2/28 Blaze AMPS 102 +2.5 80 + 9 106 PMPS 104 +2 81 +3 76

Happy Friday Sarah! Blaze is looking spectacular on this dose....I hope DH can cover him as well for the next few days.

Wishing you well on your trip - and speedy return to us :)
 
Happy Friday Sarah! Blaze is looking spectacular on this dose....I hope DH can cover him as well for the next few days.

Wishing you well on your trip - and speedy return to us :)
Good morning Sue! I’m wondering if these numbers are from the fat 0.25 depot still? We just started the normal 0.25 last night so he’s had two shots on it so far. I will do amps on Saturday and then I head out of town around noon, so we might have to skinny the dose if he keeps these nice numbers up!:facepalm: I hate to do that but DH can only do amps, pmps and a before bed test and want to keep Blaze safe!
 
Sounds like you have a good plan in place, Sarah. Have a good safe trip!!
Looking fantastic Blaze!!! :cool::D
Ya I think this is a good plan. Hopefully his Depot drains a bit so he’s in safer numbers when I’m out of town. I’m wondering if I should have a no shoot number for DH too. Maybe no shot for BG’s under 95?
 
I think it might be wise to skinny down the dose. Blaze is right there - in the best possible place - but we also know that historically that boy loves to do some diving in the evenings. If DH is unwilling/unable to get any mid-cycle tests - especially at night, it's better to play it safe and back the insulin off a bit.

And yes, I'd agree a no shoot number in the greens is probably not a bad idea either. We know Blaze is doing great but it's because of your constant attention and testing to keep him safe.

Does DH have at least some knowledge of symptoms of hypo and some medium and high carb foods to give him? And in the worst case scenario - karo syrup and the ER phone number handy? I don't want to be an alarmist...but it's better to have a few days too high than an hour too low.
 
I think it might be wise to skinny down the dose. Blaze is right there - in the best possible place - but we also know that historically that boy loves to do some diving in the evenings. If DH is unwilling/unable to get any mid-cycle tests - especially at night, it's better to play it safe and back the insulin off a bit.

And yes, I'd agree a no shoot number in the greens is probably not a bad idea either. We know Blaze is doing great but it's because of your constant attention and testing to keep him safe.

Does DH have at least some knowledge of symptoms of hypo and some medium and high carb foods to give him? And in the worst case scenario - karo syrup and the ER phone number handy? I don't want to be an alarmist...but it's better to have a few days too high than an hour too low.
Okay, we’ll give a SKINNY 0.25 dose starting tonight at PMPS, just to be safe while I’m out of town. And I think we will do no shot if Blaze is 99 and under.
DH is working 10 hour shifts right now and working weekends so every day that I’m gone, Saturday afternoon to Tuesday afternoon, he will be out of the house from 6:00 am to 5:00pm, with amps and pmps being at 5:00-5:15 am and pm, so he will not be home at all during the day time cycle to get any extra tests. He will get one before bed test, but that’s the extent of extra testing he’ll be able to do. So it’s definitely best to do a skinny .25 dose and no shot if Bg is under 100.

I have a list of hypo symptoms printed out that I leave out when I’m out of town, so he will have that for reference. I have 12%, 15%, 20% and karo syrup in box and showed him where it is. He sends me Blaze’s BG #’s when he tests so I can advise him on whether or not he needs to give something higher carb. We only have two ER vets, with one being closer than the other and he knows where it is but I will write their number down too.

I would rather be safe too, I appreciate all your advice!
 
Back
Top