2/28 Choco +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 52, +4 55, +5 68, +6 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

marleesan71

Member Since 2011
Happy Monday all, Choco is doing great this morning and so is his mama cause she is off today and can go back to bed. Whooo!!! dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat I hope everyone has a fabulous Monday and we'll talk to ya later after I get up (Oh, that would be in in 25 min. when it's time to test again). ;O/
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132

Yay for a day off for you! Hope you get all caught up on your sleep. Have a good day, both of you.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132

Thank you Dyana. I am pretty well caught up on my sleep so I need to get caught up on some errands. I'm going to test Choco now and at least get another hour in. Have a good one! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132

Morning and welcome, as I don't think we've met or visited your condo. Choco looks good this Monday morning! Have a nice morning.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132 +1 132

Good morning and thank you. Choco and I have only been here for about a month now so we're still trying to meet everyone and take things in. We are really happy you stopped by and look forward to visiting with you and Maggie in the future. Have a wonderful Monday! :-D
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132 +1 132

Thank you, and I look forward to talking with you and Choco more; you're off to a good start with joining this wonderful group. There is so much to learn in the beginning, and any time you need help, there is always someone around. I haven't opened up a condo yet, as it's still so early here.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132 +1 132, +2.5 82

Hi! We havent been by yet either-But couldnt help but notice what great numbers Choco has today!!
Looks like yoiu are doing a really great job here-As long as you are home, may as well test when you can..Get some more data-Choco Looking good!!
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132 +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151

Well, I was a bad mama today (not on purpose) and didn't leave a whole lot of food out for Choco when I went to my appt. I planned to come right back but was not thinking about things afterwards and decided to get some running around done that I've been meaning to do. I just got back at +10.5 (4:30) and because he didn't have a whole lot to eat today, I gave him a tsp of LC. I know I'm not supposed to feed him 2 hrs before his testing but I knew he had to be hungry and wanted to get a little something in his belly. His number at this time was really high for him and I'm kinda wondering if it was due to not having his snacks during the day or if something is going on with him. Yesterday he had higher numbers as well. I guess I will wait to see what his pmps is before I worry too much. Hope everyone has had a wonderful day. We're about to get a nice little rain here.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +11.5 112 amps 132 +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151

Okay, how can it go from 151 to 129 within a half hour? Would that little bit of food caused it to drop?
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

That's it, I am thoroughly confused. His numbers went completely backwards in an hour and a half. Is the insulin maybe not working anymore? Oooooh, it's getting very dark and scary looking outside. I think we're about to have a nice little storm. :?
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

hmmm, interesting cycle. :smile:

There are several possible reasons for the numbers to do this.

1. It's possible that he was higher today because he didn't have his snacks. If he has a functioning or sputtering pancreas, that little bit of food could have stimulated the pancreas to produce a bit of insulin and bring the number down.

2. It's possible that the high was a mini-bounce, if Choco went lower today than he is used to. He could be dropping because the bounce is already clearing out. Choco is not much of a bouncer, though, so I don't really think that is what this is.

3. Some Lantus cats do the "double dip" routinely, where they dip to a nadir earlier in the cycle, then rise, then dip again just before PS. It's possible that Choco is trying that pattern on for size. Sometimes when they are really well regulated like he is, they start moving their patterns around just for fun. :roll:

Or it could be just because he's a cat and he felt like dropping. :lol: Anyway, this is a nice PMPS, wherever it came from!
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

Thanks Libby. I'm going with because he is a cat and wants to play games with his mama. ;-) I'll see what the next few hours will bring. Hopefully I won't lose electricity but if I do, we'll be back. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

please don't send that storm my way (Charleston). It is beautiful here tonight, a bit windy but I have all the windows open and it feels wonderful.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

Are you in SC or WV? I was in the Air Force and stationed at Charleston AFB in South Carolina. I have one window open and there is a nice breeze coming in. That with the sound of the rain is very nice sleeping weather. Oh but wait, I can't do that, Choco is wanting me to stay up and play games with him. :? That's okay though, I'm waiting for The Bachelor to come on. Eeeeeehhhhh, it's raining harder. As long as a tree doesn't fall on my house, I can deal. :-D
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

yep, a tree falling on the house would not be good.

I'm in SC. Just up the road from the AFB, actually, maybe 10 minutes away.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

Oh, cool. I really liked Charleston. I lived in Goose Creek from 98-2001. There were a lot of things I didn't do while I was stationed there so it would be fun to get to play tourist for a couple of days. It's not that long of a drive from here but Choco is not going to let me go anywhere anytime soon. :O) One day though. My hot spots downtown were Wild Wing Cafe (mmmm spinach dip) and Wet Willies. Aaaahhhhh, my younger days. :O) Oooooh, gotta go test Choco!
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1 132, +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91

Uh oh Libby, he's at 48 should I give him some HC?
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91, +1 48

He dropped to 45 so I am going to give him some HC.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91, +1 48

On that big of a drop a +1, I would always retest to make sure it wasn't a meter error. But otherwise, good idea to feed. I think you still get a dosecrease for going under 50, and that is really early in the cycle to be that low!
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91, +1 48

Yup. HC is called for to bump numbers up unless Choco is a highly carb sensitive kitty. You want to bump numbers up to the 50s or 60s. A teaspoon of gravy (with or without a nibble of LC) is good.

I told you Choco wanted to keep you busy today!!
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91, +1 48

Hi all, I'm having to update from my phone because my internet went down. Choco's numbers have stayed in the mid 40's with the help of some HC gravy. At +2.5 I gave him another tsp of HC gravy and a drop of Karo.

Christie I did recheck him five minutes after his +1 just to make sure it didn't read wrong and it actually went down to 45 from 48. I have to go test again.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco pmps 91, +1 48, +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 5

Does any of the last two days make sense to anybody? His numbers have been way up and then way down. Prior to that he was a nice steady Eddie. Should he be decreased and do I need to worry about him dropping too low while I'm at work because of a decrease?
 
Re: 2/28 Choco pmps 91, +1 48, +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 5

I would be a bit more generous with the HC. I would prefer that Choco isn't surfing in the 40s. If he's surfing in those numbers, it doesn't give you much of a margin if he drops a bit.

I think you're seeing "bouncettes" -- what you are calling "way up" really isn't all that far up.

With those 40s, Choco has earned a dose reduction to 0.75u tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco+1 48, +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 52, +4 55

So he's dropping so low because he's got too much insulin? When would the new decrease take effect on his body? I'm so worried he's gonna have a repeat of tonight when I'm not here tomorrow. I guess all I can do is leave some HC food along with his LC food out and pray he is okay.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +2.5 82, +10.5 151, +11 129, pmps 91, +1 48

marleesan71 said:
Hi all, I'm having to update from my phone because my internet went down. Choco's numbers have stayed in the mid 40's with the help of some HC gravy. At +2.5 I gave him another tsp of HC gravy and a drop of Karo.

Christie I did recheck him five minutes after his +1 just to make sure it didn't read wrong and it actually went down to 45 from 48. I have to go test again.

Good job! You're doing great! After the past few days, believe me.. I know wonderful but nervewracking the low greens can be!!

Hope you can get some rest tonight! I'm up at 5:30 CST for Willie's shot... I'll check in from my phone. :) Dyana is usually up around that time too if you have any questions!!
 
Re: 2/28 Choco+1 48, +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 52, +4 55

Don't get ahead of yourself. You don't know what numbers will look like in the AM. You will be reducing the dose. You can always leave HC if numbers look like they are going to be low. As long as Choco will eat on his own, all will be fine.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco+1 48, +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 52, +4 55

Ok, sounds good. I'll see how things look in the morning before I leave for work. Thanks everybody!
 
Re: 2/28 Choco+1 48, +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 52, +4 55

You need to keep testing!! I'm not convinced that Choco's numbers are going to stay where they are. Please get a +4.5.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 52, +4 55, +5 68

Sorry Sienne, I just saw this so I didn't get the +4.5 but his +5 was 68.
 
Re: 2/28 Choco +1.5 46, +2 44, +2.5 45, +3 52, +4 55, +5 68

Hi Maria. Just dropping by to say hi to you and Choco. He is looking good :) :mrgreen:
 
Hi, just seeing this. (Out of contact most of yesterday.)

I agree with the dose decrease to .75U. I also believe that the little dip he did when you fed him at the end of his cycle was Mr. Pancreas's way of saying HI!

This is where things get a little dicey because you never know when Mr. P will come to visit and how long he's going to stay each time. But it tends to be that the more he visits, the longer he tends to stay. What you inadvertently did at +10.5 on his AM cycle is what I call a "food test." Sometimes, when a person has a cat with a partially functioning pancreas and with a PS number that they are thinking might be a little too low to shoot because of Mr. P's unexpected visits, I suggest holding the shot and doing a food test, and a blood test 2 to 3 hours later. If the number is up, Mr. P isn't visiting and it's OK to shoot full dose. If the number is down, Mr. P is visiting, and a reduced dose or no shot is advisable.

I don't know what the formal Lantus ISG protocol is in this situation, but that's my
icon_twocents.gif


Have a great Tuesday. Scritches to Choco.

(Your spreadsheet needs some of the numbers that I am seeing in the headings here, but I am sure you know.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top