2/28 Alex AMPS 473,+3~474,+5~415,+7~416

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/28 Alex AMPS 473,+3~474, +5.25~415

as you can see Alex has been high all day. I opened his Lantus pen 14 days ago. I am pretty sure he didn't get a fur shot this morning..I didn't feel any wet spot. I did a blood ketone test which read 0.7 which is in the moderate range and that's not great news if he remains high. He is acting okay I just don't know what to do at +6.

I want to give him R to bring him down and avoid a full blown ketone situation but I don't want to do the wrong thing if it is the wrong thing. does someone have any advice to give?
 
Re: 2/28 From 184-483 -- how does it happen??

How is our boy today? High numbers, but at least not "hi". It's very confusing. What are the possible explanations for ongoing ranginess like this?

(((Caryl)))
 
Re: 2/28 From 184-483 -- how does it happen??

Kathy and Kitty said:
How is our boy today? High numbers, but at least not "hi". It's very confusing. What are the possible explanations for ongoing ranginess like this?

(((Caryl)))

Today I blame it on fll_moon

But right now I'm very concerned about keeping his ketones from going any higher and I want to do the right thing. I have no idea why he's so high today unless I did give a fur shot and I don't know it. I really don't think I did but I don't see any other explanation. He never doesn't NOT respond at all to his shot by +3
 
Re: 2/28 Experience with ketones?

What has been his food intake today? Did he eat within an hour of +3?

I know Jill thought yesterday or the day before that you could wait before increasing his dose, because he had that green so recently.

I just don't have experience with ketones, so I'll ask an ignorant question. Have you ever NOT experienced rebound after R? That's the concern with R, right?
 
Re: 2/28 Experience with ketones?

Kathy and Kitty said:
What has been his food intake today? Did he eat within an hour of +3?

I know Jill thought yesterday or the day before that you could wait before increasing his dose, because he had that green so recently.

I just don't have experience with ketones, so I'll ask an ignorant question. Have you ever NOT experienced rebound after R? That's the concern with R, right?

no he didn't eat within an hour of +3 because I went btb.
I don't remember if I ever didn't experience rebound after R but the rebound wasn't a whole cycle of red. you can see the times i gave him r on my ss. that's why i need help. to know what is more important. worrying about rebound right now or getting his bg down. in my heart I know what i wont to do but i'm trying to sit on my hands until i get help.
 
gave Alex .25R at +7 because of moderate ketone level that already exists from high bg. will test in an hour. (when I gave 0.1 on fur shot day it barely did anything which is why I chose this dose) i need to try to give Alex a break from the high numbers I really did not want to have to do this. :sad:
 
Caryl and Alex said:
gave Alex .25R at +7 because of moderate ketone level that already exists from high bg. will test in an hour. (when I gave 0.1 on fur shot day it barely did anything which is why I chose this dose) i need to try to give Alex a break from the high numbers I really did not want to have to do this. :sad:

i'm sorry to see alex in such high numbers. glad you were able to get a blood ketone reading. am curious, why do you think a blood ketone reading of 0.7 means moderate ketones? i'm pretty sure i've given you this info before, but i may have posted it in someone else's condo. sharyn/fiona did a little bit of research. she has the following posted in her profile:

Precision Xtra Readings for Cats

**'Normal' for cats is 0.0-0.3 (Fiona's normal is 0.1, D & Shadow's normal is 0.3)

**3.0 is aproximately when ketones start showing on urine ketodiastix strips at a trace - at least that is the case for Fiona.

**As BG's go down so will ketone levels (in most cases). If I can get Fiona's BGs under 250 for even a couple of hours her ketone level will go down.

**Other than being DKA at dx, the only other time Fiona has had ketones above 1.0 was when she had some kind of infection. The first time (Aug 2008) was occult and we never figured out what it was but four rounds of different ABs finally took care of it. The second time (Dec 2008) was tooth problem even though she had an extensive dental in April '08. She had a pocket behind a canine and a broken tooth. Neither of which could be seen by the vet until she was under.

**Other cats get elevated ketones for other reasons, too high BGs for too long, etc...
Here's a post that says kinda the same thing but has some other info too:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,1684726


and i found this chart online:

Bloodketones.jpg

http://www.childrenwithdiabetes.com/d_0i_191.htm


this information leads me to believe the blood ketone reading of 0.7 is nowhere near what would show up as trace ketones when testing urine with a ketostix.
 
Jill & Alex said:
Caryl and Alex said:
gave Alex .25R at +7 because of moderate ketone level that already exists from high bg. will test in an hour. (when I gave 0.1 on fur shot day it barely did anything which is why I chose this dose) i need to try to give Alex a break from the high numbers I really did not want to have to do this. :sad:

i'm sorry to see alex in such high numbers. glad you were able to get a blood ketone reading. am curious, why do you think a blood ketone reading of 0.7 means moderate ketones? i'm pretty sure i've given you this info before, but i may have posted it in someone else's condo. sharyn/fiona did a little bit of research. she has the following posted in her profile:

Precision Xtra Readings for Cats

**'Normal' for cats is 0.0-0.3 (Fiona's normal is 0.1, D & Shadow's normal is 0.3)

**3.0 is aproximately when ketones start showing on urine ketodiastix strips at a trace - at least that is the case for Fiona.

**As BG's go down so will ketone levels (in most cases). If I can get Fiona's BGs under 250 for even a couple of hours her ketone level will go down.

**Other than being DKA at dx, the only other time Fiona has had ketones above 1.0 was when she had some kind of infection. The first time (Aug 2008) was occult and we never figured out what it was but four rounds of different ABs finally took care of it. The second time (Dec 2008) was tooth problem even though she had an extensive dental in April '08. She had a pocket behind a canine and a broken tooth. Neither of which could be seen by the vet until she was under.

**Other cats get elevated ketones for other reasons, too high BGs for too long, etc...
Here's a post that says kinda the same thing but has some other info too:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,1684726


and i found this chart online:

Bloodketones.jpg

http://www.childrenwithdiabetes.com/d_0i_191.htm


this information leads me to believe the blood ketone reading of 0.7 is nowhere near what would show up as trace ketones when testing urine with a ketostix.


I have a similar chart that says basically the same thing

"Results are read as:-

Less than 0.6 mmol/L. - Normal

0.6 to 1.5 mmol/L. (moderate) - Contact your healthcare provider, drink plenty of water and keep checking, this can become serious..

Greater than 1.5 mmol/L. (high) - This is serious and you must contact your healthcare provider and stress the urgency of the situation. You are possibly developing ketoacidosis. Give short acting insulin if so advised.

Greater than 3.0 mmol/L. (very high) - Get someone else to take you to the Emergency department of your hospital immediately! Do not drive yourself."

That's what I use to check. I had another one that I'm trying to find again that directly correlates blood ketones to urine results. I don't know where it went. I can tell you this though. When Alex was 2.6 the other day he smelled pretty bad. He doesn't today.
 
Caryl and Alex said:
Jill & Alex said:
Caryl and Alex said:
gave Alex .25R at +7 because of moderate ketone level that already exists from high bg. will test in an hour. (when I gave 0.1 on fur shot day it barely did anything which is why I chose this dose) i need to try to give Alex a break from the high numbers I really did not want to have to do this. :sad:

i'm sorry to see alex in such high numbers. glad you were able to get a blood ketone reading. am curious, why do you think a blood ketone reading of 0.7 means moderate ketones? i'm pretty sure i've given you this info before, but i may have posted it in someone else's condo. sharyn/fiona did a little bit of research. she has the following posted in her profile:

Precision Xtra Readings for Cats

**'Normal' for cats is 0.0-0.3 (Fiona's normal is 0.1, D & Shadow's normal is 0.3)

**3.0 is aproximately when ketones start showing on urine ketodiastix strips at a trace - at least that is the case for Fiona.

**As BG's go down so will ketone levels (in most cases). If I can get Fiona's BGs under 250 for even a couple of hours her ketone level will go down.

**Other than being DKA at dx, the only other time Fiona has had ketones above 1.0 was when she had some kind of infection. The first time (Aug 2008) was occult and we never figured out what it was but four rounds of different ABs finally took care of it. The second time (Dec 2008) was tooth problem even though she had an extensive dental in April '08. She had a pocket behind a canine and a broken tooth. Neither of which could be seen by the vet until she was under.

**Other cats get elevated ketones for other reasons, too high BGs for too long, etc...
Here's a post that says kinda the same thing but has some other info too:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,1684726




this information leads me to believe the blood ketone reading of 0.7 is nowhere near what would show up as trace ketones when testing urine with a ketostix.

okay I found it. here is the link to the chart That directly translates blood ketone levels to urine ketone levels...I couldn't copy and paste it. I wish I could to keep on the refrigerator. I think you'll like this.

According to this chart, 0.7 would be trace...I guess it depends on which chart you read...but this one gives an easy comparison and I guess the easiest thing to do would be to get a sample of both to see if this is accurate.

http://books.google.com/books?id=2lyIu4 ... q=&f=false

I wish I knew why he has these high readings today. what I did or didn't do. I mean Alex has had some wacky days but not like this unless he doesn't get insulin.

Thank you for looking, Jill. I appreciate any of the help that I get for Alex
 
thank you for the link. it's a good reference tool.
using your chart, a blood ketone reading of 0.6 - 1.0 would mean the same as trace to low on a urine ketone strip. that's why i didn't/don't understand where you're getting the idea that a blood ketone reading of 0.7 is the same as a "moderate" level of ketones. kwim?
 
Hi Caryl..

I wish these kitties could just give us a hint on what's up with the high numbers.. confused_cat

Just wanted to let you know that I feel for ya!

Now.. sweet Alex.. PLEASE come down from there..
I hope you find out what's up (no pun intended) with Alex's numbers soon..

Thanks for your encouragement today..

Sending low number vibes to Alex!
 
Jill & Alex said:
thank you for the link. it's a good reference tool.
using your chart, a blood ketone reading of 0.6 - 1.0 would mean the same as trace to low on a urine ketone strip. that's why i didn't/don't understand where you're getting the idea that a blood ketone reading of 0.7 is the same as a "moderate" level of ketones. kwim?

I DO know what you mean!

It's because of a 'chart' I found when I was looking for the other one..here it is again...I guess it's incorrect but this is where i got it. I can;t find the link to this now but I did get it online..

Results are read as:-

Less than 0.6 mmol/L. - Normal

0.6 to 1.5 mmol/L. (moderate) - Contact your healthcare provider, drink plenty of water and keep checking, this can become serious..

Greater than 1.5 mmol/L. (high) - This is serious and you must contact your healthcare provider and stress the urgency of the situation. You are possibly developing ketoacidosis. Give short acting insulin if so advised.

Greater than 3.0 mmol/L. (very high) - Get someone else to take you to the Emergency department of your hospital immediately! Do not drive yourself."
 
pjstroop said:
Hi Caryl..

I wish these kitties could just give us a hint on what's up with the high numbers.. confused_cat

Just wanted to let you know that I feel for ya!

Now.. sweet Alex.. PLEASE come down from there..
I hope you find out what's up (no pun intended) with Alex's numbers soon..

Thanks for your encouragement today..

Sending low number vibes to Alex!
Any time Paula !
Low number vibes back at ya' for Pepper confused_cat
:mrgreen:
 
Another "Chart"

http://www.realitycheck.org.au/starterkit/ketones.php

This is just to show that my actions weren't random, I found this stuff because I looked it up....

I have ketones. What do I do now?

Ketone test result


Action required

Blood test: Less than 0.6 mmol/l
Urine test: Low or Trace


* This is the normal, low level.
* No action is required.



Blood test: 0.6 - 1.5 mmol/l
Urine test: Moderate



* This indicates the beginning of a problem.
* Your endocrinologist or diabetes educator will have provided you with instructions to follow if you are showing ketones - do this now.
* Their instructions may have included regular (half-hourly) monitoring of blood glucose, increasing or adding insulin doses carefully until your blood sugar levels drop. Also drink plenty of water to stay hydrated.



Blood test: More than 1.5 mmol/l
Urine test: High


* You may be at risk of DKA.
* Call diabetes team immediately for advice.
* If you cannot contact your diabetes team, call your nearest big public hospital and ask to speak to the endocrinologist, diabetes nurse or registrar on call.
* If this still fails, you need to go to the emergency unit of your nearest hospital.
 
so what I would like to know about ketones is... Assuming Alex's reading is higher than trace, and is moderate, and requires action, then going back to the original question, what action would one take? Would one give R, to bring the numbers down and attack the ketones? Or raise the lantus dose, despite the greens Alex has had at this dose?
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
so what I would like to know about ketones is... Assuming Alex's reading is higher than trace, and is moderate, and requires action, then going back to the original question, what action would one take? Would one give R, to bring the numbers down and attack the ketones? Or raise the lantus dose, despite the greens Alex has had at this dose?

You would have to ask someone more experienced with insulin than myself...that's why I needed help. And I don't think there is a pat answer to that question. A cat that isn't regulated can have a run of high numbers even if he is at a good dose. A ketone prone cat like Alex doesn't do well with a day like this and can develop ketones very quickly. THIS INFO IS NOT A TREATMENT PLAN FOR KETONES. DO NOT DO WHAT I DID PLEASE!!!! the first thing I wanted to do is to get Alex's bg down and get rid of the ketones which will happen if the next dose of Lantus does what it's supposed to do because he really doesn't have a very high amount of ketones and I wanted to keep it that way.(everything crossed). I don't know what anyone else would do because I didn't get an answer, but to me, getting the bg down was what I needed to do and I only know of one way to do that. No I don't think I should raise his basal dose if he has been getting green numbers especially since Jill told me to wait until he fills his shed again from fur shot day. And, I am through with trying to do that myself. Today could have been a freak isolated thing. Tonight may be totally different. I don't know. i guess we'll see. nailbite_smile

ETA: Kathy I think I see why you were asking that question now...I used to use R just to get high numbers down and was over using it causing Alex to rebound all over the place. I used it 'prophalatically' if you will. To *prevent* ketones. Bad idea! That's when I was told by Carolyn and Cassandra that I should stop the R and get more aggressive with the Lantus. Yes, I agree. To get Alex regulated so he will have all around lower flatter curves. Absolutely! (I wish I'd see them already)! This was an exception. An emergency, a one time thing... that had nothing to do with his dose....
 
I received your PM Caryl.

I did not respond to your first PM because you made it quite clear that I had nothing to offer to you.

It is *still* my opinion that:

You should not be using R on this cat, at any time, in any amount, for any reason.
Your cat's dose is too high.
Your meter is potentially leading you astray. Your nose may be leading you astray as well.

I am very sorry if the following offends you, but I find the R use in Alex to be very unsettling. That is why I do not come by. I can not sit by and watch you do this. You chose to disregard what I said, and that's just fine. You are the one holding the syringe. However, that being your choice, I can not be a part of your treatment of him. It quite literally makes me cry.
 
Carolyn - For my own education - would you mind explaining your reason that Caryl should not be using R on Alex. And Carolyn, if she is not to use R, then what can/should she do to help Alex?

And while I don't know about R, I do know that it is used with some cats and successfully too. So, I'm a bit confused as to why you think she should NOT use R at all.

Also - Caryl - did you see jojo's posts to you late last night in yesterday's condo. I think she asked some questions and gave you some add'l information.
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
I received your PM Caryl.

I did not respond to your first PM because you made it quite clear that I had nothing to offer to you.

It is *still* my opinion that:

You should not be using R on this cat, at any time, in any amount, for any reason.
Your cat's dose is too high.
Your meter is potentially leading you astray. Your nose may be leading you astray as well.

I am very sorry if the following offends you, but I find the R use in Alex to be very unsettling. That is why I do not come by. I can not sit by and watch you do this. You chose to disregard what I said, and that's just fine. You are the one holding the syringe. However, that being your choice, I can not be a part of your treatment of him. It quite literally makes me cry.

I still have my first PM to you and it said nothing of the sort. It was an apology. I said I had made a mistake because i didn't know you. I'm not going to go any further than that because i have it. I was apologizing for hurting your feelings if I had done so.

If I felt that way, why would I have sent a second one? basically asking for your help......If I was so hellbent on using R, why did I call out for help today trying to get someone to tell me what i could do instead. I knew you were around. I didn't want to do the wrong thing but you/no one came by and I don't know how to handle the ketone thing any other way. I don't know what my alternatives are. I would have listened to you. And I need your help to help Alex. I would gladly give up the R (which i have hardly given at all)if you would help me get him on track. I have been pretty basically on my own like a dummy trying to figure out what to do with very few tools.

i do value your opinion...I did explain what happened . That was the truth.I can't beg you to help me. I apologized two times for a misunderstanding that was an innocent mistake. My cat is the one that is being hurt, aside from me feeling very embarrassed right now. You are one of the most highly knowledgeable people here and i have a difficult cat. Like I said, I didn't learn to use R by myself, so I could unlearn it too. But I'm being told don't do it but not being helped with what to do instead. I don't get that. If my dose is too high, I didn't get there by myself either. now I'm supposed to figure out how to get myself out of all of this by myself? we're all people here for the same reason.. and entitled to one mistake i thought.

believe me, I cry too.
 
I see that Alex found his way to yellow for PMPS. Good! Can you please mark the 0.25 R on your spreadsheet? It's important to know when R was given.

Hillary, I'm a novice at using R and I can't speak for Carolyn, but when I look at Alex's spreadsheet I see things like this: yesterday HI to 184 with no R (then bouncing back to 473), 392 to 59 with no R, 478 to 76 with no R, 403 to 84 with no R. All those are within the last week. To me, that says that there is no PS where it is safe to give R and keep Alex from possibly dropping into a danger zone. And with Lantus it is easy enough to bring up low numbers, but R is much more powerful so a low with R can be a lot harder to bring up. Sure, if he is in Rebound City then the R might keep him from going so high, but his bounces don't last long so you really can't be sure that he'll stay in RBC for the whole cycle. Make sense?
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I see that Alex found his way to yellow for PMPS. Good! Can you please mark the 0.25 R on your spreadsheet? It's important to know when R was given.

Hillary, I'm a novice at using R and I can't speak for Carolyn, but when I look at Alex's spreadsheet I see things like this: yesterday HI to 184 with no R (then bouncing back to 473), 392 to 59 with no R, 478 to 76 with no R, 403 to 84 with no R. All those are within the last week. To me, that says that there is no PS where it is safe to give R and keep Alex from possibly dropping into a danger zone. And with Lantus it is easy enough to bring up low numbers, but R is much more powerful so a low with R can be a lot harder to bring up. Sure, if he is in Rebound City then the R might keep him from going so high, but his bounces don't last long so you really can't be sure that he'll stay in RBC for the whole cycle. Make sense?

The point is I tried not to use it today..I has a subject line with an exclamation point icon up for almost two hours and there were people here that could have helped me and no one did. if you read through this thread you'll see that although my inclination is to use R I sat on my hands as long as I could until I couldn't take it anymore. I PM'd people for help as well. I wanted help. I realize it's a Sunday afternoon and people are out and about but in the time that I had the "please help" up, people checked in....I gave the R minutes before I got a PM back from someone. I never claimed not to need help. I DO need it.

when I gave it IS on my ss at +7. it has been since I gave it.
 
Hillary & Maui said:
Carolyn - For my own education - would you mind explaining your reason that Caryl should not be using R on Alex. And Carolyn, if she is not to use R, then what can/should she do to help Alex?

And while I don't know about R, I do know that it is used with some cats and successfully too. So, I'm a bit confused as to why you think she should NOT use R at all.

Also - Caryl - did you see jojo's posts to you late last night in yesterday's condo. I think she asked some questions and gave you some add'l information.

R should never be used on a cat that is not insulin resistant, unless under direct veterinary application or supervision.
 
Nice to see that yellow PMPS Caryl..
Iz a relief! Much better than the reds that you were seeing..

Hope that he is off to some better numbers ..
How is he feeling??

I'm also trying to understand what you should do with the higher numbers if R is not an alternative.. (I have absolutely no experience with R :roll: ) It seems like you have been on 4.75 units for quite some time.. Maybe those with more experience are trying to see if Alex is ready for an increase without the R? I'm trying to understand this too.. Not trying to create any waves or wrinkles..

Maybe put the words "Dosing help" in post title.. Will this help LL... or someone for Caryl to PM when she does have questions so that they can pop into her condo with some suggestions..

Just a suggestion..
 
Caryl, I will begin by saying that the reason I did not respond to your PM is because I did not appreciate your tone and the tone that you were taking with other people who were trying to help you. If you truly want help, I will help you.

However:

R: The R must go. I will not be party to any R treatment on this cat unless we determine together that it is necessary. If I even suspect R has been used, I will cease to assist.

Ketones: I want to see results with ketodiastix/ketostix. Do you test with these? I also believe the true positive meter response is 3.0, however I have more experience with ketostix/ketodiastix.

Other medications: Please list what and how much of anything he is on as well as what he was diagnosed with that resulted in their prescription. Why fluids? I see when you gave fluids he dropped like a stone. Is he dehydrated?

Basal insulin: up to 5.0u for time being. While it appears he is overdosed, sometimes the fastest way out of it is to give more. First 40 something you get, reduce him back to 4.75u.
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
Caryl, I will begin by saying that the reason I did not respond to your PM is because I did not appreciate your tone and the tone that you were taking with other people who were trying to help you. If you truly want help, I will help you.

I'm sorry that people think I took a tone with them it was never meant that way. Like I said, we're all people with our own sets of problems and there were times I couldn't explain things that were private. Questions kept coming at me that I couldn't answer and that may have come off as being defensive but I never was trying to be rude. If my tone was 'offensive' I was just trying to avoid things that were painful to me at the time and maybe stop the questions.Unfortunately, it's hard to tell what's really going on without seeing a person's face.

yes, I do truly want help, thank you.

However:

R: The R must go. I will not be party to any R treatment on this cat unless we determine together that it is necessary. If I even suspect R has been used, I will cease to assist.

I can do that. I wouldn't use it behind your or anyone's back. I want to help Alex. My cats are my best friends. can there be some kind of plan in case Alex develops ketones so I don't panic?

Ketones: I want to see results with ketodiastix/ketostix. Do you test with these? I also believe the true positive meter response is 3.0, however I have more experience with ketostix/ketodiastix.

I only use the meter when i need to know in a hurry and can't get a specimen. I have ketodiastix and ketostix in the house. Everything I read says that 3.0 is trouble on the meter but next time I can I'll do a sample of both at the same time. i hope it's not too soon.

Other medications: Please list what and how much of anything he is on as well as what he was diagnosed with that resulted in their prescription. Why fluids? I see when you gave fluids he dropped like a stone. Is he dehydrated?
He is on 5 mg tapezole a day 1/2 bid... He's hyper thyroid (getting tested again this week he's acting wacky, he's always hungry and hyper and doesn't gain weight) He tested low normal in December 4.2-but I can't believe that it's the same now. He was on fluids when he had ketones, the vet told me to give him 100 ml. once. He usually does drop from fluids.Other than that he's only on Xobaline now. 3mg a day.
He has a grade 2-3 heart murmur.
a small kidney stone that may or may not be responsible for blood in urine
a slightly elevated albumin level

I don't think he's dehydrated, he does urinate a lot but I soak his food in water also.

Basal insulin: up to 5.0u for time being. While it appears he is overdosed, sometimes the fastest way out of it is to give more. First 40 something you get, reduce him back to 4.75u.

I gave him a definite fur shot on the 25th in the AM and now I'm not sure if I did or not this morning beause of his numbers today. I just wanted you to know that because of the shed....
Thank you..very much

 
Tomorrow's dosing

Also.. do not increase him to 5.0u tomorrow, just let him ride this out. No R. You know he's gonna bounce, just ride it out. Test for ketones *in urine* around +6 past AMPS.

As far as Karo tonight.. give him about a tsp for now just to help the HC
 
Re: Tomorrow's dosing

Carolyn and Spot said:
Also.. do not increase him to 5.0u tomorrow, just let him ride this out. No R. You know he's gonna bounce, just ride it out. Test for ketones *in urine* around +6 past AMPS.

As far as Karo tonight.. give him about a tsp for now just to help the HC

He's up to 47 now..do you still think he needs the Karo or just HC food?
 
some HC should be ok. You want to get him up at least to 60's before bed. What + hour is it now, +3.25?

oops, carolyn and I gave different advice. I've personally never used Karo but ECID, use what works for Alex. :smile:
 
yeah I don't recommend it much either, but this is early in cycle and just about his normal drop cycle for R looking at his SS. He is +8 past his R shot... I am worried he could stay low the whole cycle if we don't intervene now.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
some HC should be ok. You want to get him up at least to 60's before bed. What + hour is it now, +3.25?

oops, carolyn and I gave different advice. I've personally never used Karo but ECID, use what works for Alex. :smile:

That's okay no problem I appreciate the help :)
 
ugh.
he should be much higher with karo on board. I'm heading to bed in less than 1/2 hour so let's work on a plan. You can HC him again now and do that test feed test feed thing until he's over 100, leave some more down and go to bed.. or you can stay up, let him surf, and hit him with LC, HC and/or Karo as needed. Your choice.
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
ugh.
he should be much higher with karo on board. I'm heading to bed in less than 1/2 hour so let's work on a plan. You can HC him again now and do that test feed test feed thing until he's over 100, leave some more down and go to bed.. or you can stay up, let him surf, and hit him with LC, HC and/or Karo as needed. Your choice.

Just till he's over 100 and it doesn't matter how he gets there? if I leave food down when i go to bed it'll be gone in 2 minutes. I have frozen low carb i can leave out....
 
depends on what your sleep schedule is like..If you are ok staying up for another 3 hours, just let him surf along and intervene if necessary. If you are about to fall asleep right now, HC him til he's over 100, 1tsp at a time, and leave HC out.

The Lantus has barely started working, so the very best thing to do would be to monitor and let him surf, being watchful for another drop, which should be coming.
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
depends on what your sleep schedule is like..If you are ok staying up for another 3 hours, just let him surf along and intervene if necessary. If you are about to fall asleep right now, HC him til he's over 100, 1tsp at a time, and leave HC out.

The Lantus has barely started working, so the very best thing to do would be to monitor and let him surf, being watchful for another drop, which should be coming.

I just gave him hc with some karo. I don't think I can make it up for more than another hour (only because I'm sick )but I can force myself to stay up until he gets to 100 or over . I can leave HC out but i guess that would mean locking him out of the bedroom. it would also mean that he would eat it all at one time because he has a voracious appetite and is always hungry. I could set my alarm to wake up and test and feed if that's an option?
 
Yeah I like the get up and feed and test routine. So.. go to bed in an hour, giving him a final HC before bed and making sure he's at a safe number then get up say 3 hours later to test again? Then you can decide at that time if you need to stay up or can go btb..
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
Yeah I like the get up and feed and test routine. So.. go to bed in an hour, giving him a final HC before bed and making sure he's at a safe number then get up say 3 hours later to test again? Then you can decide at that time if you need to stay up or can go btb..

I had a good idea:)

Okay it works for me too then. I'm going to test him again now and jeeze i hope he's made some progress. he burns everything up so fast.
Can you just tell me why it's a good idea to get all of the HC into him early in the cycle. There must be a reason behind that...does it have anything to do with the rebound the next day?
I read the instructions for tomorrow and I understand. no 5.0 tomorrow. ride out the bounce. no R. Get a ketostix ketone specimen at about +6 AMPS

Right?

Thank you! I feel like I am going to get some place with Alex for the first time in 5 months :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top