2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt)

Member Since 2010
Hi there! It's been a while since I've been on these boards. Chigga - my little sugar baby was dx back in August of 2010. She actually went into remission in July of 2011. I was checking her every week just to make sure and around December 2011 her numbers started to get a little funny. At the time I was using the Freestyle lite meter. Some days her numbers would be in the 80s and generally remain below 120 and then they crept up to the 140s and stayed there til January. I didn't want to believe it so I bought a different meter. The Accucheck Aviva and low and behold her number was 190. I freaked out. I tested and retested. Even bought another meter. And it matched the Accucheck Aviva every time. I even tested myself each time. I did some searching and realized the Freestyle lite tested much lower than other meters and I was devastated.

Needless to say. I'm back with little Chiggabutt. I don't know where to begin. I'll admit, and please don't scold me, I just picked up at a dose of .75 (lantus) and her numbers started looking good but I wasn't getting her nadirs so I don't know if she was dropping too low but her amps and pmps were in the 80s and 90s so it's possible. Then recently her numbers have jumped from amps/pmps 85s and 90s to 120s to 180s to 240 in a matter of days.

I don't know what to do which is why I came back. I'm wondering if I should just start from scratch. Start her at .25 or even take her off the insulin for a few days to see how her numbers do and then start low and go slow instead of the stupid move I pulled. I will start my spreadsheet tonight once I know how to proceed.

I need help. I don't know what to do. :cry:

Erica
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Erica, Has Chigga had a physical at the vet lately?? Could it possibly be an infection, a bad tooth, UTI, or anything like that? Has Chigga had BW lately?--You need to check out the variables first, and then proceed to the next step..It's just that these numbers arent so high so I am wondering that maybe it is something
physical going on here and not FD..
IMHO you should call the vet & have him check your baby before you start the insulin right away--OK??
GooD luck--Prayers that I am right & it is a simple answer..
BTW I have used the accucheck aviva for the 4 yrs I am here, and havent had any problems..
Hugs from us!
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Hi guys and welcome back? I have to agree with Roni, if Chigga hasn't been to the vet since the numbers started creeping up, I'd make an appointment to rule out anything .. IF there is a need for insulin, you know everyone on here will get you guys on the right track again! Don't beat yourself up, let's just take things one step at a time :-D
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Is she on an appropriate diet? Is she well otherwise? I can't really advise on the TF but just wanted to say hello and tell you that a number of members have been duped by the Freestyle light meter - with much worse consequences than you've had. Good that you twigged so soon and are now on the right track.
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

many of us had the same problem with the freestyle lite - which i loved until we found out how off it was.

i think roni's suggestion is very good - there just might be something else going on to kick her out of remission. even a dental might make the difference.

i don't really know about coming out of remission, and i'm sure someone who is more experienced will give you advice on the dose, but my own gut feeling is that you should start pretty low - like .25 - and catch those nadirs before doing much. those aren't high numbers, and you wouldn't want to give too much.

sorry you're dealing with this, erica - but welcome back!
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

No scolding, Erica. Welcome back, although I'm sorry that you had to come back...you know what I mean!

I agree with Roni (and Julie)...I would start with a vet check ASAP, Chigga could have an infection or need a dental, it's best to look for a cause for her to come out of remission.

Could you please put whatever data you already have collected on the SS? That would be helpful. Also, you said you haven't gotten any spot checks....can you get some today? Since you already started on insulin, it would be good to see some data before suggesting anything in regards to dose or stopping insulin. JMHO
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Anyname - She's definitely on a good diet - I've got her on only wet food, carbs below 6 from the list off this site. She's well other wise. I say that but she did have the pukes this morning. But I'm pretty sure it's hairball related. Yeah, that Freestyle light meter thing really threw me for a loop. But I love the Accucheck Aviva. Just wish I was using it before.

Roni and Moonie - She hasn't had any blood work since her dx. The last time she went to the vet was about six months ago for a minor ear irritation. Her numbers have been kinda all over the place but today was the highest they have ever been and I about lost it. I know others have it much worse - I just was so happy to be in remission I just didn't think we'd be back here. But I was thinking I should take her in to the vet to have a physcial - that perhaps that could have something to do with it.

Would you suggest then to not give her insulin until I know what's going on? I don't want to be giving her insulin and making matters worse. Her numbers have been on the rise since late decemeber so that's almost three months of diabetic numbers. What do you guys think?

Vet first, then decide on insulin and amount?

Sorry, I'm still trying to get her SS set up. But this morning AMPS was 240, .75 units of Lantus. She was actually throwing up this morning - but was purring and active. She threw up food the first time and the other times it was just clear. I think it was a hair issue since I groomed her yesterday. Or should I say, tried to groom her.

You guys are awesome. I've spent the last few days on and off crying not knowing what to do and knew I needed to come back to the boards because it was my saving grace before and knew it would be my saving grace again.

I'm going to call the vet now and make an appt for a physical and blood work. I think I'll stop the insulin until I know what's going on. Cause there were a few days she had no insulin and her numbers were bouncing around from 115 to 180 - which without insulin seemed a bit strange. What would cause something like that?
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Anyname - She's definitely on a good diet - I've got her on only wet food, carbs below 6 from the list off this site. She's well other wise. I say that but she did have the pukes this morning. But I'm pretty sure it's hairball related. Yeah, that Freestyle light meter thing really threw me for a loop. But I love the Accucheck Aviva. Just wish I was using it before.

Roni and Moonie - She hasn't had any blood work since her dx. The last time she went to the vet was about six months ago for a minor ear irritation. Her numbers have been kinda all over the place but today was the highest they have ever been and I about lost it. I know others have it much worse - I just was so happy to be in remission I just didn't think we'd be back here. But I was thinking I should take her in to the vet to have a physcial - that perhaps that could have something to do with it.

Would you suggest then to not give her insulin until I know what's going on? I don't want to be giving her insulin and making matters worse. Her numbers have been on the rise since late decemeber so that's almost three months of diabetic numbers. What do you guys think?

Vet first, then decide on insulin and amount?

Sorry, I'm still trying to get her SS set up. But this morning AMPS was 240, .75 units of Lantus. She was actually throwing up this morning - but was purring and active. She threw up food the first time and the other times it was just clear. I think it was a hair issue since I groomed her yesterday. Or should I say, tried to groom her.

You guys are awesome. I've spent the last few days on and off crying not knowing what to do and knew I needed to come back to the boards because it was my saving grace before and knew it would be my saving grace again.

I'm going to call the vet now and make an appt for a physical and blood work. I think I'll stop the insulin until I know what's going on. Cause there were a few days she had no insulin and her numbers were bouncing around from 115 to 180 - which without insulin seemed a bit strange. What would cause something like that?
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

that sounds incredibly stressful. glad you just decided to repost! we'll do our best to help you figure out what's up with Chigga.

just curious - if you haven't been to the vet's, then is your lantus from before when she was on insulin? how old do you think it is?
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

what time (or how many hours) until your next shot is due, erica?

btw, i'm not saying to change the dose or stop the insulin. i think everyone is saying make a vet appt and see if you can get the ss up and get some tests on it. at this point we're just brainstorming possibilities.
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Erica, I'm not sure if you saw my post...I would not stop the insulin at this point, I would try to get some spot checks ASAP and put the data on your SS so we can help you assess the dose. Since you are already giving the insulin, I see no reason to stop...we have no idea if Chigga is on an appropriate dose...she could be getting too little or too much, but without data, there is no way to know. That's why the spot checks are important.
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Hey, Erica!! Some of us are still around and remember you and Chigga.

I'm in complete agreement with everyone about making sure Chigga's health is good. When was the last time she had a dental? Teeth issues are notorious for bouncing a cat out of remission.

I would not stop Chigga's insulin. Once you have your SS in place, we can say more about dose. In the meantime, since you don't know whether it's an infection/inflammation that is influencing Chigga's numbers and since she's sufficiently outside of normal BG range, I would encourage you to continue shooting.

Does she have any history of pancreatitis?
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

She has a brand new bottle of insulin that I purchased last week. I had her on another one I purchased in December(when the numbers first started to creep) and then the numbers started to creep up again(so I thought the insulin was old) so I bought the new one she is currently using now.

Since I work around 12 hours - it's hard for me to get any spot checks during the day. I don't get home until 8pm so that's usually the earliest I can check her and I shoot her at 9am/pm. Since I leave for work at 9am. Perhaps I can get some spot checks tonight and set my alarm.

I really am scared the .75 is too much insulin for her but again, I don't know.

She's never really had a dental. When I've had her get physicals the vet looks at her teeth and says they look good. DO cats (I'm sorry if I sound stupid) have to have their teeth professionally cleaned or can they be examined (looked at) by the vet and not cleaned?

Either way I called back and requested that she get a cleaning. I'm just scared that if she can't tolerate the cleaning they will have to put her under and what if something happens when they put her under. She's 11 years old and I can't lose my little baby.

No history of pancreatitis. Or at least none that the vet mentioned - okay, now I'm freaking out.

Her old SS keeps uploading. I can't seem to figure out how to cancel the old one and upload the new one.

Her next shot is at 9pm - I am hoping to get home around 730 at the earliest from work.
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Got her new SS up! Will do some spot checking when I get home.

Should I keep her at .75? Or bring her down to a lower number? I just wonder if she's rebounding from hitting some lower numbers last week. She had some pre shot numbers in the 80s. I know it's hard to tell - I just don't want to be overdosing her right now, that's all. What hours should I aim to get tonight if possible?
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

About the dental cleaning, the vet will need to put her under to properly clean the teeth, and also, if the vet finds a bad tooth, it will need to be extracted. I bet she'll feel alot better with sparkly teeth!
And who knows.. what if she just has a bad tooth, it's extracted, and she ends up not needing any insulin! If not, as least her teeth will be nice and healthy.

I think you are doing just fine and with your testing when you can, get some curves on your off days, and even if you get a couple tests before bed will help!

You may want to look into getting cartridges or pens of Lantus as they are 3ml instead of the vials with 10ml.... you will have less waste if you use the smaller containers.

You really don't need to start a new ss at all! Just fill in a couple lines to say OTJ and then start up the next lines continuing with your current doses and test numbers. It may be helpful to you to have everything on one sheet so you can look back and compare if you want.
Some people start a new tab for the next year so maybe you could try that?

I am sure you will have Chigga's numbers in place before you know it!
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Thanks for getting the SS going....you could have just added onto her old one, but that's fine. If you still have the old one, I would put a link to it in your signature....that old data may be helpful.

I would try to get a few spot checks through the cycle, as best you can. Maybe start with a +2, a before bed test, and set an alarm for mid cycle sometime? Of course, that depends on what the other spot checks tell you...you may need to test more frequently. As far as reducing....if you are going to be monitoring tonight, I would shoot the same dose and gather data. If she drops low enough to earn a reduction, then you can reduce....but without the data, any dose adjustment is just a guess. It would be more valuable to test rather than guess, KWIM?
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Should I shoot her on the morning of her vet visit?

Also, if it is just a tooth problem - how will I know if she doesn't need insulin if I am already giving her insulin? That's what I am worried about.

She's never been put under (except when she was little) she I be worried about something happening since she's older?
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

A dental is a periodontal cleaning. A vet really can't tell what's going on in a cat's mouth with a visual inspection when the cat's awake. Well, they probably can if the cat's teeth are really, really bad. The first dental that Gabby had, the vet thought she had mild to moderate tarter. It ended up she had resporbtive lesions and lost a couple of teeth and the tarter was more moderate. Frankly, cleaning a cat's teeth without anesthesia is cruel and abusive. Gabby is 12 years old and has had 3 dentals since she was diagnosed. Yes, there is always a danger with anesthesia. However, your vet should have Chigga hooked up to monitors to make sure she's stable. This is a link to a brochure from my vet on dental procedures. You should ask your vet if s/he has all of the bells and whistles in place to insure Chigga's safety. This is their guide to comparing dental services.
 
Re: 2/27 Chigga (I'm new but not new and need advice - badly

Hi, Erica & Chiggabutt!

(I've always loved that name :-D )

Sorry she's back on, but it's good to see you...

Binks had a little relapse himself, but it was due to crappy diet :oops:

Hope Chigga's return is just as brief!

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top