2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +3 191, +5.5 211, +11 172, PMPS 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Morning LL,

We have construction workers over working on the downstairs bathroom (widening the door and making the bathtub a walk in shower) so Kismet is a little nervous and hiding upstairs in the master bedroom. All 5ps are in order, well, not so playful, but as mentioned, he's cautious. Great Appy, though, as always.

FYI: I shot a reduced dose last night (I'd actually planned on skipping) because we got home so late, and I shot a reduced dose this morning (since shooting early acts like a dosecrease) so hopefully this will get him back on his normal schedule, and we didn't have to miss a shot woohoo! :-D . I'd asked in last night's condo if this sounded like a reasonable/safe plan, but no one responded so I just went for it. I will be home for a few hours to watch him, but have to go to work in about 3 hrs.

I am still planning on doing a dosecrease tomorrow morning, from 1 f drop to .25u.

Hope everyone has a great day.

Yesterday's Condo 2/26
AMPS 164
+3.5--130
+5.5--118
+6--- 117
+7.5-- 107
+8---- 99
PMPS (usual PM+2) 181
+1--- 155
+2--- 183

Today, 2/27
AMPS 177
+1--- 227
+2--- 202
+3--- 191
+5.5--211
+11--- 172
PMPS- 162
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177

Hi guys .. wow, lots of pretty blues for kismet! Sorry about the construction bud, hopefully it does not last long .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177

Hi Peter, thanks for stopping by! Yes, he's been very, very blue... but I want to start seeing some greens :mrgreen: Thanks for the wishes on the construction... I hope it's over quickly, too. We don't own the house (renters) and this is the landlord's doing.
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227 :(

OH yucky yellows! Maybe I should have shot his full dose this morning :?: I shot two hours early and still this gross yellow!
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227 :(

That could totally just be a fuds spike! Don't fret just yet!!! And even if it isn't a food spike, you'll get back on track...don't worry!!

Have a great day, Courtney!
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227 :(

Hi Courtney, I agree with Amy, the +1 is so close to after the shot and breffifs. Sending calming vines to Kismet. Have a nice day and give Kismet some scritches from us.
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227 :(

I'm not sure I'm following.

You shot late last night. A late shot is like a dose reduction AND you reduced the dose. (This was a proverbial double whammy on the depot.)
You shot early (2 hours?) this morning. The early shot acts like a dose increase so you shot a reduced dose.

IMHO, the better strategy would have been to have either:
  • Shoot the full dose last night and shoot 30 min. early on a daily basis (i.e., 30 min. once a day or 15 min. at each shot time) until you were back on schedule or
  • Skip the shot last night and shoot on time with your usual dose this morning.

The numbers this morning, if not a food spike, are the result of the late shot + reduced dose along with the second reduced dose this morning. Because of the depot, most likely, the reduced dose from last night is having it's effect this morning.

There are some individuals in another forum who will try to adjust dose based on an early or late shot. I've not seen their strategy be particularly effective. IMHO, the more times you try to adjust shot time and dose simultaneously, the greater the probability of wonky numbers.
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227 :(

Hi Sienne,

My rationale (or lack thereof) was to shoot a reduced dose last night so that I could shoot at the normal time this morning. I was going to skip entirely (I'd discussed this with Marje a few days ago) but didn't want him to go all night without insulin. I decided to shoot a reduced dose this morning just in case there was depot action and didn't want to overdose him. I was hoping the reduced doses would balance out, and since I didn't want to skip a shot, I figured this wouldn't cause too much of a problem. I didn't want to stall too much this morning because I have to go to work and wanted to be able to monitor him for awhile. We will get back on track tonight. Whether the spike is food or late shot induced... w/e, it's not a big deal. I just wanted to err on the side of caution. I would rather him be a little elevated than too low since I won't be around to monitor much.

I can see now why perhaps it would have been wiser to just skip last night's shot all together, but I don't think this has really created too much of an issue. He would have been off schedule regardless. I will shoot his usual dose (1 f drop) at normal time tonight (12 hrs since am shot). I had been planning on doing a dosecrease tomorrow, but I am not sure sure what effect the reduced doses will have on his depot (if any) and wanted to ask your advice on the dosecrease. Should I wait an extra day or two just to make sure he returns more or less to his normal state of being, or do you think it will be okay to proceed as planned? Thanks.
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227, +2 202

I've got to run to work now. He's come down a bit :mrgreen: I've left out a couple of fudcycles to last him until I get back home (just before nadir time).
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227, +2 202, +3 191, +5.5 211

actually I was looking at your spreadsheet, and I think your logic is pretty solid based on the numbers you're seeing with Kismet. Maybe not for every cat all the time, but in this case I think what you did makes sense.

1. You came home late and planned to skip, but on your spreadsheet you wrote "didn't want him to eat and go all night without insulin with that 181." So you chose to give some insulin. That prevented the depot from being completely drained.

2. In the morning, I'm sure if he had been low you would have skipped or waited. But he wasn't low, he was actually already a little above his normal preshot number (probably because of the late/reduced dose last night). Kismet left the door open for you to shoot early and get your time back. Reducing the dose in the interest of safety makes sense too. You were available to monitor for the next several hours. I probably would have done the same thing. Shooting full dose but making up the time in 30 minute increments would have also been a good strategy, if that is possible for your schedule. If it doesn't work for your schedule, though, you have to do something else. You depleted his insulin depot some, but not all that much and he'll get back to his usual numbers soon.

About the increase, wait and see what tonight's number is. Unless he surprises you, I think I would leave the dose alone tonight, then increase tomorrow. His numbers overall have been high enough, but waiting until tomorrow will give you a little cushion in case he does something because of the +10 shot today.
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +1 227, +2 202, +3 191, +5.5 211

Hi Libby, thanks for stopping by and putting in your two cents. I will definitely wait on the dosecrease to see what he does tonight. I may even wait another 2 cycles and start on Friday morning instead.

Also, thank you Amy and Ann for popping in and offering support :)
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +3 191, +5.5 211, +11 172

Hey guys - good luck with whatever you decide. Lil Kismet, let's bring those numbers down so we can see some more greens, friend! It's a great color on you!
 
Re: 2/27 Kismet AMPS 177, +3 191, +5.5 211, +11 172

Thanks, Tara! Hopefully we'll see some better numbers tonight now that he is back on schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top