2/27 Coda 1st low amps! NS AMPS 109/ 120, "+6" 188, PMPS 337, +2 307, +3 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coda (GA)

Member Since 2017
SO coda gave me a huge surprize..
I heard him eating at 5am (I leave out canned food watered down and over an ice pack over night)
Tooks amps at 7:30am with a shocking 109
Fed
BG 120 at 7:45am
Do I shoot or not?
Ofc ourse this is one of two mornings where I have to leave quickly and won't be here until +6/+7...
Should I shoot or leave out high carb canned food and YA kibble?
(I took him off YA ZERO kibble yesterday to start TR, did this possibly effect this low AMPS? I thought that food was only 1-2% carbs)

EDIT 1:45pm-
NO AM SHOT, "+6" bg is at 188
 
Last edited:
Good choice I think. :)
Yes especially since it's so uncharacteristic and new.. of course it's not on a Tues Thurs Friday SAT or sun!! Then I could shoot or stall and shoot and be able to watch him!! Does this look like lantus work or possibly pancreas?
 
Yes especially since it's so uncharacteristic and new.. of course it's not on a Tues Thurs Friday SAT or sun!! Then I could shoot or stall and shoot and be able to watch him!! Does this look like lantus work or possibly pancreas?
I really can't say. It might be the delayed effect of the 1 u dose. Too soon to tell.
 
I really can't say. It might be the delayed effect of the 1 u dose. Too soon to tell.
That's true.. makes me wonder because past two nights I hear him scarfing down food at 5am (+9 of cycle) so I wonder if he drops low then and eats to compensate? He doesn't seem to drop low during the day
 
That's true.. makes me wonder because past two nights I hear him scarfing down food at 5am (+9 of cycle) so I wonder if he drops low then and eats to compensate? He doesn't seem to drop low during the day
We can only guess. Short of spending every waking moment daytime and many wake ups night time testing we have to go by the data it's reasonable to get. You have to find the right balance for you when it comes to testing.
 
Went ahead and bought a new Relion confirm meter just in case the one I was using wasn't working right (I vaguely remember dropping it).. but I did a 1:45pm test to see where he was at on both micro meters (196 and 188)
Glad he's still "low" at the moment, will see at shot time what's up
 
Coda was running around and playing and jumping today! I think he felt good to be low for those few hours.. I feel so bad he went up again.. I knew the moment he gave me that glassy "mommy I dont feel good look" that his BG was high again :(
 
Diabetic people have told us here that it feels pretty yucky to have their blood sugar go up and down.

With that 109, you will probably be holding the dose another week rather than increasing. Per the SLGS guidelines, if you get nadirs between 90 and 149 you would hold the dose for another week. As long as he is eating any dry food, you would use the SLGS dosing method. If you can completely get rid of dry, even for his grumpy days, lol, then you have the choice of following Tight Reg guidelines.

SLGS:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Hope some of that helps!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top