2/27 Alex AMPS 343,+2.5~214 ,PMPS HI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alex is his usual hungry vocal snarky self today but at least he has lots to keep him occupied other than his food cravings. He has been busy sitting on the window sills watching all of the people and the plows going about the business of clearing away the mountains of snow from the driveways and walkways outside. Something he and Jackson can do together...finally! Actually, when I came in from clearing my car Jackson had already hunkered down for a nap and Alex is ready for his +2 snack. :roll: :razz:

Happy Caturday :-D



yesterday
 
Re: 2/27 Alex AMPS 343,+2.5~214,+6~103

I know this is a big drop, but that's a beautiful +6 you have going! Let's see if he can land a blue PMPS. :-D
 
Re: 2/27 Alex AMPS 343,+2.5~214,+6~103

Kathy and Kitty said:
I know this is a big drop, but that's a beautiful +6 you have going! Let's see if he can land a blue PMPS. :-D

Well i don't know what was in the middle of +2.5 and +6. I had to dig my car out and go stock up on FF :-D

Alex and Jackson were so happy to see that bag they both did the happy dance when I got home. A blue PMPS, huh? that's a lot to ask for but Alex said he'll try...even if it means no +10 snack(and I will be the one to suffer because Alex is VERY VERY vocal today) :lol:
 
Re: 2/27 Alex AMPS 343,+2.5~214,+6~103

I think late snacks actually promote lower PMPS! (Alex should be happy to hear that.) We tried +9 last night, instead of +10, and got a great result. :-D
 
Re: 2/27 Alex AMPS 343,+2.5~214,+6~103

Kathy and Kitty said:
I think late snacks actually promote lower PMPS! (Alex should be happy to hear that.) We tried +9 last night, instead of +10, and got a great result. :-D

wait you had a low PMPS..it's the AMPS you're not thrilled with. right? maybe you should wake yourself up and feed him 2 hours before his feeding time.....if you're not already up that is :-D
 
I don't understand why this is happening. I gave Alex a teeny tiny bit of R yesterday AM shot to try to keep him down because he had ketones the night before. Can he be rebounding just now from 48 hours ago? I don't know what to do when something like this shows up because i don't know what it means because it's so random.
Could it be his thyroid is out of kilt because this is the hungriest cat I have ever seen in my life. I'm having his blood tested soon even though it wasn't that long ago and his levels were normal on his medication but he wants to eat everything in sight again. I just screamed at him for knocking over a jar of salsa while I was typing this after he just had two bowls of food and he's on the counter now looking for more. I don't feel well and tried to take a nap and he was roaming the apartment just yowling. he doesn't seem to be in pain, he's just restless

I need to lock myself up in a room because today is one of those days when God help me, I want to throw him out of a window and i hate myself for saying that because none of this is his fault and i love him so much.
if anyone has any ideas please let me know..thanks
 
those can be signs of the thyroid being out of whack, so I'm sure it would be good to retest them. Remember that just being within the normal range isn't enough, I think they're supposed to be in the lower end of the normal range depending on age (that's just what I remember reading here somewhere, so in no way do I mean to offer medical advice because I might be remembering wrong!).

Looks like Alex is back in LTS...
 
Libby and Lucy said:
those can be signs of the thyroid being out of whack, so I'm sure it would be good to retest them. Remember that just being within the normal range isn't enough, I think they're supposed to be in the lower end of the normal range depending on age (that's just what I remember reading here somewhere, so in no way do I mean to offer medical advice because I might be remembering wrong!).

Looks like Alex is back in LTS...

He was in the low end of normal...that's why I'm so puzzled and I would never consider anything that anyone on this board said to me "medical advice". Normal begins at 4.0..he was 4.2 I think that was the beginning of the normal range.

I'm not understanding why he would be back there again in LTS...I understood it a month ago when I had been giving Alex a lot of R but that's not the case now. I want to help him so much and I'm feeling helpless. I don't know how to read these spreadsheets...especially his, and I have no idea how to dose so I don't know when to increase. I don't know when to do anything. I feel like I'm letting him down. And it's true. Alex is suffering because I don't know what to do. I was used to people suggesting to me what i should do and when and how much and now I'm in this awful 'situation' and I really don't know why. i cry for my cat almost every day.

that was me venting..i don't want Alex to know I'm this upset :sad:
 
Re: 2/27 We need eyes

((((((Caryl))))) This is so hard.

Is it possible to consult a specialist? Would you be able to manage sending Alex's records to one of the teaching hospitals? Is it time to consider the tests for acromegaly, Cushing's, etc.? I know that Alex doesn't exactly fit the profile, but ECID.

We need to help you figure out a way to feel you're doing everything you can.

Hang in.
 
Re: 2/27 We need eyes

Kathy and Kitty said:
((((((Caryl))))) This is so hard.

Is it possible to consult a specialist? Would you be able to manage sending Alex's records to one of the teaching hospitals? Is it time to consider the tests for acromegaly, Cushing's, etc.? I know that Alex doesn't exactly fit the profile, but ECID.

We need to help you figure out a way to feel you're doing everything you can.

Hang in.

I can't say what i'm feeling. I'm buzzed and I should be able to but i can't. I just need help with getting to a good dose for Alex. Last thing i heard was "be aggressive with the Lantus". But I don't know exactly how to do that. When to do the increases. When I tried it on my own I screwed it up. I'm back to square one it feels like it anyway. And well as you can see, I don't get many visitors. yeah I feel awful but I'm not the one who's suffering in the long run and my heart hurts for Alex. it shouldn't be so hard it's supposed to be about the cats
 
Re: 2/27 What was the Baytril for?

Alex, I'm trying to learn from your SS. What was the Baytril for? What are the other issues that Alex has or has had?

These bounces are very confusing to me (you too, I know). I would like to learn the whole picture -- and maybe it will give someone else here an idea. :idea:
 
Re: 2/27 What was the Baytril for?

Kathy and Kitty said:
Alex, I'm trying to learn from your SS. What was the Baytril for? What are the other issues that Alex has or has had?

These bounces are very confusing to me (you too, I know). I would like to learn the whole picture -- and maybe it will give someone else here an idea. :idea:

Urinary/bladder

Alex has several things going on..
he is diabetic..duh :razz:
he has a grade 2-3 heart murmur
he has a tiny kidney stone and urinary tract issues
and hyper -t
very very early stage kidney stuff albumin slightly elevated

The thing that Jaime is afraid of is the hyper-t and the diabetes.
He doesn't want to over-do the thyroid meds because of what they do to the kidneys, also knowing that diabetes can fry the kidneys and that if the thyroid isn't under control it will be hard to regulate his diabetes. Alex is not a candidate for unnecessary surgery because of his heart so he has to rely on Tapezole. he also is a very bad patient and get uber stressed out very easily (if he is at the vet overnight he lies in a litterpan and growls) which makes the radiation therapy not look too good for him either if he has to be in isolation for 10 days. Frankly quality of life is an issue also and I think that would stress him to death. His urinary problems are the current issue because he has blood in his urine which could be cystitis, or secondary to his kidney stone. Jackson has the same exact stone. Now I realize that some don't think that Royal Canin Urinary S/O works but Jackson was on it and the blood in his urine is practically gone and I've talked to many of my vet's patients who are happy owners of pets who HAD bladder and kidney stones. I looked on the food charts and it is very low carb so I was trying it for Alex ...but his numbers started to go up...4th ingredient is corn flour :( I'm trying to get through to the nutrition department that works with Royal Canin (they gave me the number to call)to see if they can help me.Maybe call Jaime(vet)
You asked for Allie's medical history and there it is.....current and up to date as of today. ;-)
 
Just to educate me.. what is the situation with pain from the cystitis/stones? Any chance that is affecting his BG? (I guess I had the idea that pain would cause a steady increase, not bumps, but I had to wonder.)

Who here has experience with thyroid?
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Just to educate me.. what is the situation with pain from the cystitis/stones? Any chance that is affecting his BG? (I guess I had the idea that pain would cause a steady increase, not bumps, but I had to wonder.)

Who here has experience with thyroid?

We've treaded lightly on that road....Jaime was about to order bupe but he just does not believe that Alex is in pain. I don't know that I do either. I know it's a process of elimination thing but if he was wouldn't his numbers always be high, not just at pre shot time?

His thyroid is a different thing...that could wack out at any time...and he has been a wacko nut job over the last few days. May be it's the thyroid maybe it isn't but this cat has been driving me nuts. I love him to pieces but nuts..seriously nuts. Cassandra had thyroid experience. I don't know who else does? There is only so much that can be done. It's like robbing Peter to pay Paul...what should we sacrifice? I think only blood tests will tell this story and if they are the same as last time I don't know nuthin'. Last time his thyroid was low normal and I thought he was nuts then. who knows? Alex is hyper to begin with..

Maybe tomorrow(today) will be better for me...one can always fool oneself so one can sleep, oops I mean hope!
I need sleep I am sick but i love you for your support. Thank you and Kitty too. I hope he is 74 in the morning ♥
 
the drop yesterday from 478 to 76 is certainly a rebound causing drop. how TOR-y is your TOR? 0.1 units?
hey don't get upset, regulation is a goal but it takes time and a lot of time in some cats. i was looking at your SS last night while i was here and was asking jill and libby and co about what was going on with you guys. i need some questions answered so i can try to help~
~is there blood work to look at? some puzzling things on SS as far as meds and such.
~have you had an fPLI test done? i see shot of centrine on SS and flagyl but not reason why, was there vomiting?
~have you had a urine C&S (via cysto, sterile means) done? what about x-rays to check for bladder stones? i am concerned about the labeling him as 'chronic cystitis' that i see on SS and then giving AB's for that? pain meds and fluids are the tx for cystitis. i need more info.
~how long ago was that last thyroid test? they can change their hyper-t med needs in a short time frame and the last test might have been more of an ESS results than true value. (ESS = a few conditions that artificially lowers the thyroid test results). i saw on SS that he is on tapazole, he might have just lost thyroid regulation and is very hard to control BG's when that happens.


oh wait i just read profile, i remember you guys from health on old board when you were on vetsulin! (from before i got sick, when i was around all day everyday). now some of the questions i have make sense.

you might not like what i have to suggest...a second opinion. your SS looks like health issues not dose issues (although i do have issues with dose, i understand why it was raised all those times because cat was throwing ketones, but awfully weird that so much lower doses gave green). sometimes a fresh set of eyes will pick up on what is wrong. cause something is wrong, something is being missed, a cat on such a dose of insulin should not be throwing ketones all the time unless this is an acrocat or IAA cat, but your SS is not one of insulin resistance, it is one of bouncing.

what do you think?
~jojo
 
jojo and bunny said:
the drop yesterday from 478 to 76 is certainly a rebound causing drop. how TOR-y is your TOR? 0.1 units?
hey don't get upset, regulation is a goal but it takes time and a lot of time in some cats. i was looking at your SS last night while i was here and was asking jill and libby and co about what was going on with you guys. i need some questions answered so i can try to help~
~is there blood work to look at? some puzzling things on SS as far as meds and such.

To me, TOR is 0.1 or less

I don't have a copy of the blood work but I know that there was nothing remarkable about it


~have you had an fPLI test done? i see shot of centrine on SS and flagyl but not reason why, was there vomiting?

I asked my vet(ex bf) jaime if he thought there was a chance that it was pancreatitis and he said no. The centrine and flagyl were for BOTH of my cats when they had a stomach virus type thing at the same time and they were both throwing up and vomiting.. My civie needed it a second time.

~have you had a urine C&S (via cysto, sterile means) done? what about x-rays to check for bladder stones? i am concerned about the labeling him as 'chronic cystitis' that i see on SS and then giving AB's for that? pain meds and fluids are the tx for cystitis. i need more info.

yes I had a C&S done about 2 months ago or less and there was no bacteria at the time. I don't really know whether the blood in his urine is caused by a small kidney stone that he has or whether or not it is cystitis. He does also get fluids. Plus he gets like 3-4 tablespoons of water per each bowl of food in his food bowl. Jaime has been very hesitant to give him bupe as he really doesn't believe that he is in pain and if he was he couldn't live on it(is what he said) He has been trying to see if S/O would break up the kidney stone(as an option and it is low carb, but it also contains corn flour and always raises Alex's sugar..I found this week. It did help my other cat who is is littermate and has the same stone).

~how long ago was that last thyroid test? they can change their hyper-t med needs in a short time frame and the last test might have been more of an ESS results than true value. (ESS = a few conditions that artificially lowers the thyroid test results). i saw on SS that he is on tapazole, he might have just lost thyroid regulation and is very hard to control BG's when that happens.

I was thinking that too because he is driving me crazy lately. His last test in December sometime I really should have charted it darn. It was after he was switched to the dose he is on now and his level was 4.2. There are days when he doesn't stop yowling and bothering me for food the whole whole day. Then when I'm getting it for him he's up on his hind legs(thank God) twirling like a ballerina waiting for it...I call him Mr. Happy Pants doing the Happy dance. Just now he spun like a top, it has variations. He eats like a horse and hasn't gained more than 1/2 lb in the 5 months since he was dx'd.His behavior toward me is getting better tahn it was. He was never nasty to me but at the time of dx and beyond he was much less affectionate and less social and less "Alex". he is becoming more "Alex" every day now, toward me. The affectionate social cat is returning. But he has become horribly aggressive toward his brother who he could not spend a second away from for 12 years. The hissing and growling and total aversion toward Jacky breaks my heart. He attacks him for no reason. Jackson who is twice his size tries to tiptoe around him but where he first wouldn't fight back, now he has had enough. It's very pleasant in my apartment. :( That sounds like the result of thyroid, no?

But Alex has the heart condition and isn't a candidate for a lot of options and is a very bad patient and gets stressed out very easily.



oh wait i just read profile, i remember you guys from health on old board when you were on vetsulin! (from before i got sick, when i was around all day everyday). now some of the questions i have make sense.

you might not like what i have to suggest...a second opinion. your SS looks like health issues not dose issues (although i do have issues with dose, i understand why it was raised all those times because cat was throwing ketones, but awfully weird that so much lower doses gave green). sometimes a fresh set of eyes will pick up on what is wrong. cause something is wrong, something is being missed, a cat on such a dose of insulin should not be throwing ketones all the time unless this is an acrocat or IAA cat, but your SS is not one of insulin resistance, it is one of bouncing.

He hasn't had ketone issues since back in December(until 2 days ago and that was because I gave a fur shot). Alex gets ketones very quickly, maybe only trace but he starts to smell acetone after 6 or more hours over 300. Maybe no one else would notice but I start sticking my head n his mouth because of my first awful experience when I let it go because I thought he got near bug spray and I ignored it for over 2 weeks. (I had been exterminated) :(

Could he be IAA and have been blue and green for over a week on 2.5 units ? I don't know what threw him off. Maybe I was told too many things by too many people who were trying to help me. Maybe I switched foods too many times. Maybe I tried too much of a good thing. Maybe I didn't understand what the R was for. Maybe his thyroid. Maybe his stomach virus came into play or his kidney stone...I don't know. Maybe I should have gone to 2.75 and stayed until he leveled out. Maybe he needs to go up, reach a breakthrough dose and then go back down but he does respond to insulin. That appears to be clear. Don't you think so?

As for vets. Jaime was a feline only vet for years. it's true he's old school but he is a good vet. as for why i haven't gotten a second opinion. There are so many reasons that I can't explain here. They were valid before and they are more valid now but it doesn't mean I love my cat any less.

The things I can tell you about blood work

T4 4.2
albumin was a little high I don't remember number
creatonin was normal
sugar was 4 something that day but I knew it was

There was nothing else in in that he was concerned about


what do you think?

I think I thank you so much for this. you never met me and I am hurting. I think I need to PM you for what I need to say because it is personal
Thank you so much jojo

~jojo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top