2/27 Doodles AMPS 276 +2.5 307 +8 273 PMPS 302 +4 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 2/26 Mr. Doodles still does not want to budge :( No matter what dose he gets the numbers are basically the same o_O He seems fine other than being pretty lazy most of the day. All other P's are good and his appy is better than ever.

Hope everyone has a great Saturday and the kitties are feeling good.
 
Karen, what about trying Novolin R in addition to the Lantus to bring down the numbers. Bubba was stuck in the yellows too when Jill and Libby helped me use it. He was throwing ketones then which made getting his numbers down really important. I believe I read it's also used with kitties with insulin resistance and to help break through the glass floor. Putting it out there to see what everyone thinks.
 
It's great that he's feeling good otherwise!

This is a huge stretch and I don't know if you've tried it or not....have you tried a different meter???? New strips? We joke about meters being "stuck" but since he's so "stuck" I wonder if that is even a remote possibility!!
 
We joke about meters being "stuck" but since he's so "stuck" I wonder if that is even a remote possibility!!
I've tested myself a few times and it's always been low 100's. Been though a few different tubs of strips too. Honestly, when I replaced the insulin and replaced it again both are from the same pharmacy with the same lot number. I'm sooo tempted to not give insulin for a day or two and see if his numbers are still "stuck" in the same range. It's been an entire month with like ZERO difference in numbers.
 
At this point I'd be tempted to try juice from a different lot, too. Could the insulin be getting too cold in your fridge? Where do you store it? It is so strange the way he suddenly changed like this.....
 
At this point I'd be tempted to try juice from a different lot, too. Could the insulin be getting too cold in your fridge? Where do you store it? It is so strange the way he suddenly changed like this.....
I've been storing it the same way in a human pill bottle that is orange so it keeps the light from getting in. It's on the second shelf. He's super cranky pants this afternoon.
 
It's really strange, that's for sure. Could he be one of these 'high dose' cats that's I've seen around the place? I really hope Doodles started dancing the right steps with you soon, I don't know how you haven't thrown the meter out the window when you keep getting the same numbers :bighug::bighug:
 
I don't know how you haven't thrown the meter out the window when you keep getting the same numbers
I hold it together every other day:mad: Honestly I'm sick to my stomach and now have a wonderful rash on my lower back. Not sure how he could go from a "well regulated cat" to being a high dose kitty but guess we're heading that way. He'll be getting an AB Monday for a possible mystery infection like the mystery cat he's become so just hoping that will help.
 
What I'm finding more strange is that his numbers haven't fluctuated even a little bit. If you look they are all basically the same.
I know...it is exceptionally strange. I've been studying your notes to see if anything at all jumps out at me and other than the introduction S&C, which doesn't seem to be the culprit, nothing jumps out. I'll keep trying to come up with ideas, though!
 
You would think if he has a mystery infection there would still be some sort of fluctuation in numbers...right?
Probably. I would also think that if he's had an infection for a month, it would probably progress. It does make me wonder more about the insulin, although you did have some good cycles from the one vial until the "mystery switch" flipped. Even though you've checked the meter on yourself, maybe it would be worth trying a different meter, just to absolutely rule everything out.

The FF you feed...is that the "tender" version?
 
Sorry, no words of wisdom from me either, but it does seem very strange that his numbers are so flat. When Walter climbed up the dosing scale in January, he did at least have an occasional low day. It is just bizarre that Doodles could go from consistent blues and greens to consistent pinks and yellows.

Don't forget to take care of yourself. :bighug:
 
I am curious to see what happens with AB on board--and if he does drop some then we have to find" Waldo" and figure out what the infection is/was unless the Ab clears it up and numbers stay down---so many what ifs???? errrrrr:confused:
I wish I had answers for you.... Monday will be here soon:bighug::bighug:
 
AB on board--and if he does drop some then we have to find" Waldo" and figure out what the infection is/was unless the Ab clears it up and numbers stay down---so many what ifs???? errrrrr:confused:
Would his numbers typically go down on a AB? We haven't had to give ABs during this dance.
 
Would his numbers typically go down on a AB? We haven't had to give ABs during this dance.
If an infection is driving his numbers up, then yes - they would definitely go down with an AB. Any sort of stress on the body, such as an infection, can possibly cause elevated BGs. We saw this happen with my Dad last spring - he wasn't truly diabetic, but he actually did have to go on insulin for a short while because a lung infection drove his BGs up.
 
Would his numbers typically go down on a AB? We haven't had to give ABs during this dance.
If there is any infection (possibly even inflammation) they should start going down after a few days on them.
So many ifs-- I think "we" should see if they do go down and then the vet can hopefully point to the source .... if not will have to look at other possible reasons. 1 thing at a time Karen--try not to stress too much. It sounds like your new vet wants to find out the cause of the sudden change which is a very good thing. I think it is a good starting point.
 
Could he be one of these 'high dose' cats that's I've seen around the place?
I don't think so. There are 3 high dose conditions. The first is acromegaly. And although one in 4 diabetic cats has acromegaly, it's not that sudden a transition. We seldom get to see the onset of acromegaly here because new acrocats just look like they are diabetic at first. However, last year, I got personal experience with a more or less regulated cat falling off the wagon as her acro tumor grew. Check out Neko 2015 starting late July. She was humming along with the odd increase needed, then there'd be a sudden spurt of higher numbers. I'd catch up with increases and see decent numbers until the next acro tumor growth spurt. The second high dose condition is IAA (insulin auto antibodies), but I don't think you'd suddenly develop antibodies (think allergy to the injected insulin). The third condition is Cushings which we hardly every see here, and is most often accompanied by a pot belly and a skin condition, usually thin skin.

Sending vines for a successful vetty visit for the mysterious Doodles. :bighug:
 
I don't think switching to levemir will necessarily make a difference in this situation. You'd reduce the level dose by 30% to start with and I am not sure that is the answer right now.

It's possible R might help. There are several of us experienced R users that could help you with that. Many hugs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top