2/27 Yoyo AMPS 175,+2 241,+3.5 126,+6.5 130,PMPS 456,+4 311,+7 245,+9 240

Good job shooting. I hope Yoyo surfs safely today. It looks like he was clearing a bounce from last night. If you can you may want to get a +1 and a +2.
 
Good job shooting. I hope Yoyo surfs safely today. It looks like he was clearing a bounce from last night. If you can you may want to get a +1 and a +2.
Thanks for letting me know that I did a good job shooting, it gives me confidence. I don't know how low he went last night but I do see him all night and he was acting fine. I should have checked him around 3:30am but I was do tired
 
With the data you have, there is absolutely no reason why you couldn’t have shot the 158 on time with the full dose. You’ve shot lower at this dose :) Stalling with a number like this only benefits you as the CG and not YoYo, right? The part of SLGS that advises what to do with a preshot between 150-200 and provides three options is for those members with little to no data. You have tons of data and you should be able to shoot any number above 90 without stalling unless you don’t have supplies or cannot be available to test. When you do shoot a lower number but one above 90, you just need to be sure you get a +1 and +2.

I’m sure what factored into your thoughts was that it appeared you were shooting a dropping number. He was clearing a bounce so you most likely were. But this can be an advantage as long as you can test and feed because it allows you to take advantage of carryover and overlap and give him a better cycle.

I wanted to a address your question from last night:

I'm trying to understand what you wrote about the pancreas working and not working. So if the pancreas is not working, then food should have no affect on his BG level drops, but food will affect his BG level increases? Only the insulin is bringing down his BG levels?
I keep track of what Yoyo eats on his SS. It isn't in ounzes, but it is in portion size to the can, 1/4 can, 1/2 can or 1/6 can.
As I am still confused with the food, I am trying to feed him at +3, +4 and +6. I'm trying to get his food into him by +6(easier said than done). I used to wait until +4 or +5 as I thought this would allow his BG levels to get to their lowest level. But then I was feeding him the rest of his food to late in the cycle.
Do you think feeding him at +3 and +4 is interfering with his BG level drops? Or as you wrote...food has no affect on drops at this time, only the insulin is allowing him to drop?
It is hard to figure out how his food intake is affeting his BG levels at this time as his BG levels are so high these past few days.
If I am understanding what you wrote about food and insulin, I need to get his food intake into him before nadir and do not feed after nadir. Maybe when his pancreas starts working, then food will affect the drops, but not now.
I think I am writing in circles, so I wil stop for now and wait to hear back from you.
Thanks always for all your input. It is greatly appreciated.

You’re welcome and I’m always happy to help you. I”m glad you are letting me know when something seems confusing or doesn’t answer your question.

It will help if I explain the function of the pancreas in diabetics and non diabetics first. This is an oversimplification, but there’s no need to get into the weeds on the physiology.

In a non diabetic, after a meal is eaten, the BG rises within 30-60 minutes. The beta cells in the pancreas release insulin to “remove” the excess sugar from the blood. The BG drops roughly three hours later back to normal.

In an insulin-dependent diabetic, the beta cells are not working or cannot produce enough endogenous (from within) insulin to do the job. The process begins the same in that after a meal is eaten, the BG rises within 30-60 minutes. The exogenous (from without) insulin we give will then start to remove the sugar from the blood once the insulin onsets; different insulins have different onset times. The shorter acting insulins like Normalin/Humulin, Caninsulin, and Vetsulin onset immediately so food must be on board before the shot is given. The longer duration insulins like Lantus and Levemir don’t onset for two hours so that gives you plenty of time at or after the shot to give food. Most of us feed at shot time because kitty has its face in the plate so it’s distracting to poke them with a needle. Plus, it does help to have some carbs on board when the insulin onsets.

Because insulin is a hormone, then when we give an insulin shot, it can affect the BG in different ways depending on whether it’s the right dose, how much the absorption rate is (it can vary up to 50% from shot to shot at the same dose), what the barometric pressure is, sometimes what the season is, etc. Lots of things can affect the BG of our diabetic cat on any given cycle when the same dose is shot. We use the carbs in the food to “work” with the insulin so the BG doesn’t drop dramatically when the insulin onsets. That’s why it’s really important that we know when our own kitty onsets. We want to be sure the appropriate amount of food is there for the insulin or else the insulin starts to remove sugar from the blood and that can potentially result in hypoglycemia depending on the number we shot. When we see kitties that don’t eat and insulin is given, we often see the BG drop at onset.

When you say “1/4 can” or “1/2 can”, that’s not a precise measurement that is consistent from cycle to cycle or even meal to meal. For example, I feed my kitties a balanced raw diet and my little one eats 2 oz a day in four meals. If I just estimate 1/2 of her 1 oz cube, I’ve found that one meal she might get 0.4 oz and the next one with the other half of the cube is 0.6 oz. I weigh her food out each morning to be sure each helping she gets is 0.5 oz. It keeps her from being hungry that way. I also weighed out Gracie’s food because she did better, on Lantus, if I gave her a larger portion at AMPS and +1.

When I said “food has no effect on drops at +3 and +4, only the insulin is allowing him to drop” what I meant was that if you are feeding his regular LC food and he has an active cycle with Lantus, the BG will drop until nadir based on the insulin; the food doesn’t cause the drop in a diabetic cat whose pancreas is not or is barely working. Have you ever seen this chart below?

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

However, if a diabetic cat is tightly regulated and is in all green and on a low dose (a drop to 0.1u), the pancreas is likely working. If that is the case, the food given at PS will affect the BG 3-4 hours later by dropping it. Do you see the difference between that scenario and a situation where a cat is not tightly regulated and not on a low dose (ergo the pancreas isn’t really working)? The drops are due to the insulin, not to the pancreas releasing insulin in response to food fed three hours earlier.

For many cats on Lantus, feeding at PS, +1, +2, +3 works great for them. For others, feeding at PS, +2, +3, +4 helps. It really takes experimentation on your part to figure out how many minimeals before nadir he needs and whether he will eat all the food.

You are correct when you say "I need to get his food intake into him before nadir and do not feed after nadir. Maybe when his pancreas starts working, then food will affect the drops, but not now”. However, the important part is that his pancreas isn’t going to start working until he’s spending long hours in green.

Please let me know if this helps. I’ll have more time this weekend to give you some specific examples of what I see on his SS but I’m short on time the next few days. My apologies.:);)
 
With the data you have, there is absolutely no reason why you couldn’t have shot the 158 on time with the full dose. You’ve shot lower at this dose :) Stalling with a number like this only benefits you as the CG and not YoYo, right? The part of SLGS that advises what to do with a preshot between 150-200 and provides three options is for those members with little to no data. You have tons of data and you should be able to shoot any number above 90 without stalling unless you don’t have supplies or cannot be available to test. When you do shoot a lower number but one above 90, you just need to be sure you get a +1 and +2.

I’m sure what factored into your thoughts was that it appeared you were shooting a dropping number. He was clearing a bounce so you most likely were. But this can be an advantage as long as you can test and feed because it allows you to take advantage of carryover and overlap and give him a better cycle.

I wanted to a address your question from last night:



You’re welcome and I’m always happy to help you. I”m glad you are letting me know when something seems confusing or doesn’t answer your question.

It will help if I explain the function of the pancreas in diabetics and non diabetics first. This is an oversimplification, but there’s no need to get into the weeds on the physiology.

In a non diabetic, after a meal is eaten, the BG rises within 30-60 minutes. The beta cells in the pancreas release insulin to “remove” the excess sugar from the blood. The BG drops roughly three hours later back to normal.

In an insulin-dependent diabetic, the beta cells are not working or cannot produce enough endogenous (from within) insulin to do the job. The process begins the same in that after a meal is eaten, the BG rises within 30-60 minutes. The exogenous (from without) insulin we give will then start to remove the sugar from the blood once the insulin onsets; different insulins have different onset times. The shorter acting insulins like Normalin/Humulin, Caninsulin, and Vetsulin onset immediately so food must be on board before the shot is given. The longer duration insulins like Lantus and Levemir don’t onset for two hours so that gives you plenty of time at or after the shot to give food. Most of us feed at shot time because kitty has its face in the plate so it’s distracting to poke them with a needle. Plus, it does help to have some carbs on board when the insulin onsets.

Because insulin is a hormone, then when we give an insulin shot, it can affect the BG in different ways depending on whether it’s the right dose, how much the absorption rate is (it can vary up to 50% from shot to shot at the same dose), what the barometric pressure is, sometimes what the season is, etc. Lots of things can affect the BG of our diabetic cat on any given cycle when the same dose is shot. We use the carbs in the food to “work” with the insulin so the BG doesn’t drop dramatically when the insulin onsets. That’s why it’s really important that we know when our own kitty onsets. We want to be sure the appropriate amount of food is there for the insulin or else the insulin starts to remove sugar from the blood and that can potentially result in hypoglycemia depending on the number we shot. When we see kitties that don’t eat and insulin is given, we often see the BG drop at onset.

When you say “1/4 can” or “1/2 can”, that’s not a precise measurement that is consistent from cycle to cycle or even meal to meal. For example, I feed my kitties a balanced raw diet and my little one eats 2 oz a day in four meals. If I just estimate 1/2 of her 1 oz cube, I’ve found that one meal she might get 0.4 oz and the next one with the other half of the cube is 0.6 oz. I weigh her food out each morning to be sure each helping she gets is 0.5 oz. It keeps her from being hungry that way. I also weighed out Gracie’s food because she did better, on Lantus, if I gave her a larger portion at AMPS and +1.

When I said “food has no effect on drops at +3 and +4, only the insulin is allowing him to drop” what I meant was that if you are feeding his regular LC food and he has an active cycle with Lantus, the BG will drop until nadir based on the insulin; the food doesn’t cause the drop in a diabetic cat whose pancreas is not or is barely working. Have you ever seen this chart below?



However, if a diabetic cat is tightly regulated and is in all green and on a low dose (a drop to 0.1u), the pancreas is likely working. If that is the case, the food given at PS will affect the BG 3-4 hours later by dropping it. Do you see the difference between that scenario and a situation where a cat is not tightly regulated and not on a low dose (ergo the pancreas isn’t really working)? The drops are due to the insulin, not to the pancreas releasing insulin in response to food fed three hours earlier.

For many cats on Lantus, feeding at PS, +1, +2, +3 works great for them. For others, feeding at PS, +2, +3, +4 helps. It really takes experimentation on your part to figure out how many minimeals before nadir he needs and whether he will eat all the food.

You are correct when you say "I need to get his food intake into him before nadir and do not feed after nadir. Maybe when his pancreas starts working, then food will affect the drops, but not now”. However, the important part is that his pancreas isn’t going to start working until he’s spending long hours in green.

Please let me know if this helps. I’ll have more time this weekend to give you some specific examples of what I see on his SS but I’m short on time the next few days. My apologies.:);)

Thank you for sending all the information. When I have free time, I will absorb what you wrote. I is greatly appreciated!!!

The lowest number that I have shot is 188 on 1/27/19. This number is from the Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. I have shot a lower number from the Human Meter (113). Today's reading from the Human Meter was 132 when I gave Yoyo his insulin. The Alphatrak 2 is what I was going by this morning and 158 was just too low and I remembered that my Vet told me that I should not give insulin under 170. So I try and take everyone's advice into consideration and that is why I stalled. Once I saw that Yoyo was going up I was more comfortable to give him his insulin at 175 on the Alphatrak2 Pet Meter.

I understand what you mean by being precise with the food. And I understand that the insulin at this time is causing his drops, not the food, and that the food can also increase his BG and that is why it is important to give precise amounts.

I am trying to get his food in earlier in the cycle. I believe what I was doing before was too much food at +4/+5 and at +6/+7.
I sill gave him food today @+6, I got busy with work and was delayed. Also, he is a vomitor, and I try to keep food in that belly to prevent the vomiting. He is a problem child:).

Please don't apologize to meabout being available, I appreciate any time that you can give me & Yoyo. Please, when you have time, look over his SS and tell me what you see. If I'm doing something that isn't exactly right, please let me know.

Many thanks!!
 
Thank you for sending all the information. When I have free time, I will absorb what you wrote. I is greatly appreciated!!!

The lowest number that I have shot is 188 on 1/27/19. This number is from the Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. I have shot a lower number from the Human Meter (113). Today's reading from the Human Meter was 132 when I gave Yoyo his insulin. The Alphatrak 2 is what I was going by this morning and 158 was just too low and I remembered that my Vet told me that I should not give insulin under 170. So I try and take everyone's advice into consideration and that is why I stalled. Once I saw that Yoyo was going up I was more comfortable to give him his insulin at 175 on the Alphatrak2 Pet Meter.

I understand what you mean by being precise with the food. And I understand that the insulin at this time is causing his drops, not the food, and that the food can also increase his BG and that is why it is important to give precise amounts.

I am trying to get his food in earlier in the cycle. I believe what I was doing before was too much food at +4/+5 and at +6/+7.
I sill gave him food today @+6, I got busy with work and was delayed. Also, he is a vomitor, and I try to keep food in that belly to prevent the vomiting. He is a problem child:).

Please don't apologize to meabout being available, I appreciate any time that you can give me & Yoyo. Please, when you have time, look over his SS and tell me what you see. If I'm doing something that isn't exactly right, please let me know.

Many thanks!!
Excellent. You did shoot a 134 on the evening of 2/8. I assumed you had stopped testing either the AT meter. It’s going to be Very difficult for me to advise you very well if you are switching meters and I have no idea which one you are using. It’s also difficult to interpret patterns even if I do know which meter but you are switching back and forth.

I have to really urge you to use just one meter or the other and not both. Time to make the jump!!!

Also remember that vets are more cautious because they can’t be there 24/7 to help you if numbers drop. You’ve got people here to help you. I’ve had a vet tell me I was killing Gracie by shooting 100s and Gracie was not diabetic. That was early on. I dropped her dose back but didn’t stop insulin. The BG sky rocketed. guess what...she was diabetic 5-1/2 years.
 
Excellent. You did shoot a 134 on the evening of 2/8. I assumed you had stopped testing either the AT meter. It’s going to be Very difficult for me to advise you very well if you are switching meters and I have no idea which one you are using. It’s also difficult to interpret patterns even if I do know which meter but you are switching back and forth.

I have to really urge you to use just one meter or the other and not both. Time to make the jump!!!

Also remember that vets are more cautious because they can’t be there 24/7 to help you if numbers drop. You’ve got people here to help you. I’ve had a vet tell me I was killing Gracie by shooting 100s and Gracie was not diabetic. That was early on. I dropped her dose back but didn’t stop insulin. The BG sky rocketed. guess what...she was diabetic 5-1/2 years.

I can't believe I missed the dose on 2/8. Wow, I was brave:)

I have not switched meters. I am using the Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. Please know that all my BG readings are from the Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. If I ever switch meters, I will absolutely tell you. I am getting used to a human meter for my own sake, but I am not switching back and forth on Yoyo's SS. Yoyo's SS is all Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. I would never do that and confused the BG readings. I keep track of the Human Meter under Template. This is for my own records and does not reflect any BG readings on Yoyo's 2019 SS. It makes me feel more comfortable charting both meters for if I ever decide to change over to the human meter.
 
I can't believe I missed the dose on 2/8. Wow, I was brave:)

I have not switched meters. I am using the Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. Please know that all my BG readings are from the Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. If I ever switch meters, I will absolutely tell you. I am getting used to a human meter for my own sake, but I am not switching back and forth on Yoyo's SS. Yoyo's SS is all Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. I would never do that and confused the BG readings. I keep track of the Human Meter under Template. This is for my own records and does not reflect any BG readings on Yoyo's 2019 SS. It makes me feel more comfortable charting both meters for if I ever decide to change over to the human meter.
Yes you were and you can always be :)

Thanks for letting me know that about the SS and the AT.
 
Back
Top