2/27 Weezer AMPS 357, switch to Lev question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 302 (16 u Lantus + .5 u R)
+2 285
+3 265
+4 232
+5 223
+6 200
+7 188
+8 204
PMPS 261 (16 u Lantus + .25 u R)
+3 395
+5 391
+7 332
+11 327

Yesterday’s AM cycle was much better. We even had a brief dip into blue. Since it was such a gentle slide down, I had hopes there wouldn’t be a bounce. But last night she was back to high pink. This morning she got .5 R with her Lantus.

We hope to start Lev with the PM cycle today. How long should it take to have her body totally switched over; the Lantus shed depleted and the Levemir shed full?

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Linda, I don't have any answers for you regarding the lev but wanted to say hi and good luck with the change over. I hope and pray Weezer takes to it really well and starts showing some really good, consistent numbers. You might want to ask Marje some questions about lev because I think she changed Gracie from lantus to lev.
 
Good Morning Linda. I'll be interested in all the advice you get, as I am going to try Lev, also.
Good luck for Weezer, with the switch. :smile:
 
Linda and Weezer, sending positive vines for the switch to Lev. I think Rusty is on Lev, too, not positive. Have a nice Monday. We're raining here.
 
Good Morning Linda & Weezer,

Exciting day: switching to Lev. this evening. I can't help you with the question about how long it takes to drain the Lantus shed while building the Lev. shed, since Rusty was already on Lev. when we adopted him. Marje's Gracie and Ann's Tess switched, as did Lisa's Do Lou. I believe that Jill switched Alex from Lantus to Lev., and I'm pretty sure that Libby switched Jazzy from Lantus to Lev. I'm sure that you will be hearing from some or all of them.

Have a good day. Weezer, bring your numbers down today, OK?

Ella & Rusty
 
Morning! Hope that the change to lev will do the trick for Weezer & brings down her numbers...
I dont know much about it as Moonie has been on lantus for so long now--
Wishing you success on the change & have a great Monday!
Hugs & Love from us!
 
No answers here, but wanted to wish you luck on the switch. I hope Lev is more effective for Weezer and brings the dose down. Have a great day Linda!
 
Hi guys .. hurray for the dip into blues yesterday! Sorry to see another pink this morning, but how exciting is it to think levemir might be just what this little girl needs? Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Linda

Good luck with the switch. I hope you both "lev" it :lol:

I'm going to say ECID on how long to get the sheds in order. It took Gracie six days to start showing some blue and we were aggressive with her dosing. Tess dropped like crazy immediately BUT she had had a UTI and was finishing her ABs at the switch so her numbers on the lantus were coming way down. I think there are many things to consider like the size of the sheds...Weezers is much larger than Gracie's. Also...how aggressively can you increase the lev dose....I don't know the answer to that with an acro/IAA kitty.

I would look at Jazzys SS...it is very clearly marked when Libby switched her. I also believe Libby posted in your condo the other day. We've also let Jill and Libby know you have this question. But I'm not sure anyone is going to have that crystal ball. :-D
 
sorry I'm late. I fell asleep on the couch almost as soon as I got home from work tonight. :roll:

Good luck with the switch! It's hard to say how long it will take for one shed to deplete and the other to fill. A lot of cats react to the switch on the first or second dose, dropping quite a bit but then coming back up and not needing a reduction. Others take their time. You have R, and that can help cover if the numbers get wonky.

When I switched Jazzy to Lev, I reduced her dose just a little bit, I think just a couple of units. Her numbers did flatten out almost immediately.

Are you planning to reduce Weezer's dose? What I'm thinking is that you could try starting at about the same dose (14u-16u) but leaving out the R for the first few cycles, just in case Weezer responds to Lev right away. What do you think?
 
BEST OF LUCK WITH THE SWITCH, GUYS!

funny-pictures-switch.jpg
 
Hi Linda,

As you know I am strictly a 'lurker' these days stopping by to read Weezer's and Punkin's condos. Plus all the acro SS I can find.

I am sorry Pinky's SS is not up to date but I will briefly fill you in.

I can't answer any of your questions about the sheds, etc.

I did switch Pinky to levemir 1 month ago. She was jerking away from the lantus shots (up to 16u) and it was getting more difficult to shoot. Easier when my DH held her but he is often not home. Anyway, this was happening with every shot. It may not matter when the doses are small but I was wondering if the acid base of Lantus (supposedly more sting) was causing all the squirming and movement. (Plus I vaguely remember reading that for people on levemir there is less of a chance of hypos so hope that would be true for cats too .)

The difference was immediate with one shot of levemir--she didn't move, flinch, or jerk. And for the past month I have easily given her shots with no squirming whatsoever.

I started on a lower dose of lev. and realized quickly that wasn't going to work. Quickly went to the same dose as the lantus and have surpassed it now. (20u) Plus a great deal of R with little effect. (IGF-1 367, IAA 68) Researching SRT.

Though neither insulins have given any control over the diabetes (consistently in the pinks with scattered high yellows) I much prefer the levemir. There is no question in my mind that the lantus was starting to 'sting' and even using it at room temp. as recommended by the manufacturor didn't help. ECID though.

Good luck with the levemir. Weezer has responded with blues before so lets hope the levemir does the trick. Pinky loves pink. Period. Elaine and Pinky
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top