? 2/27-Flame-AMPS=292, +3=281, PMPS=255 - To vet again - Not eating - He just ate some baby food!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
Morning folks,
Not much time, busy day at work today. He sounded pretty awful again this morning. Ended up using the nebulizer last nite and again this morning. He is REFUSING to use the inhaler at all!! I've tried and tried but he gets so upset and his breathing gets MUCH worse when he gets upset. I have an email in to my vet re: the nebulizer fluid. For right now, I'm using a human dose that my friend gave me with the nebulizer and just not giving him a full dose. (it's 2.5 mg Albuterol in aqueous solution)

He took some of his meds with liverwurst this AM. I got to the last pill - the famotadine- and he didn't even want any more liverwurst and turkey - very unlike him. I ended up crushing the famotadine, the Vetmedin and giving him 1/2 of his daily b-12 in baby food, which he ate.

He also ate some Weruva chicken frickazee and I left that for him as well as, 1/2 can of FF Chicken.
I'm frustrated because I can't seem to get this breathing under control again. I think the Flovent would probably help, but I can NOT get him to take it.

He's going to be alone for a good part of the day today. My son will be there for part of the morning but then is leaving and my ex-husband (who has offered to Flamie sit this week as he's not working) has an interview this afternoon and won't be back till 4 pm. I have a busy day today with conf calls and meetings, so really can't leave. UGH!! I'm just going to have to trust the Angels to take care of him for me today.

Have a good day all!! Surf safely kitties! Prayers and vines to all who may need them. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
my boy is not doing well at all. he hardly ate anything today. he won't even eat his favorite baby food or turkey lunch meat. he was gagging. took him into vet - they gave a shot of cerenia and famotadine as he seemed nauseous. the vet said the cerenia should kick in fairly quickly. when we came home, he went right to where his food usually is but when i tried to give him some baby food, he couldn't / wouldn't eat it. I tried some watered down Weruva and he licked a little bit and then seemed nauseous again.
vet gave me saline with steroid for nebulizer and advised to give tonite. just tried to do that and when i was holding the nebulizer close to his face, he started gagging again so i couldn't get the full dose into him. will try to finish it later. giving him a break.

he is very lethargic. doesn't want to move from his bed. i personally think he seems dehydrated, and am wondering whether a little fluids would help him perk up. i mentioned it to the vet, but then we spoke about his heart issues and other things and the subject of fluids kind of dropped off. with the kidney issues, i'm afraid of severe dehydration and having him crash more.

i didnt' give insulin tonite because i was afraid with him not eating anything.
how long does a cerenia shot usually take to kick in and make them feel better? how about famotadine shot? would you give fluids - maybe 50ml if you were me? i honestly don't know what to do. help!!
 
I can't give you any specific advice other than to say it seems that Flame would better under a vet's care/monitoring tonight. That's what I would do if it was my kitty.
 
Oh Donna, I don't have any experience with heart issues and or using pred with that condition. I do believe that cerenia takes effect in about 20 -25 minutes. So you might what to try to feed him again in that time frame.

As far as the fluids, again, I don't understand enough about the heart stuff with fluids ie how much, how often..... I am sorry. If he doesn't perk up some for you and eat, you might want to have him seen. Sending :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

ETA: or call an ER hospital and ask about the fluids.
 
Last edited:
I just gave him 50 ml which is what my regular vet said to give if he needed them. @Bobbie And Bubba he had the cerenia shot about 1.5 hours ago. still not eating. he did eat a little bit today, but not enough. when he turns away from baby food i know something is seriously wrong. he still sounds a bit snuffly and congested but not in distress with the breathing. this has not happened before. trying to figure out what is making him this nauseous. other than the kidney disease and dehydration, nothing i can think of. i know ckd cats suffer from acid stomach and nausea sometimes. it's like he wants to eat, he just can't. he was just up though after the fluids - walked in the kitchen and back to his bed. sniffing food, but not eating.

this is so upsetting.... this poor little guy...
 
adding vines.... not experienced with heart issues....

am wondering if it is possible to make a small space like an oxygen tent to get his breathing meds in ....
maybe covering a kennel with a towel.... while the nebulizer sends vapors towards him....

hi, was trying not to do that tonite so as not to freak him out more so i just held it by his face and he was even gagging at that.
 
Donna, how about trying to send a PM to @Melissa & Tarragon ? She has more experience with the breathing issues and some of the things you are going through. I can only feel for you, and keep Flame in good thoughts and send you cyber hugs.
 
I just gave him 50 ml which is what my regular vet said to give if he needed them. @Bobbie And Bubba he had the cerenia shot about 1.5 hours ago. still not eating. he did eat a little bit today, but not enough. when he turns away from baby food i know something is seriously wrong. he still sounds a bit snuffly and congested but not in distress with the breathing. this has not happened before. trying to figure out what is making him this nauseous. other than the kidney disease and dehydration, nothing i can think of. i know ckd cats suffer from acid stomach and nausea sometimes. it's like he wants to eat, he just can't. he was just up though after the fluids - walked in the kitchen and back to his bed. sniffing food, but not eating.

this is so upsetting.... this poor little guy...
Sending Reiki to your sweet Flame! I hope the fluids help and maybe he will want to eat. I am so sorry you both are going through this. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I just gave him 50 ml which is what my regular vet said to give if he needed them
What is his RR (resting respiration rate today)? Heart issues can also cause nausea and inappetance. Did you feel his gums to see if he felt dehydrated?

Could you put NS (no shot) or Skip in the units column of the SS, so we know it was a skip and not just a forgotten entry. I'm a little worried about the no shot. Neko didn't eat a lot, but I could usually get enough in her with assist feeding to give full shot. Typially kitties undergoing anesthesia and not allowed to eat can have at least a half dose, so a reduced dose might have been OK. Have you tested for ketones lately? No shot, plus high numbers plus inappentance worries me.
 
may i suggest that you leave him some foods that are not associated with meds at all..... they do quickly develop aversions when we put icky tastes in them and will not eat just for that reason alone. You may even have to find some special treat that he gets after his treatment so he will have a positive association, just like testing.

did the vet not give you any ondansetron? That one really seems to make a huge difference, especially coupled with cyproheptadine ( tell the vet you don't want
mirtzapine /meowzapine)

mine didn't like the kennel as well....
it stressed her out.... but I know some kitties actually get in them on their own....

i would have been able to steam up my bathroom/shower and hang out with mine if she had needed breathing medications.....
the steam would keep the medicine closer to the floor.
My girl formerly loved to hang out with me when I soaked in a bath....as long as the water wasn't running.....

I feel for you....
:bighug::bighug:
 
What is his RR (resting respiration rate today)? Heart issues can also cause nausea and inappetance. Did you feel his gums to see if he felt dehydrated?
I was at work all day so didn't get RR and then rushed to vet when i got home. just took it - 18, but he woke up in the middle of the count and looked around. but he is laying peacefully in his bed and not moving so maybe that's valid. i can usually tell if he's dehydrated by whether his skin snaps back or not and it was not.

i do not want to syringe feed because he's really nauseous and i'm afraid he'll vomit and aspirate. i put ns in the spreadsheet
 
I also think that ondansetron is better for nausea but using cerenia and ondansetron together addresses the nausea from different modalities.

I'm so very sorry Flame is not doing well and I hope he feels better soon.
 
did the vet not give you any ondansetron? That one really seems to make a huge difference, especially coupled with cyproheptadine ( tell the vet you don't want
mirtzapine /meowzapine)
he didn't. they only had mirtazapine (contraindicated with heart issues) and cyproheptadine for appy stims. i have cypro at home, but its a pill and i can't get it into him right now and not sure if i should. if i can get it into him, should i try?
 
ondansetron isn't available at the vets....
it's a human drug so you need the vet to write the prescription.... 4 mg pills..... 1/4 of a pill am and pm.
and take the script to your pharmacy.


if he's nauseous, then the cypro might not help alone.... gotta pill for the nausea first.... then appy stimulant....
 
I was at work all day so didn't get RR and then rushed to vet when i got home. just took it - 18, but he woke up in the middle of the count and looked around. but he is laying peacefully in his bed and not moving so maybe that's valid
That's good. Usually it's lower if they are sleeping and a little higher when awake. As long as it's below 30 you are good. :)

Ondansetron is also available as a liquid you can inject. Handy for times when you can't get food down a kitty.
 
ondansetron isn't available at the vets....
it's a human drug so you need the vet to write the prescription.... 4 mg pills..... 1/4 of a pill am and pm.
and take the script to your pharmacy.


if he's nauseous, then the cypro might not help alone.... gotta pill for the nausea first.... then appy stimulant....

can't get the ondansetron tonite anyway - it's 10 pm here. already had a shot of cerenia. just tried to give a little on my finger and he wreched as soon as he licked it.
 
he seems like he is having trouble breathing. just used the albuterol in the nebulizer. didn't get the full 3 ml cause the darn thing leaked and he was fidgeting. i've tried baby food, watered dow Weruva which he licked a little of the liquid before and now some watered down FF. he won't eat any of it. he's just laying in his bed listless. he only thing i can do is take him to the ER but i'm not sure what they would do for him there.
 
I had 1 jar of Ham baby food, which I know isn't the best thing for him, but it was the only thing I hadn't tried yet. I put some in a teaspoon and he sniffed it and then started lapping it up. He ate almost 3/4 of a jar that way from the teaspoon. At least he ate something. I'm going to sleep down here with him tonite on the couch. Not going to work tomorrow. I haven't been feeling well and already told my boss I might stay home tomorrow. Praying having something on his stomach might even help with the nausea. I'll be keeping an eye on him. Don't think I'll get much sleep tonite.
 
Thank goodness he ate something. Often with Neko once I could get a little food into her with assist feeding, she'd feel better and eat more. Paws crossed for a better tomorrow. :bighug:
 
@Wendy&Neko that's what i'm hoping for!! i know if i don't eat all day i start to feel nauseous and when i finally put something on my stomach, i feel better and sometimes it even spurs my appetite. let's hope it does that for flame. it was my only jar of ham baby food, so hopefully, he'll agree to eat something else again. i don't care if i have to open everything i have in the house as long as he eats!!
 
Donna, we are sending lots of strong vines and prayers for Flame. I'm glad he ate the ham baby food. Rusty is also having breathing/congestion problems (worse than his "usual" chronic congestion), and his appetite--never great--is not so good, either. I find that if I water down his food he eats it much more easily (with his 5 teeth). I think some of his congestion is caused by "inhaling" his food, since he can't chew.

Hugs, scritches
 
(((Donna))) This all sounds pretty upsetting. Have you tried rotisserie chicken? Many cats can't resist it. At the point where a kitty isn't eating, anything, even if it's high carb food is better than nothing.

Just in case you haven't seen it, here is the link about stimulating a kitty's appetite. It's from the bottom of the "New to the group?" sticky.

Here are some saved discussions from the second half of the "Where Can I Find?" thread - I'm especially meaning to give you the very first link about skipping shots in a cat with a lack of appetite. I agree with Wendy, I'd get some insulin into Flame in the morning.

My cat may be ill/not feeling great/have a special condition:
Appetite, lack of appetite and skipping shots; Appetite: Liver Shake Recipe
Assist Feeding (video)

Assist Feeding Yahoo Group

Hmm, the video link didn't work . . . click on the "Where CIF?" above and you can see the video on assist feeding if you are interested.

Hope some of that helps. Healing vines coming your way!
 
{{{Donna}}}

I'm glad flame ate the baby food. I found that ham often worked when my kitties refused the other flavors. Right now getting food into him is important, not what kind of food it is.

I'm glad you gave a little bit of fluids, as it sounded like he was dehydrated to me. I would ask the vet tomorrow for an Ondansetron script. I was always able to get it from my vet, but from what I've heard here, that is unusual. I would avoid the Cypro if he appears to be nauseate. I sometimes gave both Cerenia and Ondansetron at the same time, and it usually did the trick, when one or the other didn't alone. Injectible Ondansetron is nice as it takes effect faster and you don't have to pill them or put it in food, but it does sting a bit going in.

Sending tummy and breathing vines for Flame and :bighug:s for you.
 
Thank goodness he ate something. Often with Neko once I could get a little food into her with assist feeding, she'd feel better and eat more. Paws crossed for a better tomorrow. :bighug:
Same with Gizmo.

Donna, lots and lots of vines. :bighug: It is such a helpless feeling.
 
Donna:

I just skimmed through and may have missed whether someone provided you with this information. Ondansatron (Zofran) comes in an injectable form and is available at any pharmacy. For a cat that is nauseated, using an anti-nausea drug that doesn't require a pill is a huge benefit. You can ask your vet to call in an Rx for a vial. You may want bigger syringes but you can adapt the dosing to an insulin syringe. It's given exactly the same way as insulin -- it's a subcutaneous injection. I only used the injectable form with Gabby.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top