. BJ's sells Sheba and I'm heading there.
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264,+6=104

I don't see a bounce, I see a great cycle with a great nadir. Not sure what you're looking at.
 
Re: 2/28 FRED A:186(.78),+3=264,+6=104

I hope I am not too late, Kathleen.

I haven't heard much about Sheba's but am guessing if it is not on the list, it is not something that people feed. You can not use the manufacturer's carb count. I don't understand the math, but it's something about the percentage of carbs in the can vs the percentage of carbs as fed....

I love my PetSafe 5 feeder.It is 8 years old and still going strong. You can get it at PetSmart or on line.
 
Didn't buy the Sheba.

about bouncing...I just thought when he went from 264 down to 104 that it was a big drop. Guess that was the bottom and now we're heading up. If he stays in the mid to high 100's, should I shoot something small -- maybe .6 or below. Still not confident in where he's taking me.
 
He is just taking you for the sugar dance. Unfortunately only he hears the music. :mrgreen: I will watch for you tonight and see what your preshot looks like. A skinny .8 did fine on this preshot so maybe .8 tonight if he is under 200 but not by much. You could get a little more aggressive as he could have dropped another 40 points today and done okay, but you might want to wait until a daytime cycle to do that.

It looks like he is a cat who rises early - maybe the food - so expect that higher number early. If you don't get that, then watch as it may be a cycle that drops faster.

He is doing great, Kathleen.
 
Well, there it is...280 for PMPS. So I'm clear to do .8. If it were daytime and I could test often, I might try a "fat 8", but I'm a little hesitant now.
Yes, he like to start bugging me for food around 5:30 to 6am. Wish he'd retire and sleep in!!
 
HA, Ha. If you find a cat who will sleep in, let us know. :-D Your dose sounds great. Yes, tomorrow, maybe try a fat .8 or even one unit, if you are feeling adventurous - as long as he is over or near 200.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top