2/27, Bell, AMPS 83 +2 86 +5 64 +6 65 +7 53 +8 57 +9 58 +10 53 +11 58 PMPS 51 +1 57 +2 56 +3 56

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Go Bell, go! Still might be influenced by the 6.25 depot, but I’m glad to keep seeing greens after a reduction.

I do have a few non-urgent questions.
1) I’m new to using different carb foods. I noticed Bell was dropping at the +10 so I mixed half and half 3% with 21%. Does that work out to be a 12% meal? Or is any HC food added to a LC considered as a HC? Just trying to understand how I document the carbs and also making sure I react to a potential dip after the HC wears off.
2) Curious on the recommendation for if Bell earns a reduction off the 5th or 6th cycle after a previous reduction. Since with the large doses and IAA the depot can last into the 6th cycle, I was curious at the guidance here. My gut would say take the reduction.
 
upload_2025-2-27_18-21-30.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-27_18-21-30.png
    upload_2025-2-27_18-21-30.png
    448.2 KB · Views: 113
Thank you, Diane. I always feel guilty tagging and putting the question when it is non-urgent, even though that is silly. If I don’t get a response tonight, I’ll bump this and tag folks.

That 51 at shot time is making me a little nervous. She is on the decline from +11, but also fully fasted for 2 hours. I’ll watch her close. My #2 question might be relevant tonight
 
I'm hoping Wendy will check-in at some point and answer your questions, but here's my two-penny worth! :-)

1) I’m new to using different carb foods. I noticed Bell was dropping at the +10 so I mixed half and half 3% with 21%. Does that work out to be a 12% meal? Or is any HC food added to a LC considered as a HC? Just trying to understand how I document the carbs and also making sure I react to a potential dip after the HC wears off.
While this might in effect work out to 12% carbs, it's still "higher" carbs and you would want to watch out for a dip in numbers 2 hours after. I think the way you are noting it in the SS is fine.


2) Curious on the recommendation for if Bell earns a reduction off the 5th or 6th cycle after a previous reduction. Since with the large doses and IAA the depot can last into the 6th cycle, I was curious at the guidance here. My gut would say take the reduction.
I would definitely take a reduction earned in the 6th cycle. A drop below 40 would be an automatic reduction in any cycle (to the best of my knowledge, Wendy to confirm!).
 
Thank you for not tagging me. I don't like being tagged, especially if it's a general question others can answer. Best to add a "?" prefix and a quick summary of what the question is about on the subject line.

Trust your gut on the reduction. Especially with IAA in the picture - there can be a sudden release of available insulin if antibodies go away or die down. Safety first - which means you may need to do back to back reductions, larger than normal reductions, or BCS doses - whatever is needed to keep Bell safe. Note for any lurkers, this is a comment only for Seth and Bell.

HC is HC. What you gave is a mixed meal. Sort of like a good LC dinner with an ice cream dessert for us. :) Like you said, document what, when and how much you gave so you can see how it impacts Bell.
 
My favourite was going to a restaurant that had a chocolate fondue buffet, and having a caesar salad first to "balance" it out. :p:p. Fortunately it was in prep to a very late working shift and I did stay awake!
 
Thank you, Mary and Diane! I do pretty well with the lows, much better than the highs. At least my lack of sleep translates into some healing for her. I wouldn’t be surprised if she starts bouncing soon. I also wouldn’t be surprised if she didn’t :p
 
Thank you, Mary and Diane! I do pretty well with the lows, much better than the highs. At least my lack of sleep translates into some healing for her. I wouldn’t be surprised if she starts bouncing soon. I also wouldn’t be surprised if she didn’t :p
She seems pretty flat. Are you manipulating the curve with food, or is this her natural response?
 
Back
Top