2/28/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 275 What is a typical food spike?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Good morning, everyone,
DH started a new job this morning, so we're changing the morning schedule and Tessie is going to get her insulin an hour earlier every day now. So, all went well with that. I do have a question about food spikes, though. We have been doing the "find the right food" dance for awhile now, and so far so good with Merrick after 4 days. Last night I did a spot check one hour after her PMPS evening meal of Grandma's Pot Pie. So, PMPS was 288 and +1 was 298. My question is: is that about normal? I mean, all food is going to cause a bit of a rise, right, so is 10 points acceptable?
 
Re: 2/28/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 275 What is a typical food spike

There isn't a clear or succinct answer to your question. It can depend on several factors (e.g., how carb sensitive your cat is vs. what the carb count of the food is, what direction numbers are heading overall, whether it's a new food since some cats have temporarily higher numbers with a food change, etc.). This is purely my rule of thumb but if I see a change of 10% or less, I'm likely to regard it as a food spike for Gabby.
 
Re: 2/28/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 275 What is a typical food spike

So, not sure I understand, Sienne, would you call 288 to 298 (approx. 2-3% increase) an "acceptable" spike? I believe the Grammy's Pot Pie she had last night is 4% carb.
 
Re: 2/28/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 275 What is a typical food spike

Yes. I'd think of that as either a small food spike or the numbers just reflect meter variance since they are essentially the same number.
 
Re: 2/28/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 275 What is a typical food spike

Putty is a food spiker but if he only goes up 50 points or less that usually means he will come back down. If it is more than 50 points then he tends to stay in higher numbers. If he does not spike or drops at +2 then I know there will be some action in the cycle or he will go low.

Looking at Tessie's ss it appears that she does not spike much from food although you know whatever we think one day can change the next. :roll:
 
Re: 2/28/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 275 What is a typical food spike

Ok, thanks Sienne and Miriam. Good to know. I'll do another similar check tonight to see if I get some consistency, but overall, I think it's looking good for the Merrick. :smile:
 
Re: 2/28/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 275 What is a typical food spike

I thought that the +1 was supposed to be similar to the AMPS/PMPS reading? Every cat is different but this is in the Lantus sticky:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top