2/27 punkin AMPS 138, +3 110, +6 128, +9 161 PMPS190 +3 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
Hi,

Just checking in for advice on punkin . . . do i keep his insulin dosage the same?

also, i saw a suggestion on here somewhere to dilute their canned food with water. i did that today . . . and it went fine, but i'm wondering what the advantage is. is it good for them to get the extra water?

thanks again for all of your help! i appreciate everyone!


I don't have a profile done on him yet, but here's the basics:

fairly anxious cat in general, although great with people he knows

Diagnosed Dec 1, (excessive thirst and peeing) prozinc & canned purina DM. BG kept improving, off insulin Jan 4

Jan 24, symptoms again, BG 350ish, back on prozinc, i had switched him to dry purina dm - didn't know :-[ started at 2 units, increased every few days to 4 units, BG no improvement (testing only at the vet's) ranged from 300s to a high of 531.

Feb 12 switched to Lantus, switched to canned fancy feast, started at 2 units BID.
Feb 15 increased to 3 units
Feb 20 we started testing at home - the spreadsheet is attached.
 
Re: 2/27 punkin AMPS 138, +3 110, +6 128, +9 161 PMPS190 +3

What an awesome day Punkin had yesterday. The Lantus and the diet change look like they really suit him.

Adding water is a great idea if he likes it. It will help with his stool and keep him from dehydrating. Many kitties don't drink enough on their own.

He's been on this dose for 4 cycles, typically the recommendation is to hold for at least 6 to let it settle.

Very glad you're home testing. It looks like he's doing great.
 
Re: 2/27 punkin AMPS 138, +3 110, +6 128, +9 161 PMPS190 +3

thanks Nina!

both he and my other kitty are amazingly happy with the soupy food. i'll keep it up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top