You asked about using R recently. There isn't really a bad time to start it. My main suggestion would be to time your first couple of experiments so that someone experienced in R can be on with you. One use of R is cutting the knees off ugly bounces, but for acros it's also used to give the L insulins a lower number to work with.
If you are interested in starting R, let me know the time frame and I'll see if I can find someone experienced to hang out the first time or two. What time is your preshot? (and time zone). The goals as stated above look mostly good, though we might start a smaller R dose.

He does not appear to be insulin resistant - he is seeing green on a pretty regular basis.If AMPS is 350 or above, give 0.25 units R at AMPS or at +1
Yes.Test hourly for the first 4 hours
Yes. A few nice runs of yellow would be good for starters.Goal 1: Get him below 300 for at least part of the daytime cycle
Based on the recent overnight numbers and your need for sleep, I would not use R on the PMPS since currently the swing from 384 to 187 (and possibly lower) has him bounce to black by AMPS.Goal 2 (if the above isn't practical): Lower his PMPS to keep him in better numbers overnight
R is good for taking the edge off a bounce. He seems to clear bounces fairly fast, another reason I think a light touch is in order.Goal 3: Limit the extent of the inevitable bounce when he sees blues/greens
R is good for taking the edge off a bounce. He seems to clear bounces fairly fast, another reason I think a light touch is in order.
What you want to be careful about is getting stuck in a continuous loop of seeing a high number, shooting it too far down with R and triggering a bounce to high numbers.
I also recommend holding the Lantus dose while you are figuring out his response to R. It will make it easier to determine R onset, nadir and duration.
What do you think?
He does not appear to be insulin resistant - he is seeing green on a pretty regular basis.
I would start with 0.1u R if AMPS is above 350.
Here is a picture of the .1 dose that's found in the Syringe & Insulin Info sticky.0.1 means pressing the plunger before entering the vial, then giving what is drawn up when the plunger is released