2/27 Max PMPS 109~+1.5 82~+2 93~+3 65~+4 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Happy Caturday LL
Finally the weekend is here and weather is amazing.

Today's day started very uneventful and probably will continue to do so, since it is the weekend and I will be around more.

Max was anxiously waiting for me this morning to get his routine started.
I forgot to tell him that we have been pushed up an hour so he must have been wondering
where his breakfast was and why I was still asleep.
He is extremely thirsty and was back and forth to his water fountain several times in the past hour. I think he slept next to it last night because his fur was all wet.
No LB yet and he is back in his catbed. He does not seem interested in socializing in
the kitchen for coffee with DH and I.
I think he is trying to save some energy for the party tomorrow at Pat's.
I told him Latte, Shadow and Raja were busy decorating. Basil might have a new suit and he is taking his job as Logan's body guard very seriously.
Now we have to go check on Shadoe & Luna in TO and see when they will be ready for the trip.

Have an awsome day LL.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351

Morning Max...hope you have a good day today...BTW, Raja is going over to pick up Logan on an early moonbeam...
maybe you can catch the same one and have the party begin on the ride here! Raja and Max will be at Logan's side all night long and that is such a good thing! Logan really likes to go crazy at these parties and we will need to two of them to talk some sense into him, right?
Hope Max will put on his sociable clothes for you today....does he like your days off or not?
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351

Oh Max...really, a drama free life is a nice life. It really is. Wishing you a nice drop today...nothing too dramatic. Six wants to coordinate outfits for tomorrow night...call him later, will u?
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351

Amy and Six said:
Oh Max...really, a drama free life is a nice life. It really is. Wishing you a nice drop today...nothing too dramatic. Six wants to coordinate outfits for tomorrow night...call him later, will u?
Me thinks Six is a tad busy this morning being tested and fed.
Hope he levels off for you soona dn I'll tell Max to give him a call later.
Thinking of you today Amy!
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351

Sienne and Gabby said:
Come down from there Max. Give your beans a chance to test less!!

He heard you Sienne. Max took the express elevator down. I think a problem was that he
did not eat enough this morning. I split his 1/2 can in 2 half hours and would have given him
more but he went into a deep sleep in his catbed.
He is eating some more now and still have 3 hours to watch. I hope he surfs nice blue rather than a steep drop.
I will be out for +4 and +5 and I guess I will have to come back for +6 unless DH will stay home.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171

Carolyn and Spot said:
How many oz is he eating a day now? Not trying to beat on you, I promise!
I know Carolyn I know. You told me how much you thought Max should be eating, which is about 3 cans of FF or 3.25 cans. I had been marking his cans so I would know how much he ate in the day because I have to feed his sisters too. I have a schedule at home when food should be fed, adding up to the 3 cans of FF. I try and feed smaller amounts through the first 6 hours of the insulin cycle to ease down his drop rather than plummet as he is famous for when he does decide to drop.
Does this sound good?
This morning he only had 1/2 cna in the 3 hours since he went back to sleep.
recap:
+4 97 fed 1/4 can
+5 79 fed 2 tsp
Roni and Moonie said:
Wowwie!! Nice drop there Max..Hope this is a banner day for yoou!! HUGGIES~! :mrgreen:
This drop surprised me. Of course I had plans to go out with youngest DD but it will have to wait until after +6. I came back with older DD so now we wait, and test.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

I have no idea what Max did today.

Here is the Drama King and I have no idea what to do. Okay did I say
that this week already when he was at 145, then shot at 167???

I don't think I should feed now in the 2 hour window. Shot in one hour.
We are already pushed up an hour from the other day stalled shot and moving
another hour is not a very good option here.

What in the world do I do now?
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

If stalling is not an option, you can always give a BCS dose. Re-test at +11.5 and let's see where his numbers are going.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

wow, look at Max go!!!

Let's see what the +12 is (or if you want to stay on schedule, get a +11.75 and post so we'll have a few minutes to think about it). I think once he starts to go up, he'll zoom up fast, so we don't want to wait too long to get the insulin in.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
If stalling is not an option, you can always give a BCS dose. Re-test at +11.5 and let's see where his numbers are going.

How do you measure a BCS?? lol, not. I never really understood that one either.
You see I was not paying attention in the low dose class cuz I did not think I needed to worry any time soon. Guess that time is here. Yikes Max.

Libby, I will do a +11.5 in about 5 minutes.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

I was thinking along the same lines as Libby. Max is probably going to zoom up. You do have strips and HC in the house, just in case he decides to not zoom when we expect him to?

There's no formula for a BCS dose, BTW. It's a guesstimate.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
I was thinking along the same lines as Libby. Max is probably going to zoom up. You do have strips and HC in the house, just in case he decides to not zoom when we expect him to?

There's no formula for a BCS dose, BTW. It's a guesstimate.

+11.5 92. Not moving yet.
Boxes and Boxes of strips. That is not a problem. Lots of HC and Karo too.

BCS guesstimate of any number between 1 and his dose, like a 2???
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

at Max's dose I would say probably around 1/2 of his dose would be a good BCS, like maybe 3 units. That puts something in the shed.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171~+6 73~+9 58~+11 94 Shot advice

Does that guesstimate come in a percentage form? :shock:
I would sure like to know even though I can't see myself needing to give any BCS any time soon. On what do one base one's calculations?
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105 Shot advice

I'm a newbie, I have no idea! But I'm rooting for you!

You'll do great!
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105 Shot advice

Thank you Erica.

Moved up 10 points to 105 @ 11.75.
Will test again at +12
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~12 107 Shot advice

+12 107 - still no spike.

This is very bizarre. I can stall another 15 but then I am really pushing it.
I was planning on moving him back the 15 minutes.
I guess he had other plans.

Still any ideas what I should do?
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~12 107 Shot advice

if you're home tonight and able to test, I would be inclined to shoot it and then get the early spot checks. It's nice when this happens on a weekend so we can collect data, and we can see if Max is trying to earn a dose reduction. Best case scenario is that he'll keep surfing blue/green for a while, which is what Lantus can do really well when we're at a good dose.

However, a BCS is another option if you're not comfortable shooting. Your decision, you hold the syringe and he's your cat. :smile:
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~12 107 Shot advice

I am home all night. Kids are at dinner table but not an option for me.
I am fully stocked up with strips (buying spree in the US)
My choices were a BCS of 3 or the full shot. Skipping was not an option I wanted to do or
stalling further than now.

If you don't mind giving me a testing schedule, I have no problems follwoing it.

I am going to take a big gulp, and a big gulp of wine, and just shoot his dose.
(Karo works right??)
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~12 107 Shot advice

sounds good to me. First test would be needed at +1.

I don't want you to think your only choices are full dose and 3 units. There are lots of doses in between, you can pick whatever you want to shoot!
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~12 107 Shot advice

I'd suggest a +1 and +2. You can decide from there.

And not only does Karo work, so does honey, maple or agave syrup, etc. You'll be fine as long as you don't drink the entire bottle of wine and, as a result, can't find Max's ear to test.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~12 107 Shot advice

LOL, at first I thought you were asking if YOU should drink the Karo. I was going to say no, the wine will work better. :lol:

But wine for you, as long as you can stay awake when you drink wine. Karo will work for Max if needed (but do HC first, as you already know).

Nice job!
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~PMPS 109

Well done, but no drinking the karo!

Mad Max strikes again! What a ride he takes you on!
Enjoy the wine! drinking24
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~12 107 Shot advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
And you can take the 911 out of your first post since you've shot!
Shot 5.75. Yay me
Sienne, you got to give me a chance, lol.
Housekeeping all done-you are a great teacher.. :-D
Libby and Lucy said:
LOL, at first I thought you were asking if YOU should drink the Karo. I was going to say no, the wine will work better. :lol:
But wine for you, as long as you can stay awake when you drink wine. Karo will work for Max if needed (but do HC first, as you already know).
Nice job!
I found the Karo in case but my plans are for HC. Just making sure all my battle gear is ready.
I might have to back off the wine since +6 is 1:00 unless he decides to spike tonight.
Glad I have a huge toblerone chocolate bar and ice cream to keep me busy.

Thanks Libby and Sienne. Once again, Max's Angels!!!!
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~PMPS 109

update?

Actually I peeked at your spreadsheet and saw a really nice update! Get a +3, please?
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+11.5 92~+11.75 105~PMPS 109

Libby and Lucy said:
update?

Actually I peeked at your spreadsheet and saw a really nice update! Get a +3, please?

Libby, would it be easy for you if I edit the title so you don't have to look? No problem for me.
We are sitting on the coch, close by to Max, looking at our watches.
I missed the 1 beacuse I was so busy trying to put a new picture of Max in.
I fed 2 tsp at the 83 but nothing more yet.
Will give some more at +3, he ate 1/2 can at his shot.
 
Other than that barley blue blip at PMPS, Max has been flat green since AMPS +4.
This is so bizarre.
I am just wondering until when I keep testing him till?
My plans are mnmu to +6 but today he actually dropped at +9.
 
Re: 2/27 Max AMPS 351~+3 171

Randi & Max said:
I know Carolyn I know. You told me how much you thought Max should be eating, which is about 3 cans of FF or 3.25 cans. I had been marking his cans so I would know how much he ate in the day because I have to feed his sisters too. I have a schedule at home when food should be fed, adding up to the 3 cans of FF. I try and feed smaller amounts through the first 6 hours of the insulin cycle to ease down his drop rather than plummet as he is famous for when he does decide to drop.
Does this sound good?
This morning he only had 1/2 can in the 3 hours since he went back to sleep.
recap:
+4 97 fed 1/4 can
+5 79 fed 2 tsp

Oops I'm sorry I totally forgot I asked a question, took some NyQuil and the rest of my day has been a haze LOL

9-10oz of food is a bit high over the recommended 6-8oz still, but I'm most curious if you see him slimming down at all?

I like your feeding plan, multiple small meals a day is optimum so you're definitely on the right path there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top