2/28 Buzzy AMPS 121; +2 (142); +7.5 (126); PMPS 129 = 1u; +4 (78)

toomanycats

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-128-1u-2-78-3-67-4-56-4-5-69-5-66.226254/

Another green night & our lowest blue morning ever!

....I am tired.

Also already anxious about this evening because I have to be away from the house for a number of hours right after PM shot time to take my daughter to her grandparents' house. And Buzzy does like his early drops. I figure we may have to MC it up til I get home.
 
Buzzy is looking good. You may need to feed some HC at PMPS tonight to keep him safe.

If I have to, I can.
If it's a green shoot, I definitely will.
I should be back by +4, so I will honestly likely shoot most things at this point.
He's sitting right here reading me typing this, though, so he's gonna be like in the 60s at shot time, I just bet you....

IN WHICH CASE, Buzzy....I will still shoot a reduce dose & carb you up...JUST FYI....stop reading my screen, Buzzy.
 
One other thing you might try is to get a 1+ in the evenings. It looks like Mr. Buzzy is in a hurry to get to the lagoon...if he's dropping at the 1+ you might want to get out the MC and give him a little snack..kinda slow things down a little...otherwise he's Mr. Surfer isn't he?

Especially tonight, if you're going to be out for a while...leave some MC out for him. I've even added a dab of MC on top of LC to make sure there's food available...should keep him from doing a swan dive before you get home...

He's looking great though! Great job you two!
 
Well this is very interesting. He's at 126 at +7.6
Was expecting some greens. (Been out of the house all morning, so it's possible I missed them, but anyways)
Not sure I'd say he's bouncing since he's really just pretty steady flat minus that food bump.

@Sue and Luci Can't get a +1 tonight. I've gotten a few + 1s at night -I can get one tomorrow.
It seems like he does one of two things:
Goes up at +1 and then down but still elevated at +2, and then I can expect a pretty even 12-hour period
OR
Dives at +1/+2 & (hopefully) evens out around +4.

Side note: his poor ear with the most hair loss - I started sticking it again today & it definitely bothers him. He went to scratch at it right after I stuck it, poor boy :( His little ear is going balder & I'm not wholly sure why but it seems related to the blood tests. I've been avoiding that ear for days, letting it heal...the other one has a little hair loss going on, but not a ton. If I can figure out how to add a picture I will.
 
8ABE9E45-BDF9-49A8-AD2B-7DF3F82EE9F1.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 8ABE9E45-BDF9-49A8-AD2B-7DF3F82EE9F1.jpeg
    8ABE9E45-BDF9-49A8-AD2B-7DF3F82EE9F1.jpeg
    71.2 KB · Views: 91
There's a pic - you can see it's much worse on the one ear. It looks a little damp bc I just put some neosporin (not pain relief version) ointment on it.
 
There's a pic - you can see it's much worse on the one ear. It looks a little damp bc I just put some neosporin (not pain relief version) ointment on it.
Have you tried coconut oil for his ear? I use it on my boy Moey, to condition his ears several times a day. Coconut oil has antimicrobial properties and reduces inflammation. Not to mention it smells good:p
 
@Briere Fur Mom no, I haven't. Darn - coulda grabbed some at Aldi.

What I have done is...look VERY CLOSELY for fleas and mites as well as use a blacklight to look for fungal spores. And, I stopped feeding him the beef-based foods & moved him over to Friskies Poultry Platter. I really thought it was helping....til I poked his ears today :(

I did also just notice an irritated/kinda bloody spot on my other, non-diabetic cat's "temple." No hair loss though - It looks like she just scratched herself too hard. They are both currently eating the Friskies (and slowly finishing up the Fancy Feast too) -- my non-diabetic one is the only one I'm letting eat the beef flavor.... idk... I basically have 2 hunches: it's diet-related OR it's antibiotic-related (he's on his 3rd one this month), but if the non-diabetic cat starts having issues....we'll know it's either diet or something else they "share." Ugh.

It seems very odd that it'd be diet -- these cats have eaten so many different foods without issue over the years.
 
Are you using Neosporin on his ear? I think we had at least one cat (or two) allergic to Neomycin, one of the ingredients.

yes I am. I had wondered if that was it - although, I've used it on the other ear & it doesn't seem to be getting worse there, only on the one? But there is thinning of hair on both ears. Just the one is like really bad....and that's the one I haven't put Neosporin in in a few days.

It looks less irritated now -a couple hours later.

Is it safe to stop putting neosporin on? I'm always afraid of like...infection in the ear.
Would coconut oil suffice?
 
This is what I do for Moey...ECID and not trying to offer bad advice. After the poke, I apply pressure to stop any bleeding, wait a second or 2 and wipe his ear with alcohol. Let the alcohol dry and then apply coconut oil. It's worked for him but, can't say it'd work for all cats.:cat:
 
Is that a scab on the top of the ear...like he's been itching it maybe?

You could just try not using the neosporin and see if it starts to heal up. Process of eliminating options might be easier
 
Is that a scab on the top of the ear...like he's been itching it maybe?

You could just try not using the neosporin and see if it starts to heal up. Process of eliminating options might be easier

I pricked near the top of his ear for this stick & it bled kind of a lot & he shook his head and scratched and basically got blood everywhere, so it might look a little bloody in the pic. :confused: Any "scabs" you see are from my poor poking.
The ear itself looked irritated/pink for a bit after the poke/scratching, but all the inflammed look seems to be gone now.
I've not been seeing him like really go at his ears or scratch at them a lot or anything - mostly it's when I'm messing w/ them at all - poke or just trying to manipulate them to get a look at the bald patch - that he shakes his head.
 
This is what I do for Moey...ECID and not trying to offer bad advice. After the poke, I apply pressure to stop any bleeding, wait a second or 2 and wipe his ear with alcohol. Let the alcohol dry and then apply coconut oil. It's worked for him but, can't say it'd work for all cats.:cat:

Hm. I do the pressure. Is the alcohol not stingy? It sounds painful lol
 
Darnit that test took like fifty zillion sticks (used non-bald ear). He was quite impatient.
But hopefully he feels it was worth it because I DID give him mostly 10% carb food since I will be gone for about 4 hours & he's been liking to drop recently.
 
He did fine.
But I need to just take him to the vet for the ears at this point. He IS scratching & shaking his head, and my other cat is kinda shaking her head some too, so either they're both allergic to the food or it's something contagious. Bleh.
I have no money, so this is just...not cool.
 
Back
Top