2/27 - Scooter - AMPS 288, +4 56, +5 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
Last thread here

The rundown - Scooter had a pancreatitis attack, now he's on Clavamox and I should have dropped his dose but I didn't think that bounce would clear so soon. Yikes! Good thing I just got 300 strips in the mail today, I only had 2 left!!!!

I just gave him some normal food, I hope he surfs this out, but if not I have karo and HC with gravy on hand.
 
Re: 2/27 - Scooter - AMPS 288, +4 56 whoa there

Please re-test in 30 min. You want to make sure the LC got Scooter surfing. I'm glad your strips arrived!
 
Re: 2/27 - Scooter - AMPS 288, +4 56 whoa there

Hi Ry,

That's quite a drop at +4. It looks like the infection is clearing. I'd get another test at +4.5.

How is Scooter feeling?
 
Re: 2/27 - Scooter - AMPS 288, +4 56 whoa there

68 at +4.5, he sat in my lap purring as usual and wanted more food when we were done.
 
Re: 2/27 - Scooter - AMPS 288, +4 56 whoa there

Nice! I'm glad he's eating and purring..it sounds like he's feeling better. :smile: I'd keep an eye on his numbers....it's early in the cycle.
 
Re: 2/27 - Scooter - AMPS 288, +4 56 whoa there

So glad to hear Scooter is feeling better...what a scare! Surf it, Scooter!!
 
Re: 2/27 - Scooter - AMPS 288, +4 56 whoa there

76 at +5. I think we're safe for today but I'm going to decrease his dose back down to 2. I'm just awaiting the awful bounce this evening :-D
 
It's GOOD to be home!!!!!!

cats-playing-fetch-21243555.jpg
 
great to see scooter back in LL! welcome home little buddy - glad you're feeling better! cat_pet_icon

this conversation just happened on someone else's condo a few days ago, but i'm not remembering which cat. my understanding is that you don't decrease the insulin in anticipation of the infection clearing up with AB's, but to wait until the cat actually drops below 50 to decrease. the reason being that especially with an infection, you want the cat to get enough insulin.

see what scooter does the rest of this cycle, but if he does bounce, many people will "shoot through the bounce" and take the reduction on the next cycle. so in other words, they don't decrease the dose on the first shot after the low numbers, but do take the reduction on the next shot. that is only the case if there is a bounce and the numbers are high.

you might edit your subject line and ask for dose advice. i'm just repeating what i understand from a few days ago.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top