2/27 Minnie - PMPS 40, 273 after 20min, 610 +13, 138 +2, 595 +3, 511 +4, 599 +6.25, 506 +10, 540+12

You can move back your time by 30 minutes every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle. Shooting too early can act like an increase. Don’t feed within 2 hours of shooting. Test her though so you can see if she’s dropping.
Please get a test now though to make sure she’s not still dropping.
 
Just tested - 165 @+10.5.

Understand about not shooting early, was wondering (hoping) I can feed now and re-test/shoot in an hour-ish? Or do I have to make her wait for food. thanks.
 
You're right! 110@ +12. Now what do we do - same as last night, stall 20min and re-test?

She will continue to fall without food, so stalling does not help. With her previous DKA, you need to give some insulin and not skip. Are you following TR? And will you be able to monitor her if you shoot?
Why don't you feed her now and I will ask @tiffmaxee to advice on what to shoot (full dose or a token).
 
With TR you can shoot the full dose if you have supplies and can monitor. I can’t stay with you today though.

You need to shoot something because of DKA history so at least a half dose.
 
Firstly, I got my maths wrong...110 @11.5 so I was checking a bit early. Yes I am following TR and can monitor (though she has now started resisting testing but hopefully more because she's hangry than hurting ears!).

Updating before posting! 185 @+12:D. Fed and about to shoot. THANKS AGAIN
 
Thanks to you both. She was back up to 185 at exactly +12h. How often do I need to check BG today?

I'm pretty sure her ears are hurting from my diligent testing, based on her reaction (she's now growling when I touch her ears)
 
Hi Liz, My first time visiting Minnie. She is so pretty! Looks like you both have had an exciting couple of days. Hope she keeps visiting the beach! Have a lovely day, Liz.
 
Hi Liz, My first time visiting Minnie. She is so pretty! Looks like you both have had an exciting couple of days. Hope she keeps visiting the beach! Have a lovely day, Liz.
Hi Katherine, nice to 'meet' you and thank you! This picture is when her ears were still untouched by my clumsy lancing. I'm just back from buying her some Ledum 30C. Having a diabetic cat is like starting a new hobby! We're still new but yes, lots of excitement to see blues and I'm relieved FINALLY getting out of red/black though she is not impressed with even more ear poking and is serenading me with a her throaty growls.

I just visited your spreadsheet, so tidy! And I am going to steal your idea of hyperlinking the dates to the posts. Genius. Hope you had a good day too.:)
 
Hi Katherine, nice to 'meet' you and thank you! This picture is when her ears were still untouched by my clumsy lancing. I'm just back from buying her some Ledum 30C. Having a diabetic cat is like starting a new hobby! We're still new but yes, lots of excitement to see blues and I'm relieved FINALLY getting out of red/black though she is not impressed with even more ear poking and is serenading me with a her throaty growls.

I just visited your spreadsheet, so tidy! And I am going to steal your idea of hyperlinking the dates to the posts. Genius. Hope you had a good day too.:)
My little Ruby's ears were scarred and scabby when I first started testing her because I didn't know what I was doing. Go back to some of my posts in October 2020 and they will mostly be about me crying over not getting the technique down. Minnie's ears will heal and you both will be pros at the whole poking thing soon enough.

The hyperlinking is really helpful as I do use this forum as a kind of daily chronicle of what is going on with Ruby. It also helps me to go back to old posts to see just how far she and I have come on this journey.

Have a great night!
 
Advice please. Got 40 at PMPS though she seems completely normal. I panicked and only read the stickys on this situation after I gave her a can of FF gravy lovers. She won't let me near her ear to get a repeat reading. Thanks!
 
You will want to test in about 20 mins from last test. The food takes about 20-30 mins. That is quite a bit of food. Did she eat it all?
 
Ok, thanks for confirming. Are you on pet meter or human? And it looks like about 15 mins till next test?
 
Advice please. Got 40 at PMPS though she seems completely normal. I panicked and only read the stickys on this situation after I gave her a can of FF gravy lovers. She won't let me near her ear to get a repeat reading. Thanks!
Next time you get an odd reading, you immediately retest. It could be a bad strip.

ETA: Could you take out the AM numbers from your thread title please :-)
What a lot of excitement for you in the last 24 hours!
 
And since I messed things up with the FF I guess I'm going to need to know
  • can I feed her more? I have more FF or can return to the 2-8% collection.
  • when next to test and how frequently after that
  • when/how much to shoot
None urgent...except maybe the food. She wants more.
 
I would say bad strip and shoot the whole dose, but let's wait to see what @tiffmaxee says.

You would have to be up and test her to see what her numbers are like after the HC wears off in a couple of hours.
 
Liz, are you there? How is Minnie looking? Still hungry?
I'm here! Was replying to @tiffmaxee who'd replied on 2/26 thread.

Minnie is sleeping, looking fine. About 10min ago was sitting like a loaf (new term to me, was googling earlier. Not sure if a bread loaf/happy or meatloaf/poorly though) but now curled up. No longer hungry.

@tiffmaxee
Understand the 40 likely a wonky strip but don't understand "I think you should shoot I. 2 hours but you can’t feed her until then"

I tested at +12, got 40 and panicked so fed her can of FF gravy lover immediately. Re-tested @+20m, got 273. It is now+13 (45min since last test with 273) and 10:30pm here. Do I give her the 4.25 now?

I think yes shoot now based on @Chris&China message above? Should I test again now before shooting and again at +2?

(I'm being so needy! and Minnie is cool as a snoozing cucumber) thanks
 
Last edited:
Yes, can you test again please? It's been how long since the HC?
I just shot then tested. 619, the HC an hour ago certainly kicked in! It's a bit of a blur to me but I think I have it right on the s/s now and here:

40 @+12 (likely wonky strip)
FF @+12 + <5min
273 @+12 +20min
619 and shot Lev 4.25u @+13.25
 
So much for getting back on schedule with the shots! :banghead:
But I can give them breakfast at normal time and still have plenty of time before the shot? Breakfast would normally be 730ish and tomorrow's AM shot will be 10:30.

I'm guessing our data for the next couple of days will be a bit wonky while we get back to schedule.

PS I love Bandit's photo, looks like she's coming straight at the camera with something important to say!
 
That was some rollercoaster today, a lot of stress i imagine... you are doing a great job though, i know exactly the feeling of panic and need for some advice before taking action :bighug:

I’m so sad to hear that you are struggling with the poking, we have just finally switch from having to hold him in 2 people and measure (specially before the shot since he was soooo hungry) to him coming and lying on the table next to the microwave as soon as he hears us warming up the rice sock to measure. To be honest, now he comes and lies down no matter what we heat up in the microwave )))

what helped a lot was pretending to be very blissful no matter how stressed we were during measuring, definitely the rice sock was a huge helper and regularly giving him a treat after measuring. It took abt a month of faking it until we made it:blackeye::blackeye:

i am sure it will get better for Minnie with time as well. always remind yourself that it doesn’t hurt her, it should give you some peace of mind. Just to avoid bruises press on the poking place for a few seconds after measuring.

good luck in the PM cycle :bighug::bighug:
 
But I can give them breakfast at normal time and still have plenty of time before the shot? Breakfast would normally be 730ish and tomorrow's AM shot will be 10:30.
If you shot at 10:30pm tonight, you can shoot at 10:15 am tomorrow morning (15 mins ahead every cycle). And yes, you can feed her at 07:30 am. No food after 8-8:15am.

PS I love Bandit's photo, looks like she's coming straight at the camera with something important to say!
Thank you. It's actually very hard to get her to look into the camera. Just got lucky this time! :-)
 
I think it would be worth while you getting a +10 or +11 so you can get a heads up if Minnie is going to be lower at preshot. That will give you time to ask for help and work out what you are going to do. And we can also see if she is on the way up or on the way down at preshot.
If the BG is low at +10 you could give some food to hopefully bring the BG up for preshot. But +11 is too late to do that.
If she was starving, that 40 could have been a true reading.
 
I think it would be worth while you getting a +10 or +11 so you can get a heads up if Minnie is going to be lower at preshot. That will give you time to ask for help and work out what you are going to do. And we can also see if she is on the way up or on the way down at preshot.
If the BG is low at +10 you could give some food to hopefully bring the BG up for preshot. But +11 is too late to do that.
If she was starving, that 40 could have been a true reading.
I think you're right about the 40...just got 138 @+2! Fed her a bit more 8% carb. Gonna be a long night... Ok to test in 2h or should I do it in 1h?

Yes will do a +10 or +11, looking like that's her nadir based on yesterday...and now I look back, the few earlier days I took a reading at that time. I wasn't really paying attention to the numbers back then, was too busy worrying about all the red and black!

Cheers
 
Back
Top