2/28 Boots AM 526 & vet visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

LadyW

Member Since 2017
Reported to vet BG 526 this morning. No insulin. Took him in at 10:00 for consult. Plan at this time is resume insulin 2u am/pm. Reduce to 2u/1u if BG running low. Repeat fructosamine 2-3 weeks. Suspects that Boots irregularly produces insulin. Blood draw for Bartonella test. Vet had another client that tested positive and after antibiotic therapy, went OTJ 3 years. I gave Boots 1u when we got home at 11:00, he usually gets shots at 8 & 8.

Love this vet clinic team. They all want the best for Boots and me.
 
Last edited:
Here is your post from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-27-boots-am-119.173922/#post-1906713 Please include those links so we can easily follow back what was previously said.

Out of curiosilty, why no insulin this morning? Your SS says you gave 1 unit. We have found that Lantus works better if given the same dose AM and PM. As you saw yesterday, 2 units at night means you skip the AM shot. It's better to consistently give the same dose each cycle so reducing a bit make make things more consistent. Maybe 1.5 units all the time? Otherwise Boots's numbers will be up and down all the time.

Is there a reason the vet suspects Bartonella?
 
Thanks for adding the link. I'm still figuring this forum protocol out.

No insulin this morning per dr. instruction. We have been coordinating his treatment by phone since 2/9 when he went very low, and stopped insulin all together until 2/26. After the morning BG, vet wanted a consult, so I took him in at 10:00. She wants him back on his old schedule. I didn't want him to wait until 8pm for his first insulin, so I made the decision to give him 1 unit late, rather than none at all for AM. As a note, from Sept. 2015 until February 2017, Boots only missed 3 shots, and none were outside timing parameters. I have been very diligent in maintaining a schedule with him. The past week has been a challenge.

The suspicion for Bartonella comes from his irregular BG readings, yet normal fructosamine readings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top