julie & punkin (ga)
Member Since 2011
Hi,
Just checking in for advice on punkin . . . do i keep his insulin dosage the same?
also, i saw a suggestion on here somewhere to dilute their canned food with water. i did that today . . . and it went fine, but i'm wondering what the advantage is. is it good for them to get the extra water?
thanks again for all of your help! i appreciate everyone!
I don't have a profile done on him yet, but here's the basics:
fairly anxious cat in general, although great with people he knows
Diagnosed Dec 1, (excessive thirst and peeing) prozinc & canned purina DM. BG kept improving, off insulin Jan 4
Jan 24, symptoms again, BG 350ish, back on prozinc, i had switched him to dry purina dm - didn't know :-[ started at 2 units, increased every few days to 4 units, BG no improvement (testing only at the vet's) ranged from 300s to a high of 531.
Feb 12 switched to Lantus, switched to canned fancy feast, started at 2 units BID.
Feb 15 increased to 3 units
Feb 20 we started testing at home - the spreadsheet is attached.
Just checking in for advice on punkin . . . do i keep his insulin dosage the same?
also, i saw a suggestion on here somewhere to dilute their canned food with water. i did that today . . . and it went fine, but i'm wondering what the advantage is. is it good for them to get the extra water?
thanks again for all of your help! i appreciate everyone!
I don't have a profile done on him yet, but here's the basics:
fairly anxious cat in general, although great with people he knows
Diagnosed Dec 1, (excessive thirst and peeing) prozinc & canned purina DM. BG kept improving, off insulin Jan 4
Jan 24, symptoms again, BG 350ish, back on prozinc, i had switched him to dry purina dm - didn't know :-[ started at 2 units, increased every few days to 4 units, BG no improvement (testing only at the vet's) ranged from 300s to a high of 531.
Feb 12 switched to Lantus, switched to canned fancy feast, started at 2 units BID.
Feb 15 increased to 3 units
Feb 20 we started testing at home - the spreadsheet is attached.