2/27 Sarah AMPS 294

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Sarah and Nancy

Hope we can see those numbers start to come down! We are rooting for you!
 
Good Morning Nancy and you too extra sweet Sarah.

Welcome to Relaxed Lantus. I see you are just switching from N to Lantus. Looks like Sarah already likes it much better than she did the N. Yay!!

I'm sure you've probably answered all this over on Health. But if you could give us a quick recap. What is Sarah's current diet? How often does she eat? Any other health problems besides diabetes that you know about? Plus anything else you'd like to tell us about to help us get to know you and Sarah better.

Personally I have 16 cats 3 of those are diabetic. I've had 5 diabetics but sadly I lost my first girl Muse to a hypo overnight while she was still on N and we were waiting on her Lantus. Then I lost my adopted girl Musette to an emergency vet screw up. Of my current 3 Maxwell has been in remission 3+ years, Autumn is trying very hard to follow suit and go off insulin and Cassanova is a recent addition and since I adopted him in November has gone from 11u bid to 1u bid.

You'll find us a small but friendly bunch here. There are. 2 Lantus forums because there are two different protocols. Here we are Start Low Go Slow there is also the Tight Regulation folks. Both protocols are fairly similar except we don't test as much here because of very busy lives and because of that we are more conservative about how fast we raise doses.

You may find at times its a little quiet here especially on the weekends. We're most active in the mornings and evenings. So if something comes up that you need a quick answer and someone here isn't getting back to you quick enough feel free to cross post in either Health or the other Lantus forum.

Got any questions for us?

Looking forward to seeing more of you both and welcome to the RL family

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hi Nancy and Sarah and welcome to Relaxed Lantus. My cat Max is pretty new to Lantus too. We started on it in mid-December. We've been working on his dose slowly and have started into some really great #'s lately. Like Mel mentioned, it looks like you're already starting to see little bit better #'s for Sarah. Yay!
 
Yay for the Lantus! It's nice to see it start working so quickly. Please let us know how it continues to go throughout the day. :-D
 
Well lets see I took her in because of UI but after doing some reading, figured that it was probably going to be Diabeties well it was both. got the infection cleared up but she still wont use litter box, but not peeing as much. Changed her food to FF but still using a little EVO dry. I feed her right after I test her then shot. She weighs about 8.4lbs a little under weight. she is getting about 3oz of FF in morning and another 3oz of FF in the evening for dinner, with just a little dry. Is this to much for her.
Her PMPS tonight was 351 she really didnt eat while I was gone today. Just gave her the PM shot at 8:00
 
Nope that should be about a perfect amount of FF but the sooner you can get her completely off dry the better her numbers are going to be. Oh just checking...FF Classics right?

It takes a few days for Lantus to build up in her system before you'll see the full effect of the dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Nope that should be about a perfect amount of FF but the sooner you can get her completely off dry the better her numbers are going to be. Oh just checking...FF Classics right?

It takes a few days for Lantus to build up in her system before you'll see the full effect of the dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yes Classics reading here has done a world of good. Info is awesome! She is getiting so she doesnt want the dry so much. Should she have food while im at work though or is twice aday enough for her this is what she is use to.
 
Whatever she's used to. Keeping that in mind, you might want to leave food out for her while you're gone in case she drops low and needs to eat. Many small meals across the day seems to also help the pancreas perform better in our extra sweet kitties, but that only works if they actually eat that way (grazing) so Sarah might just turn up her nose at it till "mealtime" anyway. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top